We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay (& Eat)....For Everyone”
Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel in the Contemporary Courtyard Rooms and must say this was a first class establishment. The hotel and staff made myself, my wife, my three year old son, my six month old baby and our two dogs (Barnie & Ted) extremely welcome (and thats not an easy combination). The room was very clean and modern and had everything we needed with virtually en-suite parking too. The restaurant food was top quality and we were even allowed our dogs in the small bar area. Very handy for North Yorks Moor Railway too. Second night we ate at the Pan-Indian restaurant across the road and this is also highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_P6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2010

Thanks for your kind response. It was a pleasure to look after you and your very well behaved children and dogs. Thanks for the en-suite parking idea - coming to a web site near here soon. We hope to see you again soon. Flamingoland is four miles away and brilliant when your kids are a bit bigger - as is Dalby Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2010

Many thanks for returning our property so promptly, it is very much appreciated. Many hotels would not have bothered. Once again we enjoyed our stay with you, clean and tidy room, 5 star food and attentive staff. All we look for in hotels we stay in. We we will be back soon.
Richard and Marion Seckington

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank classiccigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2010

Thanks for your kind words - we aim to please and all that - and we don't think that service needs to stop just because our guests have left the building - we are aiming at building relationships that hopefully will last for years. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Have just spent two nights at his hotel, and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We used the restaurant on our first night and we both thought the food was extremely good, breakfast was the best we have had anywhere. The staff were genuinely friendly, and very helpful when we needed info on local transport and attractions. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WEBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

I joined the hospitality business to be hospitable and it is fantastic when we get feedback on a job well done. It is my view that you can build a building anywhere and call it a hotel but it is the people that look after you where the emphasis should be placed by hotel owners. Our long serving team just 'get it' and I am so pleased to see that you noticed and benefited. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

As I paid for my room at the end of a 3 night stay at the White Swan Inn, I told the Manager how wondeful I thought the place was, and how much I had enjoyed our stay. I promised her there and then I would write a review (only my second ever review and I have stayed at some great places).

We found this place through "Alistair Sawdays Special Places" website, which we have used on many occasions to find unusual and loverly places to stay.

We visited the White Swan website and noticed they had a late deal- 3 nights for the price of two, which made the choice all the more easy.

We stayed with our two cocker spaniels in the new converted stable blocks behind the Inn, they were gorgeous and were perfect for us to stay in with the dogs. We loved the daily home baked cookies left in our room each day, what a nice touch!

The manager in particular was lovely, very friendly yet professional. The whole team couldn't have done any better during our stay. We dined in the restarant on the first night, the food was very nice and the desert was out of this world, at first I thought the desert was on the pricey side but when it arrived it was a little masterpiece and tasted wonderful.

Breakfast was amazing, all local yorkshire produce and my husband informs me the best breakfast he has had for years! He is German and very hard to please normally.

Another evening we ate in the snug at the front of the Inn, comfy sofas and newspapers with a game of cards or scrabble was exactly the type of evening we had in mind, the dogs were even able to join us in there with us whilst we ate, which is a hard thing to find nowadays.

We really loved the leisure room, with a pool table, honesty bar, comfy sofas and tv, which guests could use to relax in- it was really like a home from home.

There are also a few other nice restaurants and a couple of bars within walking distance, along with some nice places to visit with the dogs, so all in all a perfect stay for us.

We look forward to visiting the White Swan Inn again for their warm friendly smiles, great accomodation and deserts to die for!

Many thanks to Tracie and the team!

Katy and Hol

PS: those few of you who may have found it "overpriced" or "not worth the money" should perhaps try the black swan on the same road next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplemunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

Massive thanks for your review and it's great that you were both delighted with the hotel - I guess only one of you was happy with the football in Bloemfontein yesterday though! We get the odd reviewer that thinks we are expensive where we know the reviewer came on a budget and never really utilised what the hotel has to offer - they ate elsewhere and stayed couped-up in their rooms preferring to eat take-away sandwiches instead. No wonder they don't like us - the feeling is mutual. I am thrilled that you took full advantage of The White Swan and enjoyed the visit. Dogs are always welcome (but we do have a couple of rooms that are always kept 'dog-free' for people with allergies) We look forward to welcoming in you back soon and I have been wanting to give your advice to the people who think we charge too much for ages but obviously couldn't. Brilliant and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We had a marvellous long weekend. Hotel was lovely and comfortable. Food very good. The staff were very nice and friendly and attentive. On-site parking is excellent. We will definitely return. The hotel is in the centre of the town and handy for various places to visit. Also the North Yorkshire Moors Railway is in close proximity.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamDavSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2010

Massive thanks for your feedback and support. We sometimes are accused of charging too much but when you think that a plumber charges £50 an hour and that a ticket to a football match costs the same I think people must have wildly differing definitions of what constitutes value. We look forward to seeing you again soon - keep your eye on our web site as we often have great last minute deals that might not appear anywhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Our stay at the Swan delivered on some superb food, the sauce with the Longhorn Rib- Eye was memorable, and I had to repeat the scallop starter as I enjoyed it so much. The staff were welcoming, and really interested and concerned that we enjoyed our stay. They pride themselves on local produce, and I can vouch for the fact that there were no air miles involved in the potatoes being carried from the market stall in the main street into the kitchens!

Our rooms (separate from the main inn) were very stylish and comfortable. In all, a really lovely place, well worth the prices.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwichHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_whiteswan, General Manager at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Really enjoyed our one night stay at the White Swan. We had a front roon, windows onto main street so it was a bit noisy at night, but after all it was Saturday, great for people watching. I would not describe the room as luxurious but it was very nice and comfortable. The food was delicious and I don't agree with one of the other reviews, there was plenty, I couldn't finish mine so my partner did! The absolute best thing about the White Swan was the staff. They were polite, friendly ,efficient and charming so thanks everyone we had a lovely time!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neesh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa_whiteswan, General Manager at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that the team looked after you well and you found the food to be plentiful. We hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,134 reviews
11.6 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £154 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing