We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for local attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The hotel is situated only minutes walking distance from the centre of Pickering which has a good selection of restaurants and pubs. The hotel itself serves a good choice of lunchtime and evening bar meals and, although the service was slow when we used it, the food was well cooked and presented. The hotal has a more formal restaurant, although we did not use it. Breakfast also offers good choice and is reasonably priced for a british hotel. Rooms are comfortable and well equiped and, while we were there, very quite. The hotal also has a large garden and patio area.

Note: the hotel does have a number of function rooms and offers wedding receptions so it would probably be worth checking before staying over a weeend as all of the rooms are close to the the main event area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gearini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2009

A group of us stayed at the Forest & Vale for a weekend getogether. The standards here, in all aspects were excellent. We all had modern furnished rooms, some in the garden wing and others in the cottage/courtyard wing. The bathrooms and facilities were also excellent. We were all staying in standard rooms but had little extras like bottled water replenished each day. It looked as though there had been a lot of refurbishment undertaken as all these rooms looked fresh and modern.
The hotel areas, gardens and courtyard were all very pleasant and well maintained and the reception, restaurant and bar staff all carried out their duties to a very high level.
Attention to detail was evident in this hotel! The bar menu as well as the Chef's restaurant menu had a wide choice of meals. Large portions and plenty of vegetables! Breakfast was another good experience, the hot food cooked to order.
A good weekend was had by all!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseymeg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

From check-in to check-out we had a lovely experience in this town centre hotel. Despite the location, we had no noise from traffic or revellers. Our room was a garden room looking out over the grounds. The room had everything you could need and a very comfy bed. High quality toiletries and linen. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the bar and the food was of good quality. Breakfast was cooked to order and was everything you wanted. Ample parking adjacent to the hotel. Free internet access in room. I cannot find any fault with this hotel - we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnny-glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip to Yorkshire. The bathroom in the hotel was very, very mouldy this included the shower curtain. No hot water throughout the stay. Reported to Reception but no action taken or offered another room. On a positive point the food was good.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercdrivergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We booked this hotel at the last minute for the NYMR steam gala. We had a nice room (no. 14) on the first foor. The room had a 5' bed and two nice leather chairs and was a good size. The bathroom was again a good size with a the shower over the bath. The shower as very powerful and only took a couple of seconds for the hot water to arrive.
The room also had a Sony LCD TV with freeview and a clock radio. The hotel has free wifi, but as the room was out of range on the base station there was a CAT-5 port available for internet (cat5 cables are available from reception for a depoist). I had a good 3G signal so did not try it out.
We had one evening meal in the bar-longue which was very good and reasonablily priced. We found the service good but discrete. As other reviews have said, there is some road noise, but this had died down by 11pm and we had no problem leaving the windows open over night (it is on the main road). The carpark can be a bit tight is it is long and thin if you get someone parking badly near the enterance.
We would be happy to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HopalongChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

This hotel was booked because of my son's wish to travel on the North York Moors railway. We had already had one bad experience of a York hotel, and did not want another, and luckily were not disappointed. The service was excellent, the room clean, and the food excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Good welcome and check in experience, anticipating the wedding reception which was in progress in gardens, my advanced request for quite location was confirmed, and was shown to a second floor room, no lift.

The answer for a quite location away from the noisy wedding festivities was to put me adjacent to the A170 traffic passing outside the window. No air conditioning, small single window wide open on the hottest day of the year. Major night street noise, ‘boy racers’ and band playing in pub opposite, before the usual turning out nuisance, all of which combined to offer an impossible nights sleep.

Requests to be moved the second night proved unsuccessful, the compromise of a fan (after second request) led to consternation amongst the staff as the only remaining working fan was removed from the Bar area. Moaning staff were openly heard to threaten resignation in front of other guests, I was later advised.

Good breakfast experience ordered and speedily delivered by local mature and friendly waiting staff. Good buffet selection and simple cooked items to order. Second morning I didn’t enjoy being told where I could, or could not sit by some over confident and half dressed younger male waiting staff.

Hotel has a good central location in centre of Pickering, albeit susceptible to street noise on two sides of building. The town offers good selection of local shops and just a few minutes walk from the southern terminus of North Yorks Moors railway.

Hotel management trying hard with older building offering few modern facilities, public areas as well as room were mostly clean and tidy but they need to deal with recalcitrant and ineffective staff which are letting down both the overall presentation and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
257 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
552 reviews
11.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
575 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel

Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 7DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £85 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest And Vale Hotel
Best Western Pickering
Pickering Best Western
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing