We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
294
117
21
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
117
21
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomlovely hotela large car parkoverlooking the gardenno liftample parkingthree nightsroom was largebottled waterthe ground floorshort breakthe north yorkshire moors railwaycomfortable bednothing too much troubleone night stayenjoyable stayfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We picked this hotel primarily as we wanted to arrange a trip on the North Yorkshire steam railway to Pickering.
The hotel met all our needs with a clean comfortable room and a nice breakfast. It was an exective double in the new wing which was roomy with a comfortable place to sit.
Top marks because they supply a free bottle of water in the room which many hotels charge for.
Most people staying there were at the more mature end but it didnt feel particularly old fashioned, just traditional.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were a party of 17 family members, staying for a weekend.We had such a fantastic time it ended too soon. After all the family get togethers for the past 12 years for a weekend away, this was by far the BEST we have ever had.The rooms were decorated to a high standard and the beds were sooo comfortable.
The food was top rate and the Manager and the staff could not have given us better service , nothing was too much trouble for them. I will certainly recommend this , and look forward to coming back.
A great big Thank you to all, FIRST CLASS!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spent a very pleasant night here yesterday, booked at short notice. The whole experience, from enquiring and booking by phone to checking out, was friendly and professional. We had a standard double room overlooking the garden: whilst not huge it was spotless, warm and well decorated, bathroom was good and the bed was really comfortable. It was quiet at night with virtually no noise from other rooms or outside. We ate out of the hotel in the evening, but took a drink in the cosy bar when we got back. Breakfast was good. Service throughout our short stay was exemplary. Ample parking and excellent location for the town.

'Hip' hotel this isn't. But its traditional comforts and friendly service have much to commend them. We were impressed and would definitely stay here again. Hopefully for longer than just one night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanmsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

At very short notice we had to visit North Yorkshire which is a very long way from us. We asked the people we had to visit if they knew of any hotels in the area and they mentioned this one although they had no experience of it personally. We phoned the hotel and they let us have the accommodation we required straight away, when we arrived the following day we found very friendly staff and rooms of an even better quality than we were expecting. We had an evening meal in the dining room and were amazed at the choice of starters and mains, much more comprehensive than some five star hotels we have stayed at, the meals were excellent and good value for money.
The bedrooms were immaculate and the beds very comfortable, After a good night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent breakfast again with a wide variety of choice.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful and we were sorry we were only staying for such a short time, but we will definitely return when we are next in Yorkshire as it would make a good base for exploring this wonderful county.

Room Tip: The main section of the hotel gives you a real feeling of being in a grand country house
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjdrpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

An excellent place to eat in a great area to visit. The food is home-cooked and the portions are enormous. The dining room has good views of the busy,bustling little market town. The High Street is well worth a visit . There are lots of locally owned shops and few of the regular chains. A good bar and friendly staff. We will definitely return for more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews