We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly tearoom”
Review of Poppies Tearooms - CLOSED

Poppies Tearooms
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Buckden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly tearoom”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A few yards off the main street but well worth the small detour. The service was friendly and prompt and we can thoroughly recommend the scones and tuna sandwiches. Really good tea, as well, and plenty of it. If you're also in the market for knitting essentials, this is definitely the place to visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful little cafe - and knitting shop”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The cafes further down the high street were packed so I kept wandering up until i found something with a seat. I'm so glad I did. It's a delightful knitting plus food shop - great atmosphere and friendly people.

I had a plate of ham sandwiches with salad and a mug of coffee. It was nicely prepared and a reasonable price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BernardMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
233 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Quick & Quaint”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

During a recent trip to England, I stopped here for a quick lunch. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was very quaint; it was like stepping back in time a few decades! The owner, Tracy, was extremely friendly and helpful. Although I wasn't in need of them, I understand that their gluten-free offerings are very popular; a group at another table went to Poppies specifically because of their gluten-free menu. I'd certainly return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripmomLedgewood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little find :)”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely little tea shop :) hot chocolate was very nice just how I like them :) cakes looked good too very good prices definitely would return :)

Helpful?
Thank Woolly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Saturday afternoon visit.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A quaint little teashop, if nothing out of the ordinary. We had a pot of earl grey and a slice Victoria sponge each, which was tasty and just what we needed. The service was ok, although I didn't find it over friendly. The wool shop incorporated is an original and clever concept. A relaxing and unhurried experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank butterflies62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies Tearooms also viewed

 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing