We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This was to be a special occasion. A birthday treat from my husband. A meal in the White Swan Hotel restaurant.Sadly it was not to be. On arrival , having booked several days earlier, we had to ask for our coats to be taken, remind the staff when our first drink did not arrive after 15 minutes-a poor start.Our table in the restaurant was so close to the next table that we were party to the couple's whole conversation.Perhaps the meal would make up for this. Sadly no.It was poor quality and over-priced.On leaving we did leave a tip. I am not sure why.The waitress in receipt of this gratuity expressed no thanks. I wish we had stayed at home in Pickering. We will certainly not return or recommend the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith67Pickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_whiteswan, Manager at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2010

Hello,

I was very disapointed to read your review on Tripadvisor this week as I was working on the Saturday evening in question and was led to believe that all of the guests in the restaurant were enjoying their evening, food and service.

I would certainly like to take this opportunity to apologise that this was not the case. I do not find your wait for 15minutes for a drink acceptable and this is not the level of service that I would like to think that we are offering.

I would also like to apologise that the standard of the food was not upto your expectations and our usual standard. We do operate a full money back guarentee if our guests are not completely delighted with their White Swan experience and I will be happy to honour this, as each aspect of your evening is clearly unacceptable. We do encourage our guests to let us know at the time of the compaint so that we have the opportunity to right any wrongs, replace any unsatisfactory dishes or, to go our of our way to turn your evening around.

I will be happy for you to get in touch with me on 01751 472288 so that we can discuss your evening further and I can refund your evening with our sincere apologies.

My best regards,

Alison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

We went to Pickering to spend a day on the North York Moors Railway. After a lot of surfing and reading reviews we settled on the White Swan. We didn't regret it! Good experience from booking onwards. Tracey was very helpful dealing with specific requests before we arrived. The rooms (traditonal inn rooms) were in the main building. They were compact but well appointed. Excellent bathrooms, always spotless. Beds were really comfortable, and the pillows were very good (pillows are something that are so often a disappointment!). All the food we had was very good - very fresh and very well presented. The dining room is lovely with a fire and we especially liked the tables as they were big enough to get all the food on without playing chess with the dishes. We did enjoy the club room - had it to ourselves even though the hotel was full. The cues were in one piece, my game was not. That said the the table did have some interesting slopes not immediately noticeable until the ball dropped into the hole from an impossible angle. The club room was very useful for us as a family with teenage boys. The bar is snug, and a good range of beers etc. We had no trouble with the bar next door even though we were in rooms next to it and it was the weekend. And finally, without exception, the staff were all helpful, courteous and we had no complaints. We'd definitely return to the White Swan.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leictourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2010

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The White Swan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed at the white swan at the end of February for a long weekend and while the hotel was lovely both my wife and I left feeling a little bit disappointed.
The room was nice, but not great. The Bed was not up to much & the bedding was poor.
For the price you pay for the white swan you would expect more. The food was great but again very pricey. You just get the feeling that the white swan is trying to be something special but not quite doing it, but at the same time charging you a high price for it.
I would love to go there again, but the cost is just putting me off. You can get a better hotel & meal for similar if not cheaper price in the area.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank westsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

'A lovely hotel... with great food' you say but you wouldn't recommend us because of the price. We offer a no quibble money back guarantee if you are not delighted so I am surprised you didn't say something to us at the time? Our standard rooms are always under £75pp B&B and sometimes we do a 3 for 2 deal that brings it to £50B&B. If we charged any less we wouldn't be a "lovely hotel with great food" but bankrupt - I am still sorry you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed at the Pickering at the end of December just after Christmas and although it was a nice trip, both myself and my partner were disappointed with our stay there. The place itself is lovey and we paid extra to have one of the suites in the hotel so that our two children (aged 2 & 4) could have their own room and sleep easily. Its a fairly expensive hotel but their promise of a high level of service and excellent food convinced us to give it a try. The food was lovely, however we found the service to be patchy. We arrived at lunch having rang to ask if the room might be ready early as we had young children. We were told 1.30 and arrived just after that to find in fact this was not the case. Not really a problem but annoying as I had asked specifically for a time so we didn't have to wait around. We were offered a complimentary drink but the bar and lounge was very full and not really enough room for a family of 4 and the staff was so buys that after 10 mins of waiting to be served at the bar we decided to go elsewhere for a drink. The lady on reception was excellent and very helpful and the food was great, however the waiting staff were just OK, and in fact quite brusque and unhelpful in the morning, in fact when I accidently spilt a whole cup of coffee on the floor and on my bag in the morning, I saw the waitress at the next table actually laugh and walk off, leaving me to mop it up off the floor with the serviettes. I didn't mind doing this but the least she could have done is offer me a proper cloth. There is a great club house for guests which really is lovely and a great touch, unfortuneatley when we went over to use the pool table all the cues were broken so we didn't bother. Normally myself and my partner are quite laid back about these things, but the White Swan really shout about their service level and these little touches so I guess it was just more disappointing when it didn't come off. However our biggest complaint is that the hotel is next to a wine bar, and their loud music went on till just past 12, and it was pretty loud, enough to wake the kids, which kind of defeats the point of spending more on a suite. Both myself and partner did not have a relaxing night at all, which is a shame. To be fair when I mentioned this to the receptionist in the morning she did knock off our bar drinks in compensation which was a nice gesture but didn't really compensate for not getting the night away of relaxation we were hoping for. The White Swan is a lovely hotel, with nice food, but for the money I don't think it quite delivers on what it promises and its not a place we would go back to ...and beware of the noise...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2010

I have written to you privately and I am sorry that we failed your expectations. The offer of an early check-in should have been easy to deliver and because we failed to do this I think your stay got off on the wrong foot. The period between Christmas and New Year is always very busy so the public areas are always in demand at lunch time. However the Club Room is usually available to residents and it rarely is as busy. The cues should have been replaced and we always keep spares so they were available. Again sorry. The noise issue has happily been addressed also. The new owner of the wine bar is committed to making sure that music doesn't disturb us and we have a 'fast track' way to now ensure this. (I tried very hard to object to their license extension a few years ago but our local council disagreed with my view) They now have to employ doorstaff which has also helped the issue. The team at the White Swan enjoy regular training and the waitress who failed you also failed to respond to this training and is no longer with us. In defense of my remaining troops I think they are the friendliest team on the planet and are all fully committed to bending over backwards to assist our guests. Please respond to my private reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Shooting 2 days back to back, we stayed for 2 nights.
A well laid out pub with a small cosy bar at the front and a large dining room at the back, we had a private dining room to ourselves.
The Black Sheep was delicious! The very extensive wine list was fun to review, and what a great idea having so many magnums for the larger groups... The shepard's pie was absolutely fantastic, the breakfasts were also excellent - proper sausages and great black pudding. THe rooms were very highly spec'd for a coutry pub with great big baths to fall asleep in after a day in the fresh air! THis was my 2nd stay and I will definately be going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Sorry but I rudely haven't thanked you for your review. Glad the birds flew well and that you enjoyed the sport as well as the hotel. We have an arrangement with Orvis in Pickering who supply all things shooting so if BA lose your bags the next time you come don't worry - and I could always lend you my gun. Also happy to fill in if one of your gun's doesn't turn up - now that is service!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed here for one night and was very impressed.We chose a 'traditional inn suite' which whilst a bit pricey was lovely,warm and cosy.Our dog went with us and the hotel is very dog friendly.Really liked the bar and lounge area downstairs with lovely log fires(lit!)and the nosh was tres bon.Also happy to say that the white swan -unlike unfortunately man other country inns - had not been done up and turned into a contemporary 'floorboard and blackboard' joint -fine for the city but,please,not in the countryside!All in all i was very impressed and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TubbyBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

the white swan inn is a lovely hotel we had the offer where you get your evening meals included! The rooms are very clean and trendy! and the staff where very friendly and helpful! The meals we had where five star lots of choice on the menu!! the area of pickering is a lovely little village. We went on the steam train which was a great day out!!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphy-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
11.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £154 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing