We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Swan Inn
Nearby Hotels
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
501
159
42
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
501
159
42
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshideaway roomginger pighonesty barvintage roommain buildingkedgereewine bar next doorhomemade biscuitsbelly porkresidents loungecosy barcomfy sofasunderfloor heatingfish and chipsopen firebirthday treatthe north yorkshire moors railway
Filter
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Shooting 2 days back to back, we stayed for 2 nights.
A well laid out pub with a small cosy bar at the front and a large dining room at the back, we had a private dining room to ourselves.
The Black Sheep was delicious! The very extensive wine list was fun to review, and what a great idea having so many magnums for the larger groups... The shepard's pie was absolutely fantastic, the breakfasts were also excellent - proper sausages and great black pudding. THe rooms were very highly spec'd for a coutry pub with great big baths to fall asleep in after a day in the fresh air! THis was my 2nd stay and I will definately be going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Sorry but I rudely haven't thanked you for your review. Glad the birds flew well and that you enjoyed the sport as well as the hotel. We have an arrangement with Orvis in Pickering who supply all things shooting so if BA lose your bags the next time you come don't worry - and I could always lend you my gun. Also happy to fill in if one of your gun's doesn't turn up - now that is service!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed here for one night and was very impressed.We chose a 'traditional inn suite' which whilst a bit pricey was lovely,warm and cosy.Our dog went with us and the hotel is very dog friendly.Really liked the bar and lounge area downstairs with lovely log fires(lit!)and the nosh was tres bon.Also happy to say that the white swan -unlike unfortunately man other country inns - had not been done up and turned into a contemporary 'floorboard and blackboard' joint -fine for the city but,please,not in the countryside!All in all i was very impressed and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TubbyBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

the white swan inn is a lovely hotel we had the offer where you get your evening meals included! The rooms are very clean and trendy! and the staff where very friendly and helpful! The meals we had where five star lots of choice on the menu!! the area of pickering is a lovely little village. We went on the steam train which was a great day out!!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphy-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Although the hotel sits in a beautiful location and the staff are very friendly, this hotel does not meet the standard it claims for itself.

The Hotel was well aware that my husband was recovering from a illness that had hospitalised him for four weeks, so realising that they put us in a room on the top floor up a narrow twisty staircase. The diminutive lady behind the receiption showed us to our room and half way up queried whether we needed help with our luggage.

A lot was claimed about the standard of the restaurant. It is unfortunatly expensive, in our first evening dinner the starters were £9 and the main £19, as for cheese and biscuits lots of biscuits and the smallest amount of cheese on a plate I have ever seen, it would be too small to fit into the smallest of mouse traps. Whilst the food is presented well and it looks good it is either not cooked very well (raw mushrooms for breakfast) or in one case reheated.

This is a Hotel that nearly makes it but not quite and in the end it leaves you very disappointed that it does not achieve the level that it clearly has the aspiration for.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lampey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

The rooms were incredible (ones out back in courtyard) and we loved the cookies that we got each day. The room itself was clean, spacious and very functional. It felt like you could relax in the room without it feeling too much like being stuck in another hotel room.

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful when booking via e-mail and also once at the hotel. The deal we got helped with the costs, so overall felt it was relavtively good value.

The games room for residents also to rear of hotel is also a nice touch and I am sure some guests will fine very useful.

The resturant was okay, nothing special but I would not let you deter you from staying. Breakfast was fine.

We will be staying here again and certainly be popping into watch Pickering Town FC.

Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank NETraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews