We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B and B”
Review of 17 Burgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 Burgate
Ranked #16 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for a long weekend, booked last minute. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which had a small double bed in it, however it was very comfortable and the sheets were of a very nice quality. The hosts were very friendly and recommended a lot of places to visit and eat- which were well reviewed.

Breakfast was very well received and tasty. The shower was fantastic, great water pressure and the dvd collection was a nice addition. I would most certainly be returning and we have already recommended it to family.

Room Tip: The garden is very pretty to overlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H5221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review and for your very positive comments. Room 15 is our only compact double room the studios and suites being more spacious and we look forward to welcoming you as Returners into one of them. The 2 person shower and garden view ,combined with the lower pricing, do make Room 15 very popular though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in March, whilst visiting family. The bed was the first pleasant surprise - huge and so comfortable. I could have stayed in it all morning, but then I didn't want to miss the delicious breakfast. Friendly hosts always ready to chat or give advice if required.
Parking on the premises and a pretty garden right in the centre of town. Not the cheapest B& B but our room was as luxurious as any smart hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank for your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay at 17. Yes the beds are a bit special and so pleasing when they are appreciated. We try and ensure a stay at 17 is great value for money and lovely when guests recognise this. Look forward to seeing you again as Returners .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked here on recommendation from a local, and was not disappointed. I normally stay at chain hotels for my business trips, but as the options in Pickering were limited, I thought I'd try a B and B.

The owner is really friendly, and the place itself is full of charm and little quirks; you dont get a rubber duck on your bath in a Holiday Inn!!

The place is clean, spacious and has all the facilities you would need (Free WiFi, bar etc).

If I am ever in the area again I would stay here.

Note: there IS private parking but it is a little difficult to find, at the back of the house.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Always good to get reviews from business travellers happy with the way we can meet their needs, so thank you very much. We have private car parking for all guest cars at the rear of the building and our own website has directions-unfortunately not all booking agencies pick this up and pass it on. Look forward to seeing you again on future visits to the area and really pleased you enjoyed your brief stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had one night here en route from the Dales to Beverley, to see family. We were made very welcome with tea and chocolate cake, the room was really comfortable, nicely decorated and very clean, the location just perfect for Pickering, whilst remaining quiet and secluded, and the breakfast was excellent (smoked salmon with scrambled eggs recommended). We will be returning!!

Room Tip: We were in room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilBloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay at 17 and hope rest of the visit went well. Always good to get reference to specific rooms in reviews-as you know 15 is the most compact of our rooms but still a great favourite with many returning guests.Look forward to seeing you as returners in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Well what can we say the accommodation was amazing with the wow factor. There aren't enough word space to describe how we feel about the whole service we received truly amazing thank you for a wonderful stay we will be back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank collette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments-look forward to seeing you again as returners to 17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Lovely B& B in a lovely picturesque little village. Hosts Pat and William are warm and friendly . Everything about this small hotel was perfect. Beds are large and comfy, towels were fluffy, Gilchrist and Soames soaps in the bathroom, everything spotlessly clean we couldn't find fault with anything. Breakfast was generous and very tasty with fresh pork sausage from the local butcher, eggs and plenty of toast with marmalade made just down the road.
A first class experience overall. I would highly recommend 17 Burgage to anyone who wants to stay there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank devon2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Lovely to receive such a review from such worldly and seasoned travellers. Hope you enjoy the rest of your latest European adventure-how could you not? Fantastic to get this review so promptly-the wonders of modern technology!!! Maybe you will be in our little corner of North Yorkshire again one day and fancy a little gardening !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was searching for an overnight stay with friends prior to our trip on the NYMR and came across 17 Burgate and what a find. Beautiful accommodation, immaculately clean, comfortable bed and pillows, lovely and warm throughout and a cosy bar area with a good selection of games if required. Although not a big breakfast eater myself there was an excellent selection and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his complete with black pudding! We will certainly recommend it and will be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

We are looking forward to future visits-so glad you enjoyed your brief time in PIckering and your stay at 17

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Burgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Burgate

Address: 17 Burgate, Pickering YO18 7AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £83 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 17 Burgate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star Gold Award winning Town House B and B in attractive North Yorkshire Market Town. Ideal for North Yorkshire Moors, coast, York and historic sites. Luxury accommodation, bar and lounge, secluded patio garden, fluffy towels and robes, afternoon tea, spa cosmetics, Wi-Fi enabled, locally sourced produce for breakfast. Winner of Best Guest Accommodation category at the 2010 White Rose Regional Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 17 Burgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Burgate Hotel Pickering
17 Burgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing