We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Scotland. It was really quiet situated in the lovely town of Pickering. The room was comfortable and clean and the food was superb. The staff were really friendly and helpful with onward booking and we certainly enjoyed our night at this hotel. I can highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was lovely and quiet with views of the garden and courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lzhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel and the service we were given. When I asked for a quiet room I was told that the one I had been allocated could be noisy that evening because of a function. The receptionist very kindly changed our room to a quiet location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank MSF1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Sadly, our reason for our visit was a family funeral. However, the hotel was fine, the bed very comfortable and the staff all very friendly.
There was a wedding reception on in the evening and, although it was in full swing, we did not hear a thing when we went bed. In the morning, when we came down for breakfast, we would not have known that there had been a wedding the night before. Everything was cleared up, swept up and dusted down. Your staff must have worked all through the night. Congratulations.
Sally and David Sherwood-Stares.







  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Forest and Vale is easy to find on the main Road from Malton and is only 2 minutes walk from Pickering town centre. I spent 3 nights at the hotel with my wife on a Monday to Thursday short break. The hotel is clean and appears to have been recently refurbished but still retains character. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a large and pleasant garden. The room was a reasonable size with comfortable beds, clean and well maintained (as per rest of the hotel). The bathroom shower cubicle was a bit snug (I am 6'2) but OK.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. When booking they warned us that the twin we requested might be noisy (over kitchen) but the noise was not too intrusive and limited to breakfast / dinner time.
Breakfast was a standard cooked option with cereals etc. We did not eat a main evening meal at the hotel but the staff provided a good omelette when we requested a quick snack.
Pickering is a pleasant town and an excellent base for visiting east Yorks. If you like history this is a great place to visit. The town has a castle run by English Heritage, a Church with frescos dating to the middle ages (impressive) and a good museum. If you visit the church buy the guide, it is a bargain for £2. You can also take a train on the heritage North Yorks Moors railway to Whitby.
We found 2 good restaurants in town (I have posted review for Willowgate bistro) and plenty of decent places for tea and cakes

Room Tip: Recommend room at back looking onto garden
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakie_Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Big thanks to Darren at the bar top lad just what you need!!! The stories the Service great. Also big thanks to Sara lovely girl sorted out everything we asked and the beans. Lol!!! puts in some hours too both of them. Maids the rooms were spot on. Thanks. Hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
228 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
530 reviews
17.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,079 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £94 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing