We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 Burgate
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
192
7
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
7
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and cakeb bon arrivalhigh quality beddingseparate seating areawarm welcomehuge bedgreat bathroomwelcoming hostslovely gardennight staybeautiful roompleasant stayoff road parkingthe black swansteam trainnight's sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights last week and had a wonderful time. Thank you to our charming and professional hosts for making our stay so comfortable. You have a lovely house and your standards are impeccable. This must be the best b and b we've ever stayed in. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which overlooks the pretty garden but I would think all the rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Very pleased to see your review and assessment of 17 Burgate. Always pleasing when well travelled guests appreciate the way we do things. Look forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here last week and it was lovely. Very clean. Huge bed! And the comfiest I've ever slept in. Very warm welcome. Offered tea and biscuits on arrival and sat in the lovely garden at the rear. Lovely breakfast. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

So glad you enjoyed your brief stay -look forward to seeing you again as Returners. We have had lots of guests visit Beverley this week-like Pickering it is a lovely place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is more like a boutique hotel than a B&B.Elegant but supremely comfortable surroundings,individual attention from welcoming hosts and many special touches such as the supply of lollies in the rooms.The walk in shower in Room 15 was magnificent and very much appreciated by this Aussie.

Room Tip: Although R 15 may be smaller it was still spacious and being at the back was quiet with a refreshing view over the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good to see your review and hope all is well.Many thanks for your kind ,and much appreciated, words. 15 might be our most compact room but the shower makes it very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We arrived on the most glorious sunny day as part of an anniversary break in Yorkshire. We had a parking space in the private area round the back of the property. We were greeted by William, shown to our lovely room and then given tea and cake in the lovely secluded garden.The room was beautifully decorated and rarely do I get a good nights sleep on the first night anywhere but the mattress was divine, I woke feeling refreshed and ready for breakfast, which was perfect. I would definitely recommend 17 Burgate to anyone wanting something a bit special, our evening meal was recommended by the host, the Willowgate Bistro, just a very short stroll away, which was stunning. If we are visiting Pickering again, we would not consider anywhere else, we would just revisit number 17.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelandRaquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

What can I say ? Thank you so much for your review and so glad you enjoyed your time here and in Pickering. So pleased by your comment on the beds-they are a bit special and many people pick up on them. Willowgate Bistro is a really good addition to the dining options in Pickering and many of our guests have now enjoyed an evening there. We look forward to seeing you again as Returners and once again many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The room (12) was really spacious, with a separate area with settee and TV, and was immaculate. Huge bed and beautiful bathroom.

Cake and tea on arrival sat in a lovely walled garden.The hosts were really friendly and welcoming.

Lots of choice for breakfast and all well cooked.

We will definitely be staying there again.

Pickering is an interesting small town; certainly worth spending a couple of hours having a look around and plenty of places to eat.

.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 & 12 are the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimAliD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlewillie, Owner at 17 Burgate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Really good to see your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay both at 17 and in Pickering-it is a lovely little town with so much to do and see also a great base for visiting the wider area including the coast and York. We look forward to seeing you again as Returners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews