We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All you need.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 2 The Ropery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Beautiful dining room
Fully equipped kitchen with all mod cons
View from third floor bedroom
View of No 2 The Ropery
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachael H
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“All you need.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Had a lovely, relaxing week. The house is beautiful with lots of little touches that make it extra special. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Plus Pickering is a great base for the area with lots or restaurants, bakeries, delis, grocers and a good sized supermarket nearby so no long expeditions for supplies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being able to relax.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your review Rachael. You were a pleasure to have. i am so glad it was just what you needed. remember us for future visits :) Take good care of yourselves, Alison, Garry and Lillie-Beth xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSR-Yorks...
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Having just returned from a girly weekend in Pickering all I can say about No 2 The Ropery, is WOW!

The property is not only well equiped but decorated to a beautiful standard and is set in a fantastic location for people who want to explore the beauty of North Yorkshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2013
WOW that is what I just thought when i read your review. Thank you so so much it is very much appreciated. You little stars, please come again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chezza20
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend celebrating my 30th with the girls :)”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Just en route home after a fab long weekend in this amazing house celebrating my 30th. The house is in an ideal location for lots of fun things. Go ape, steam trains and the east coast to name just a few. The house is decorated to a beautiful standard with all the home comforts and more. Plenty of space for a get together with family and friends. Would highly recommend to people give it a 11 + out of 10. If you havent had chance to experience this house all I can say is your missing out :)

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely lovely feedback. It really does help other people make an informed decision about where to go. Its all well and good me telling them its nice and that I would happily live there but our guest reviews really do help. Happy 30th again - enjoy those years they aren't as bad as people sometimes make you think....almost forties for me now!!! Please come back again soon xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarnsleyB...
Barnsely
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An outstanding property, great for large groups, ideal locations - perfect”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just returned from a perfect stay at this property. The house is absolutely beautiful with everything you need, a real home from home. It is an ideal base for exploring the area, both inland and out to the coast. We had three genrations of our family staying and it was ideal for getting everyone together. The location within Pickering is ideal, everything on your doorstep with a vast array of eateries if you wish to dine out right on your doorstep.

We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. You have been great right from your initial enquiry. we are so glad that you had a great time, thats what matters to us the most!! Come back again soon, we would be delighted to have you! Take care. Finally a MASSIVE HUGE thank you again for your generous donation to my charity pledge - that meant so much to me personally as I said. THANK YOU xxxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of parking space on site
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review Jane. We really do try and make our guests feel as comfortable as they would in their own home. That was our mission from day one.....selfishly because we wanted it to be that way when we went :) Lets hope your full party can all visit in the future, I bet you had a great time and many giggles! Thanks again it means a lot to us when people take the time to review us. Hurry back again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Mar 2013
Aw thank you so so much for this lovely review. It is really appreciated. You are welcome back anytime :) It does help people make a more informed decision when they look at our reviews :) PS. The card is on its way back, Jill has posted it xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
152Annie
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a special birthday family party and it catered for all of us from 4 years - 65 years!
The beds are very comfortable and had no problems falling asleep, only getting up in a morning!!
The dining room is very cosy and as it is winter we had the log burner for extra ambience - lovely.
The NYMR is just accross the road, also the supermarket is only 2 mins away. Lots of eating places to walk to and plenty of take aways also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining room
Liked least: Quite a small sink on the 3rd floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review No 2. I hope that you had a wonderful time and that you will recommend us to your friends and family. Enjoy the next part of your celebrations now :) Thanks again
the Hobson Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$367
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing