We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, central to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We moved to this hotel after promptly checking out of a horrid place in Scarborough. The staff were excellent and very accomodating.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We found them a little too warm but in honestly didn't investigate ways of turning down the heat.

Breakfast was gorgeous and everything cooked to order which makes a nice change in chain hotels

The hotel itself was in a great location, walking distance to everything and had its own parking. We came by train so can't tell you if there is a car parking charge I'm afraid.

The only downside for us is there policy of not getting under 16s have their own room. My son is now at an age where he is perfectly ok in his own room and we all need our privacy. We didn't really like the fact that I had to sleep in the same room as him. So we wouldn't stay again as a family but would as a couple

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank chezwylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

After staying one night at this hotel last year we just had to come back to Pickering and stay at this excellent hotel again, we liked our rooms so much on the first visit that we booked the same ones again. Jacqueline and all her staff gave us a great welcome and looked after us very well, especially Heather and Grace. The food was excellent at Breakfast and fantastic at Dinner, there is a wide variety of Starters, Mains and Desserts , hat's off to the Chef and his staff. Each night as the male guests enjoyed their brandies in the bar; my Wife, who had a bad cold, was supplied with lemon and honey in hot water by Grace, a much appreciated gesture. After three nights we were very sorry to leave this wonderful hotel and the delightful town of Pickering and make the long trip South.

Room Tip: All rooms good, views over the front and over the garden just add a little extra enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjdrpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well we recently spent another superb weekend at this lovely hotel. This hotel is an ideal location for a visit to the East coast, or the North Yorks Moors railway. It has the feel of a family run hotel, as all the staff go out of their way to make your stay one to remember.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with garden view are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_child00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although a chain hotel this has a very friendly family feel about it.The staff from reception to bar and restaurant were lovely.
The position just minutes downhill from the town centre is perfect
The main bus stops for great rides to Whitby,Scarborough,York,Helmsley etc are just around the corner.A great way to see the beautiful country from the top deck!
A little further into the town is the steam railway to Whitby for yet anonother different view of the Moors.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jek43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a short break a couple of weeks ago. Our room was contemporary and beautifully furnished, much better than you would normally find in a 3* hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly and breakfast was first class. We were fortunate to have a sunny day and the garden was perfect to enjoy a glass of wine.
Pickering is a great location for all North Yorkshire has to offer, the moors, steam train, Whitby, Scarborough and Helmsley. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We upgraded to an Executive Room which I think was worth the extra and overlooked the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomesticGoddess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
255 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
6.6 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
155 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £87 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing