We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We arrived on a very cold and snowy afternoon just after Christmas looking to escape to some quiet and relaxing environment. We were very warmly greeted, guided to a lovely warm lounge with log fire and complimentary tea and coffee offered almost immediately.
Later in the evening the 7 of us had a tremendous meal in the intimate restaurant. Superb food (you certainly will not complain over portion size), attentive staff and excellent wine list.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable, the only problem being getting up the following morning as our heads hurt a little too much from the previous evenings imbibing....
Then presented with a well turned out full breakfast, using local produce. I would have no hesitation in staying again and recommending to friends and colleagues alike.

Well Done!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDLNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We have a reward system in place for top referrers so please do let us know if someone you have recommended comes to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    140
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
68
426
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Many thanks to you all for the wonderful 3 night stay we had in December. It will be truly remebered until our next stay. Beautiful atmosphere, excellent food and wine, wonderful staff and oh what an amazing four poster bed! What more could we say. Can't wait for an excuse to book again just to eat the best breakfasts in the world (the homemade marmalade is divine). Caroline & Giles

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caro80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
I wish you could stay every weekend as well!. The marmalade is in fact made by our own 'Mrs Marmalade' who is in her late seventies and lives round the corner. She has been making it for us for about twenty years and the reasons that we don't bring marmalade manufacture 'in-house' is a) she would kill us and b) we've tried a few times over the years to better it - and we can't.

We haven't done so before but if you are suffering withdrawals I dare say we could send you a jar? Thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Amy and I visited this fine establishment twice for lunch new year 2010/2011 - and we were both hugely impressed with the ambience, the service, the food/drinks and the way that all the staff, without exception, helped to make us feel totally 'at home' even though we had two (admittedly reasonably well-behaved) dogs with us! On both occasions we sat in the very comfy room across the hallway from the bar and it was hugely tempting to stay longer than we did but we had other things to do and see while we were holidaying in nearby-Rosedale Abbey. It's not always easy to create a completely relaxed and welcoming atmosphere but the team at the White Swan has achieved it - so a sincere pat on the back from all four of us.
On our first visit (when we were caught in a rain shower and the front door looked very welcoming) Amy ordered the ploughman's platter and she said that it was the best such meal that she had ever had, anywhere. Second time around, we ordered starters even though we really didn't need to stuff ourselves further. However, the pigeon breasts were exquisitely cooked/presented and we both enjoyed the lamb curry too. All in all, the food was exceptionally good and not overpriced either, bearing in mind the quality. We shall certainly call in again when we next visit Pickering.
Although we haven't sampled the accommodation, we feel that it's highly likely to be up to the same standard as the rest of the 'gastro-pub' side of the business so we would have no qualms about staying there. Indeed, residents we chatted to over lunch said that the standard of the accommodation was high and that they were having a great holiday.
If only more so-called 'public houses' were as user-friendly as Pickering's White Swan...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tufryandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
I am pleased that we looked after you and thank you for your excellent review. We do allow dogs in most bedrooms as we like to think of ourselves as dog friendly. We have dog free rooms as well because they are not everyones cup of tea. We never bring our dogs in though (unless for brochure photos) as they are not nearly as well behaved as yours.

DO come and see us again soon and this time, come and stay. There are loads of great walks on the doorstep and plenty of places to go with dogs without having to worry about lambing time etc which has just started.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

i stayed at the Inn for a treat break after the hectic christmas rush and had read Jay Rayner's food review (which was excellent) - i think this is possibly the only time i can have any good feelings towards mr Rayner and his usual acerbic wit...the food is indeed sublime. but that really is a tip of the iceberg in this incredible place. i truly did not want to leave. the service is attentive without being intrusive, the decor tasteful without being bland. there is a warm and welcoming atmosphere here that cannot be bought. there are a number of small detailed touches (club room out back with glossy mags, pool table and 'honesty' bar, stacks of current reading matter in the public rooms and a couple of interesting magazines in my room just to name a few). my room was stylish without being fussy or offensive; a really thick sumptous curtain matching the two useful but incredibly comfy chairs, tea tray with home made cookies in a jar on a pull out drawer and just a couple of black and white prints. perfect eiderdown and rug with soft square pillows and extra blanket in the robe. the lounge and bar areas each had their own open fires and seating that was like an old friends' place. i just simply cannot wait to return here!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLouStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thanks for your great review MaryLou. Mrs Buchanan will be very pleased to hear you like all her finishing touches. We nearly cancelled the magazine subscriptions because they cost a fortune but glad we didn't . Look forward to seeing you again soon by the sounds of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gutersloh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

The staff in this hotel are the best I have come across in many years of travel. It is a proper country village hotel. The environment is a million miles away from the Holiday Inns of the world and all the better for it. Don't expect acres of space, smoked glass or chrome finishing!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmdjmd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I apologise profusely for not responding to your excellent review. TA have just changed the way they notify us of reviews and yours is one of three out of 170 that I must have missed. It's been a while so come and see us again soon. Still no chrome so don't worry.

Regards

Victor Buchanan victorb@white-swan.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

This is a hotel we have stayed in before, however, our friends had not and because they had an offer on and we live so far apart from our friends I suggested we went there for dinner and then bed and breakfast and I have just arrived back home. I cannot commend this hotel enough, the rooms were gorgeous, the staff were everything you expect, but rarely receive, from staff, the facilities fabulous - they have what is known as the Club Room where there is complementary tea and coffee an 'honesty' bar, a roaring log fire, a billiard table, books and games galore. We were the only four in the Club Room and completely enjoyed ourselves. But the piece de resistance is the food, why this is not a Michelin-starred hotel is totally beyond me. The food is completely out of this world and definitely worth the trek from North Wales and we did not encounter any bad weather in our journey there or back which was also incredible. It was just as if all four of us had had a dream holiday in mind and it was granted for a brief 24 hours, it was everything we could have wished for and more.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
That is really high praise and I'm sorry it has taken me so long to thank you. December was a shocking month business-wise with all the snow etc so it is great to have your review as a positive reminder that it wasn't all bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Right from the initial booking conversation with reception and all the way through the stay, we could not fault one aspect on our visit. Great rooms, magnificent food and friendly staff.
We believe that we have found our 'bolthole' for chill-out weekends and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie9926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
replyman, Owner at The White Swan Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Thank you for your kind review. We seem to have been at a 79% approval rating for ages and your review puts us up to 80%. Next stop 90%. I wouldn't call our food 'gourmet' (but i don't mind if you do) as we seek to only keep it simple and cook with great local ingredients - if we succeeded in being 'gourmet' then I thank you once more. Come again soon and bring all your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
13.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Inn

Property: The White Swan Inn
Address: Market Place | North Yorkshire, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Yorkshire welcome awaits you at this proper family run Inn. Next year will be our 30th at The White Swan and we have just about got things organised. From the moment you walk through the doors you'll feel at home. We aim to keep things simple and just let you relax ...Tom Parker Bowles reckons 'Every market town should have a White Swan' and the Daily Telegraph described us as 'God's own Country Pub' on a recent visit. If you read the reviews here you will get a flavour of what we are trying to do. We are an Inn with a lovely restaurant and 2 rosette food but not the plastic fine dining you find in many four star properties. Real food, real people, lovely rooms and great value for money.And by the way if you are not delighted I will give you your money back so long as you tell us at the time.Victor Buchanan - Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Pickering
The White Swan Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing