We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of 17 Burgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
17 Burgate
Ranked #17 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llandovery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Arriving at 17 Burgate from the back the first thing you get to see is the great garden, very tidy and well kept and this continues through the house.

We were given a great welcome, were shown to our rooms and then invited down for tea & cake which was a great touch and very tasty.

The decoration throughout the house is immaculate and our room (Studio, room 16) was far nicer than we were expecting. Everything you would want is within the room and plenty of small things that we were not expecting that really help make it a little more special.

The hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and gave us some excellent recommendations for eating out.

Breakfast was good, although personally I only had porridge (which was spot on) the choice was good and my partner had a cooked breakfast which looked great.

All in all an excellent place to stay and we would most certainly recommend it to anyone. We will certainly be back next year and we are already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtbmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 21 April 2011
Thank you for your very positive review of your stay at 17 Burgate.
It is especially pleasing to see the age range of people who enjoy time here-the area has so much to offer whatever your interests.
Look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
138
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed at 17 Burgate for one night last Friday. The house itself is lovely with plenty of parking to the rear. We were in the suite, which was absolutely lovely. The decor throughout the house gives it so much character and it is spotlessly clean. Even the small details down to the soap and shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom was 5 star. The bed itself was massive and extremely comfortable, the room was quite warm, but we like it cold to sleep so we just opened the windows, there was no traffic noise to keep us awake. The hosts were lovely and breakfast the next morning was delicious, we modified some of the breakfast menu to suite our tastes and they were happy to oblidge. If we were coming back to Pickering we would definately stay there again. It is literally 1 minute walk to the centre of the town too. I would recommend 17 Burgate to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawdy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thank you very much and so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us. Look forward to your next trip north
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tideswell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

A superb guest house - friendly owner, absolutely spotless, beautifully decorated with lots of added extras:
+ Tea and delicious Christmas cake on arrival (just what we needed!)
+ Complimentary bottled water and sweets
+ Enormous fluffy bath towels
+ Homemade marmalade
+ Well stocked honesty bar with realistic prices

Would recommend this establishment to all!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Very much appreciate your review ,it is always good to understand what makes the difference for our guests.
Also thanks for the technical advice -small issue now sorted.
Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2010

The rooms are impeccable yet homey, gorgeous yet simple. The owners are really friendly (as is the giant, orange cat). The food is really good (home made marmelade, locally sourced produce, and lovely coffee). Bathrooms are spacious, well-lit and exceptionally clean. In short, this place is a real treat.

Only problem I had is their wifi didn't seem to work with Macs... a strange issue I've never encountered anywhere else in the world. Hope they fix that soon.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyBrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at 17.Don't understand the wi-fi problem but will get it looked at when our man gets back from Canada. The fact that out wi-fi is reliable is a huge plus for many of our guests,particularly those on business. Hope you all got home in time for meetings and journeys and look forward to seeing you again when the weather is less of an issue. We have some amazing spring deals for returners between the New Year and Easter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A last-minute booking meant that we were lucky to be able to stay for one night over the weekend, as normally only 2 night stays are available at 17 Burgate. From the welcome on arrival to the farewell as we left, we have nothing but praise for this B and B. We were shown to our room which was spotless and beautifully decorated with a comfy sofa and all the fittings you would expect from a 5 star set-up. We were invited to have tea and cake in the lounge / bar - again a nice touch which makes this kind of establishment stand out from the rest. Later, we returned to the bar for a cocktail before our evening meal at the tapas restaurant just up the road (very highly recommended). The breakfast was beautifully prepared and there was plenty of it. Our hosts were pleasant throughout our stay and are obviously keen to make their guests feel comfortable and 'at home'. They work hard to make sure everything is top notch. Well done and thank you!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolsEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Thank you very much for your kind and much appreciated comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Glad you enjoyed the Castlegate Taverna and trust you will also place a review for them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

17 Burgate is a B&B of the highest standard,our room (no11) was large, plush,clean,and comfortable with a bed size to match(king size maybe even a super king) .There is, for want of a better word a snug( bar) with a real fire.The bar is well stocked and if William is not around then there was is an honasty book so you help your self .
Pickering was pleasent and peaceful with enough to do for a few days ,but with the North York Moors on your doorstep then a week or two would not get boring (Whitby ,Scarbough,ect .)We stayed at 3 B&B's in a week and 17 Burgate was by far the best and you can see why they have been awarded 5 stars and won so many status awards.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank You for your review of both 17 Burgate and the area-there really is so much to do within a short drive.
We are very committed to what we do and how we do it and it is rewarding when organisations deem you to be worthy of awards.Winning the Welcome to Yorkshire White Rose Award in the Best Bed and Breakfast/Guest Accommodation category 2010 makes us extremely proud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Perhaps the title is a tad harsh but upon leaving the owner gave us a leaflet of 'Yorksire's Finest' B and Bs and said rather smugly, "Of course, these do vary - some are clinging onto their 5 stars by their fingertips and others deserve 10".
Unfortunately, we rather felt 17 Burgate was in the former category but rather than ask if we had enjoyed our stay he seemed to assume we would have done..

There are many, many positives that other reviewers have mentioned. The rooms are very clean, beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and pristine bathrooms. The lounge with games and honesty bar is a welcome added extra and the guest book recommending local restaurants we found very useful. The location is excellent for exploring Pickering on foot and parking was easy in the dedicated spaces.
BUT....
for a 5 star B and B costing £100 per night there were quite a few niggles:
- the hosts were not there when we arrived, 2 other couples were waiting as well and when they arrived 45mins late they apologised for their lateness because they had been being entertained at York Races and the traffic was bad. We would not have minded this if there hadn't been some other issues.
- Housekeeping was both intrusive and incomplete. The cleaner knocked and entered twice while we were in the room after breakfast preparing to go out, so we felt rather hassled to leave.
- Towels were not replaced as requested. Instead the wet ones were taken from the bath and hung up - they were not dry when we returned.
- Vanity items were not replaced after use.
- Breakfast was delicious but by no means generous when compared to other B and Bs we have stayed at. To be honest, it felt as if they were counting the pennies.
- The 4.30pm tea and cakes every afternoon, as advertised on the website, failed to materialise on our second day - we realised the owners were not even on site when the doorbell went unanswered.

In conclusion - this is a lovely B and B, and maybe we stayed at a less than fabulous moment, but in comparison with other 5 star B and Bs it doesn't rank with the very best.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
Thank you for your review as these are always useful even when elements are negative. I would agree with you that the strap line is a tad strong. 17 Burgate is 5 Star Highly Recommended by the AA and 5 Star with a Gold accolade from Visit Britain. We have been fortunate to be finalists for the last five years in the Best Guest Accommodation category in the regional tourist board awards and have a strong reputation with very high levels of repeat and referred business.
We are very proud to be involved in Yorkshire's Finest Accommodation, a consortium of 5 Star properties across the region, and do encourage all our guests to stay with other members when visiting other parts of the region. There are differences between the properties and we do point this out to guests but I am appalled with myself that I expressed it is the terms described-not my usual approach- and a huge apology to all YFA members.
As previous reviews indicate we achieve high satisfaction levels but obviously errors were made on your stay with us.
We were delayed getting back on the Friday and were not present for 4.30pm arrival but we had arranged for a member of staff to be in attendance to welcome guests and apologise on our behalf and explain the situation.
The housekeepers are encouraged to have the rooms ready for guests as soon as possible after breakfast so that guests can use their room without interruption for the rest of the day and not feel that they have to 'stay out' for the day. Once you had returned to the room you should have not been disturbed. and the room completed at a later time. However, wet towels in the bath should be replaced. Apologies for this. We would have appreciated this being raised with us at the time so we could have taken some action.

Thank you for your compliment about the quality of breakfast which is presented on the menu as a series of choices. Given the range of options and opportunity to specify requirements, we are surprised at the comment about quantity. Without specification we feel our portion sizes are more than adequate but if guests require more of any item we are happy to oblige.

We have noted your comment on afternoon tea and have reworded our website accordingly. We are happy to serve residents on every day of their stay but may not be available if we have no check ins.

The biggest disappointment we ,along with most b and b owners,have is that these issues were not raised with us at the time, allowing us to correct them.

It is most important to us to have feed back from guests, and check out is the last opportunity during their stay to receive this. I am sorry that you did not feel this was handled to your satisfaction allowing you to raise these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#8 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#9 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Burgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Burgate

Property: 17 Burgate
Address: 17 Burgate, Pickering YO18 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 17 Burgate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Gold Award winning Town House B and B in attractive North Yorkshire Market Town. Ideal for North Yorkshire Moors, coast, York and historic sites. Luxury accommodation, bar and lounge, secluded patio garden, fluffy towels and robes, afternoon tea, spa cosmetics, Wi-Fi enabled, locally sourced produce for breakfast. Winner of Best Guest Accommodation category at the 2010 White Rose Regional Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 17 Burgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Burgate Hotel Pickering
17 Burgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing