We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage, brilliant weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 2 The Ropery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Beautiful dining room
Fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons
View from third floor bedroom
View of No 2 The Ropery
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Newcastle...
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage, brilliant weekend”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Just returned back from a wonderful weekend in Pickering celebrating mums birthday. Our party included 6 adult, my nephew who is 10 and my daughter 14. It's the first time we have stayed at this cottage and I must say Alison has thought of everything. My daughter and Nephew loved the games cabinet. The cottage is beautifully decorated, furnished and well maintained. There was 8 in our party and still felt very spacious. The location is central to the shops, pubs and cafes and is opposite the train station. We all went on the steam train to Goathland which we all really enjoyed. I would definately recommend this cottage and hopefully will be returning in the near future.
Thank you Alison for making our stay so welcoming.
The Kennedy's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, elegant and homely
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2012
Aw what a lovely review. Thank you so so much. It was a pleasure to have you and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. Our main aim is for all of our guests to feel at home and relax from their busy schedules - thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie P
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed 3 nights at The Ropery in September with my 3 year old son, my parents and my aunt and Uncle. The location was perfect - my son particularly enjoyed watching the trains from the bedroom window and loved the kids den and toys to play with. The rooms were pretty, kitchen well equipped and the whole house very spacious. Negative points would be the very steep stairs to the kids room on the 3 rd floor - a child gate would have been apreciated for my little boy, the upstairs shower was also very small. There was no free parking for the 2nd car (As was advertised)and no welcome card when we arrived. Having stayed in cottage rentals for 30 years, most will leave a little note or gift to welcome you so we were a little surprised that this very expensive property did not.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and love Pickering - the train, best second hand bookshop in the world right across the street and lots of great places to eat were wonderful. The Ropery is a lovely Property with very good facilities, just a couple of opportunities for improvement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Upper stair case & tiny upstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. The points that you have made have been taken on board and will be considered in the future. With regards parking, I shall check out the advert as we have only ever advertised one parking space and so this concerns me :( For future guests there is plenty of free parking just seconds from the house. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaLong
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Elegant and Grand”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A group of friends and I attended a wedding in nearby Lastingham in May, and had looked at staying in local B&Bs initially (which were in short supply). Eventually one of our party stumbled across No. 2 The Ropery and booked it for the group.
Not only was this fabulous value for money - but it meant that we were able to all relax together and turn the visit into a proper holiday.
The whole process was sublimely efficient - a rare treat these days and Alison always super helpful to tend to our needs.
The house is wonderfully equipped with everything you could hope for - a real home from home. I'd live there in a heartbeat!
We were very fortunate with the weather (I don't know what on earth happened to it!!) and spend hours in the courtyard sipping cool G&Ts and chatting into the night.
In the mornings we all congregated at the grand table in the dining quarter of the kitchen and relaxed after nightfall in the comfortable living room.
Pickering itself was a delight, plenty of eateries and pubs to spend a few hours, and a lovely little market on Monday mornings.
Thank you so much Alison for truly making our visit an unexpected and fabulous treat. We are all very grateful and could not have asked for a more amenable host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We do pride ourselves in trying to make our guests holidays as pleasurable as possible. You were fantastic guests and are welcome back at any time. THANK YOU so much for taking time out to review No 2. Oh just one final thing, you will have to fight me to live there LOL! I must admit I love it too! xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leedscoup...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hen party- brilliant!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Could not have asked for a better place to celebrate my hen party! After arriving at such a beautiful place our party of 9 had a lovely buffet in the spacious dining and kitchen area, plenty of room for cooking and sitting. After this we took a nice walk into the town (which took all of 2 minutes!!) lovely shops and bars right on the doorstep. Defiantly would recommend the wine bar, beautiful food!!. Some nice little country pubs here too- defiantly worth a visit!

I have to say I've never stayed in such a well maintained cottage, the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished to the highest standard- a lot of effort has gone into making this the perfect place to stay. I wouldn't defiantly return and the sooner the better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful bedrooms
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad that you had a wonderful hen party - I hope that you weren't doing the conga through the streets!!!!
Thanks again - please come back soon - you left the house so tidy :) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila S
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An exceptional, well equipped, elegant yet homely house”
Reviewed 24 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I enjoyed a long weekend with his 3 grown up children, their partners and children, including an 8 and 1 year old. The house was comfortable, equipped and furnished in such a way that it catered for all our needs and the location could not have been more convenient. The pictures on the website truly represent this beautiful house which I should recommend as a fantastic base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and convenience
Liked least: Nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Sheila. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself. You have been a pleasure to deal with and I hope that you will come back again in the future. Very best regards, Alison x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful house in a central location, perfect for a great weekend break celebration”
Reviewed 28 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I celebrated my 30th Birthday here in a weekend in November with 13 girls. The owners were more than happy to accommodate us by providing extra beds and bedding and were very helpful.

The house itself was beautiful inside with a lovely dining area where we had a party tea and a spacious living area to accommodate us. The first floor had three double bedrooms including one kingsize bed and a bathroom with a bath and shower all beautifully decorated. The third floor led to two further bedrooms, one with two single beds and one with a double bed and a single plus another bathroom.

We spent Saturday day and evening visiting the local pubs of Pickering on our door step. There were several including a nice wine bar before returning back to the house to finish off our party tea.

We visited Goathland on Sunday where Heartbeat was filmed by steam train that was 2 minutes walk from the property and ate lunch at The Aidensfield Arms. A very enjoyable day out.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this property for a large group wanting to stay in a central location in the Pickering area. Good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and warm house.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review No 2 The ropery. We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed yourselves. PLease remember us for any future celebrations :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space to all be in the same room and not feel overcrowded
Liked least: having to come home!!
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Feb 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review No 2 The Ropery. we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future :) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing