We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very warm & welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very warm & welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Very warm being the theme - open fires, under floor heating, heated towel rails. It was all quite stifling. Sorry to start with a negative as the hotel was very good quality, staff were well trained, polite and attentive, and nothing seemed too much trouble. Room facilities were good and there was a residents lounge with honesty bar. It was all very homely and welcoming. Breakfast was included and was lovely. I suppose if I am honest the evening meal was expensive and when you are paying over ��20 for a main meal your expectations are high. We were left feeling rather disappointed by the main courses. Overall it was a lovely night away in the town of Pickering which is a great location to explore the moors and go on a steam train journey or activities in Dalby and Cropton forests. They were also able to accommodate our child and dog. Lots of other people were there with dogs too so for us our whole family felt welcomed.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    140
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
68
426
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at The White Swan staying in one of the hideaway rooms. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist then shown to our room where she explained all about the hotel and facilities. The Hideaway rooms are located to the rear of the hotel so are very quiet, car parking is very close to the rooms.
The hotel is located in the centre of Pickering so everywhere can be easily walked within a few minutes.
We found all the staff in the hotel to be very friendly and helpful during our stay. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and found the food to be excellent with locally sourced produce of the very highest quality. Breakfast was also high quality local produce cooked fresh. A great stay will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincs1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the White Swan as part of a 40th birthday night escape. A beautiful day on the moors was followed by a relaxed and special evening. We had booked the Hideaway escape room (14) over two floors. It is located at the end of the new conversions at the back of the hotel so very quiet and secluded. It is furnished quite simply but still retains an air of luxury. We took tea in the Bothy (residents lounge in a characterful converted barn opposite) and were the only people in there.

Dinner was preceded by an excellent pint of well kept Black Sheep in the small snug bar. The main restaurant treads the line between formal dining and relaxed with care. Subdued lighting and decor are married with attentive but discreet service which is charming and professional. Food included Ginger Pig pork, local crab, Whitby hake and 'fresh from the moors' grouse. All cooked by a kitchen who know how to make the best of great ingredients. Wine recommendation (Gamay) was fantastic and towards the bottom end of the wine list scale (which is always a good sign). Back to the Bothy for coffee and a wee dram. Breakfast in the morning was similarly good.

A wonderful hotel that made a special trip away even better. Thanks to all involved.

Room Tip: Room 14 is the most expensive but has a roll top bath in the downstairs lounge and is away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our stay was to visit the arrival on our new grand daughter, as our daughter and husband to be live in Malton near by.
The hotel clean, warm and welcoming.
Room was spacious, the tea and coffee facilities where very limiting, not enough sugar, or coffee of both original and de-caff. Having asked at reception we were given some to top up, but had the same problem the following day.
Food at breakfast was very good, freshly cooked, with pleasant staff.
We had a walk around the town, not knowing the area and found the train station, which was great with steam trains, my husband was delighted. Shame we had to stumble on this having not got any information in our room about local attractions.
For us this was a flying visit due to our work commitments.

We enjoyed the stay although a tad expensive.

Room Tip: Find out what's about before getting there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'd been looking to stay in York but really didn't fancy your run of the mill chain hotel then came across the White Swan and struck gold!! Although its about a 40 minute drive from York its well worth it. We stayed in courtyard room 14 which was n 2 levels with the bottom floor consisting of a lounge area including roll top bath and separate bathroom which was wet room style with shower made for 2. The upstairs area was the bedroom with dressing table. The room had a mini bar (tho i thought the prices were a bit steep) as well as usual tea and coffee but also very yummy hand made biscuits!!! The inn is in the centre of the very pretty town of Pickering which has a few places to eat in the evening as well as many tea shops for the day time. We ate in the restaurant on one of our nights and the food was very nice. The breakfasts were very good and you were definitely set up for the day. I'd recommend that anyone staying here makes sure they read the a-z advice book in the room...very amusing!!! All the staff at the inn were extremely friendly and helpful making the whole weekend very relaxing which was wonderful. All in all a great place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Room 14 was just great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very disappointing. Despite booking months in advance and having written confirmation the rooms we had booked were not available. To add insult to injury they tried to charge for the higher room rate. Not a good customer experience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for review. I apologise unreservedly and we must accept that sometimes things just go wrong. We have recently taken on a brilliant new Head Receptionist and so hopefully mistakes like this will be kept to a minimum. Too late for you of course. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

An absolutely brilliant place for a last minute weekend away for the wife and me who were allowed to accompany Sid (officially the World's most excellent dog). He was very happy with his sofa - and even more impressed with the reaction he got in the bar. His dish of water arrived faster than my pint - but was no more welcome. The food, service, decor, are all first class - and the Full Englis breakfast even better than that, if that is possible. PIckering itself is a lovely quiet market town in the midst of some of the most beautiful countryside. I can't recommend this place highly enough - especially if you're looking for somewhere that is truly dog friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
13.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Property: The White Swan Inn
Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing