We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, tasteful, friendly. Greta place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Elegant, tasteful, friendly. Greta place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Fine old building in a convenient loctaion in the centre of this small North Yorkshire town. The friendliness and quality of service are outstanding. The rooms (I was in a superior room) are spacious and well-maintained. Both dinner and breakfast were of good quality and again the service was excellent.The hotel has a delightful garden and on a sunny day sitting out on the terrace with a drink is very relaxing.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very large and comfortable. Some rooms have views over the garden - worth asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evallonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    109
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
219
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Had 2 nights, and had a room on the main road side. The room was warm and had to open window to sleep, unfortunately the neighbouring pub had noisy customers till early hours. The room was a little small and so was the bed but it was spotless. Staff were attentive and very helpfull and ckeaners were not only good at their job but were pleasant.
Wiuld stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webboand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights by myself on business, the room was a little small but I was by myself so it wasn't an issue, it was really clean and had all the amenities you could need. There was a free bottle of water in the room every day. I ate in the restaurant on my first night and it was ok nothing special but not bad either. The breakfast was plentyful and the staff in all departments were friendly and helpful.

Loads of parking. I would stay here again but if I was with my wife I would get a superior room for the added space.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippyboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Just stayed for one night.Our room was very clean and well heated with a lovely en suite bathroom containing everything you could need for your stay.
Breakfast was extra at £10 so we went walk about and ate in a nearby,friendly cafe in the town.
The staff were very helpful and friendly when we couldn't use the wifi. The problem wasn't solved though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 2 nights in an executive room.
Check in was efficient, although we were told we couldn't eat in the restaurant that night as there was a function taking place, this was a shame as there were 5 others in our party so would've been a good option.
The room was very large with an en-suite bathroom (again very large) our bed consisted of two 3' divans together so was nice and spacious although I found the mattress a little hard.

There were a few plug sockets although none in close enough proximity that I could sit at the dressing table/desk to dry my hair.


Both shower and bath were nice to use, shower was powerful and the bath got very hot and filled quickly.

Tea & coffee making facilities were provided in the room with a couple of packets of biscuits, although there was no hot chocolate which would have been nice.


On our second day the maids came twice while we were getting ready, in the end they just left clean towels and new coffee etc outside the room.

The breakfast was nice and with a few cooked options to choose from although they didn't seem to have much smoked haddock as they ran out both mornings. Plenty of fresh Taylor's of Harrogate coffee & pots of tea and fresh toast were brought to our table while we ate. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The only negative for me was that our room was near the entrance and faced the and the function leaving in the early hours were being quite rowdy and kept us awake.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stranraer
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Were leaving tomorrow sad to go have had a lovely short stay d/bb package brilliant from walking through the door the staff have been attentive kind and very thoughtful.the room was comfy and warm. . Fluffy towels but the food oh the food is beautifuly cooked presented and the best i have had anywhere this hotel was busy and with many return guests a truly wonderful place to stay.you must give this hotel a try you will be glad you did....amazing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StranraerRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We booked in for three nights with breakfast. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful We were upgraded to a superior room, very nice!!! Wonderful. Had a lovely breakfast, I asked for black pudding, cos I love it, they didn't have any in but got some for the next mornings breakast, hows that for service. Will stay there again and reccomend in to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIPPIN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing