We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steam trains etc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2013

A fantastic hotel that is really convenient for visiting the North Yorkshire Moors Railway which is only a walk away. We had a superior room (No. 6) which gives great views across the garden, and includes a sofa in the TV area as well as an easy chair. The bed was very comfortable and large. The room was reached after going up the main stairs and then a smaller flight of stairs so is probably not suitable if stairs are a problem, although the staff are very helpful and would take luggage up to the room.

The restaurant is very good and we had an excellent evening meal followed by coffee served in the lounge area. Breakfast the following morning was also very good with the usual Full English as well as a good choice of alternatives freshly cooked to order. The Kippers were to be recommended, although they were not the Locally produced Whitby ones.

Room Tip: Room 6 overlooks the garden and is well away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenEagleTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

From the moment we arrived the experience was excellent. The Receptionist, concerned that being 6'6" might be a problem in the standard beds offered an upgrade to a large superior room overlooking the garden with an enormous and comfortable bed.
The restaurant menu wasn't extensive but the food we chose was good. Only downside was the bacon at breakfast was a little too 'crispy' for my liking.
Hotel is convenient for Pickering town centre and station for NYM railway which are a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Always a professional service from efficient helpful staff. We were advised that there was a wedding party on one evening of our stay, so we expected some noise, but we never heard a thing in our room - on past experience at most hotels, this is very unusual. The beds are super comfortable, decor is pleasing & nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheelaghrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here on the 20th april and everything was amazing. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The room had been set out and decorated beautiful. there helped everything run smoothly and went the extra length to make it perfect. The food was amazing and ever single guest couldn't find a fault. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was nice and the staff service was the same day and night faultless.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The hotel lies just next to the center of Pickering. It has a really nice garden who are well kept.
When we first arrived the lady in the reception seemed like she had a really bad day - she seemed like she was the manager. The rooms are ok, but a bit out-dated and then there is the noice... oh my. From the hall you can hear everything and moreover from above you also can hear..everything! People going to the toilet or taking a bath like it was right next to you. The breakfast which we tried twice out of our 4 nights stay was incredibly booooring. The staff was ok, but the food..I know its England, the nation of dull food, but still.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the nicest places we have stayed in whilst travelling the UK, the room we had was very large & the bed was to die for, we ate dinner in the bar 2 nights out of the two we stayed because the service & food were excellent. I cant remember the name of the lovely lady on reception she was so helpful nothing was to much trouble, i remember her telling us she lives York way!! thank you once again for your hospitality & a great stay.... The very thankful Aussies!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helgarbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Two night stay in Pickering. First time at this hotel. We got a good deal from Best Western including breakfast,and the rooms were fine. Good location and facilities. Staff were very helpful too. Would recommend this hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
531 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,094 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £96 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing