We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!”
Review of 17 Burgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
17 Burgate
Ranked #17 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful stay at the beautiful Burgate!
We arrived for our first stay a few weeks ago and can not wait to return. Everything was more than fabulous, especially the delicious breakfast, just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Look forward to you being able to stay longer as "Returners"-so glad you enjoyed your first visit to 17 and the amazing area around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
138
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had stayed here some years ago when under different ownership, and the most remarkable thing about the place was the number of ornate brass beds and the model railway in the lounge. Now its completely transformed, a restyling with great taste and care, which has resulted in the most comfortable [I'd almost opt for luxurious] B&B I've ever found - the standard is far higher than that of many hotels. I had a spacious, elegant and comfortable room with a view and a superb bathroom - so superb in fact that I sat down just to savour it. My friends later confessed they did the same with theirs.There's an excellent residents lounge with live fire and well-stocked bar and William's cocktails are well worth sampling. He and Pat have got to be the absolute masters of the art of hosting - they're interesting, interested in their guests, and can't do enough for you. Great food, including tea and cake on arrival, lovely dining room, beautiful garden, and very convenient parking at the rear. From here you can easily walk to anywhere in town, including the railway and the castle. Top-class accommodation and top value for money. One for a string of return visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words and so pleased you enjoyed visiting the "new" 17 Burgate.It is always appreciated when guests recognise the value of our offer as well as the 5 Star quality.
We look forward to seeing you again as Returners -which brings even more value. We never saw the train but it must have been a talking point if nothing else!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times in recent years and each time my stay has been excellent. The breakfast is spot on and the owners cannot do enough for you, so much so that we try and use this place for any customers/guests we have that come to visit our head office in Malton.

Great place, standards excellent.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thanks for the kind words-it is always a pleasure looking after your colleagues and customers.
Good to let others see that we do corporate clients-including early breakfasts, supper plates and a proper licensed bar/lounge with free Wi Fi
See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Burgate many times and love every aspect of our visits, the rooms are decorated to an exceptional standard, William and Pat are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Tea and cake in the garden on a warm summers afternoon is such a treat as is the delicious breakfast. I stay all over the country on business in hotels and I've yet to find anywhere close to this top class B&B

Russell & Elaine Cusworth

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room, trust me we've tried most of them and looked at the ones we haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellCus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Fantastic to see your review-especially the headline-modesty forbids us to agree of course!!
Always pleasing to get feedback from people who have stayed multiple times-they now represent some 70% of our business.
Believe you stayed in Room 14 last visit-this has now had a refit with a modern superking bed and a change of artwork-see the virtual tour on our website.
Thank you once again and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place is more than a B&B. standards are excellent and guests are made to feel that nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for three nights and will return as soon as we can find the time and a good excuse. The breakfast was lovely and obviously cooked to order, not something that was kept hot. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room spacious and luxurious enough to use to long around watching films after a long hike. Parking is on hand and local shops and eateries 2 minutes away. A winner all round

Room Tip: Large double had a big bed, large sofa and big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Many thanks for your review -always good to know we have hit expectation.Particularly pleased to see reference to our onsite carparking which is something not many properties in the area have.Will look forward to return visits to stay here and walk to eat at Willowgate Bistro-becoming a very popular "double act"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Only stopped for one night at the start of our holiday, but I would love to return & stay longer. The room was spotless and comfy, the house and garden are beautiful. Well stocked honesty bar, and a fabulous breakfast! Hosts were lovely. We'll be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed the rest of your break on the coast. Many thanks for your kind words and we will look forward to seeing you as Returners in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just had a 3 night stay at 17 Burgate and it really was splendid. From arriving to sadly leaving we honestly enjoyed every minute. William and Pat the owners have got it so right,! the bedroom was beautiful and comfortable, the bathroom complete with bath and shower and lots of little extras, bathrobes, mood lighting, candles etc. Breakfasts were wonderful, amazing choice, bacon is ' very special' mmmm. We will be coming back hopefully very soon, can't wait.

Room Tip: We had room 14, lovely views over the Howardian Hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Gosh not often we get reviews posted so soon after a stay-thank you so much. So glad you enjoyed your time in this wonderful part of North Yorkshire and we were able to contribute. Look forward to seeing you again as returners in the not too distant future. Thanks specifically for the comment on room 14 -it is now Pat's favourite of all the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#8 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#9 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Burgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Burgate

Property: 17 Burgate
Address: 17 Burgate, Pickering YO18 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 17 Burgate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Gold Award winning Town House B and B in attractive North Yorkshire Market Town. Ideal for North Yorkshire Moors, coast, York and historic sites. Luxury accommodation, bar and lounge, secluded patio garden, fluffy towels and robes, afternoon tea, spa cosmetics, Wi-Fi enabled, locally sourced produce for breakfast. Winner of Best Guest Accommodation category at the 2010 White Rose Regional Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 17 Burgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Burgate Hotel Pickering
17 Burgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing