We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Traditional Inn”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Wareham, Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Traditional Inn”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Although staying in a local holiday cottage, we came here every morning for coffe, as primarily it allowed dogs in. Always a bonus for us. But the place appealed becasue it had bags of charachter to it and an old coaching inn feel about it. We sat in their bay window in front of a roaring, real log fire. The coffee was excellent and the service faultless and friendly with the staff very attentive and polite. The last morning of our holiday we came here and had breakfast. What a very gentile and civilised affair it was too. A vast menu to choose from. I chose mushrooms on toast and my husband had the full English. Along with this came as much toast as we wanted, orange juice and homemade marmalade. Delicious. All served by, polite and friendly staff. My only moan is only that I onlfy got four pieces of mushroom and my toast was slathered in butter. I dont like butter. I only wished we had stayed here for our last night as we had to vacate the cottage a day before our departure back to Dorset.
Lovely, traditional and cosy inn. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    144
    41
    18
    9
See reviews for
72
432
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just spent Fri / Sat 25th / 26th Oct at the White Swan in Vintage Superior room for 2 adults , 1 eleven year old child.
A warm welcome from all staff and particularly accommodating of our little dog. We had a very nice dinner in the front lounge with blazing open fire, overlooking the Market Place , with our pooch sitting at our feet. The residents lounge -'The Bothy' was fantastic asset and a great place to relax in cozy yet spacious surroundings- Nice hunting/shooting themed decor.
Visit was wonderful with one important exception- We stayed in Room No.1. Again tasteful decor , BUT loud music and raucous laughter from Wine Bar next door makes this room torture at bedtime. On a weekend , recommend you avoid this room at all costs and ask instead for a room out the back.That's what we will do when we inevitably return to the excellent hotel.

Room Tip: More privacy out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A great base for a weekend in North Yorkshire! Our room was warm, comfortable and stylishly furnished. The restaurant was very good indeed and we enjoyed far too many glasses of wine around the open fire in the snug bar at the front of this old inn. Service was first class and friendly from the moment we arrived - oh, and they love dogs too! What more could you want?

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the hotel had a lovely view over the Market Place, but the neighbouring win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Very warm being the theme - open fires, under floor heating, heated towel rails. It was all quite stifling. Sorry to start with a negative as the hotel was very good quality, staff were well trained, polite and attentive, and nothing seemed too much trouble. Room facilities were good and there was a residents lounge with honesty bar. It was all very homely and welcoming. Breakfast was included and was lovely. I suppose if I am honest the evening meal was expensive and when you are paying over ��20 for a main meal your expectations are high. We were left feeling rather disappointed by the main courses. Overall it was a lovely night away in the town of Pickering which is a great location to explore the moors and go on a steam train journey or activities in Dalby and Cropton forests. They were also able to accommodate our child and dog. Lots of other people were there with dogs too so for us our whole family felt welcomed.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at The White Swan staying in one of the hideaway rooms. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist then shown to our room where she explained all about the hotel and facilities. The Hideaway rooms are located to the rear of the hotel so are very quiet, car parking is very close to the rooms.
The hotel is located in the centre of Pickering so everywhere can be easily walked within a few minutes.
We found all the staff in the hotel to be very friendly and helpful during our stay. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and found the food to be excellent with locally sourced produce of the very highest quality. Breakfast was also high quality local produce cooked fresh. A great stay will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincs1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the White Swan as part of a 40th birthday night escape. A beautiful day on the moors was followed by a relaxed and special evening. We had booked the Hideaway escape room (14) over two floors. It is located at the end of the new conversions at the back of the hotel so very quiet and secluded. It is furnished quite simply but still retains an air of luxury. We took tea in the Bothy (residents lounge in a characterful converted barn opposite) and were the only people in there.

Dinner was preceded by an excellent pint of well kept Black Sheep in the small snug bar. The main restaurant treads the line between formal dining and relaxed with care. Subdued lighting and decor are married with attentive but discreet service which is charming and professional. Food included Ginger Pig pork, local crab, Whitby hake and 'fresh from the moors' grouse. All cooked by a kitchen who know how to make the best of great ingredients. Wine recommendation (Gamay) was fantastic and towards the bottom end of the wine list scale (which is always a good sign). Back to the Bothy for coffee and a wee dram. Breakfast in the morning was similarly good.

A wonderful hotel that made a special trip away even better. Thanks to all involved.

Room Tip: Room 14 is the most expensive but has a roll top bath in the downstairs lounge and is away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our stay was to visit the arrival on our new grand daughter, as our daughter and husband to be live in Malton near by.
The hotel clean, warm and welcoming.
Room was spacious, the tea and coffee facilities where very limiting, not enough sugar, or coffee of both original and de-caff. Having asked at reception we were given some to top up, but had the same problem the following day.
Food at breakfast was very good, freshly cooked, with pleasant staff.
We had a walk around the town, not knowing the area and found the train station, which was great with steam trains, my husband was delighted. Shame we had to stumble on this having not got any information in our room about local attractions.
For us this was a flying visit due to our work commitments.

We enjoyed the stay although a tad expensive.

Room Tip: Find out what's about before getting there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,531 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Property: The White Swan Inn
Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing