We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two days over New Year. Lovely hotel full of period charm. Staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. Room was spacious, clean and the decor was in good order. Restaurant served good food at reasonable prices. Breakfast was first class. The bar was quite quiet, (especially for New Years Eve), but that's just the way we like it. Was a little concerned that our room looked out over the roundabout where everyone gathers at midnight to see in the new year but they were not overly noisy and the celebrations did not last as long as we feared. Overall, a very enjoyable break in an extremely well run hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the last four years and reckon it's got to be one of the best hotels in England. The bed was large and really comfy and the food as always was delicious. The wireless broadband was without a doubt the best wifi I have ever experienced - anywhere. It certainly puts my home broadband to shame ! The room was lovely and warm when I checked in- as someone who prefers a cooler room adjustment of the TRV on the radiator had the desired effect. I travel a lot with my work and reckon the Forest and Vale have got it just right on the customer service front. The only issue - cooked breakfast or scrambled egg and salmon - solution stay two nights !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSmith4026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a lovely clean and comfortable hotel with a warm and welcoming staff. The food was excellent with generous Yorkshire helpings. The bed was as comfortable as anything I have ever slept in, The. Gardens were a treat and the position of the hotel is a great springboard for the Yorkshire moors

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The staff are very friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay comfortable. We had a lovely room and the bed was so comfortable. The cooked breakfast was of a very generous size and delicious. There was a Christams party on whilst we were there and although the staff were very busy they still made time to talk to us - especially Suzanne. :) Thank you for making our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlytopkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a lovely weekend in a beautiful large well equiped room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The service and breakfast was excellent. Staff were knowledgeable about the area and offered help. We were away for our 32nd wedding anniversary we had a lovely weekend to remember.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was recently involved in the organisation of a weekend conference in North Yorkshire. We chose the Forest & Vale as our venue because they seemed to be quite capable of handling all our needs, offered us excellent Delegate Day, Dinner and Accommodation rates and were also nice people. It turned out to be even better than we expected. The staff were superb, the organisation flawless, despite our varied and demanding needs, and the dinner on the Saturday evening was just exceptionally good, especially considering they were catering for 92 guests. Those who stayed in the hotel over the weekend were full of praise for the standard of the rooms and service. A true 5 star experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights recently, and had a wonderful time. Our room was clean and spacious and the staff were most helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent and freshly cooked. We had a couple of evening meals which were also very good. We hope to return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Badger1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
542 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
155 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £84 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing