We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Bull Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$137
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lastingham Grange(Lastingham)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Kirkbymoorside)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
66
51
16
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
51
16
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyorkshire puddingthe pubhunters chickenlate lunchpulled porkkids sausagemeal on saturday nightgreat selection of drinkssteak and ale piedog friendly publovely mealsuperb foodmain roadwould stay againstayed one nightcooked to perfectionsite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Bought 2 of there black bull burger meals and was very disappointed. Not only are the drinks very expensive but my husband had a homemade burger while mine looked and tasted like a value range frozen one!! Chips were little bits reheated and service was poor! Got told they had a really quiet day and yet toilets wetlre dirty, not worth the money and were ignored with no one in. having had good meals for the past several years, we wont be spending money there again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephvblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I camped in the site next door 3 years ago and didn't rate the food much, particularly the chips. My husband and I went again with some friends recently and tried to suggest going elsewhere but they said it could have changed in 3 years so we went for a meal. They had the fish and chips - lovely fish but said the chips were awful so we thought we'd avoid them. my husband had the ploughmans (£8) which he said was lovely and I had macaroni cheese and garlic bread, piping hot and tasty and just £6 which I really enjoyed. The service was friendly and quick, and the waitress did suggest we order as a coach party were coming in soon so as long as you stay away from the chips its a lovely meal.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank sylvie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is a lovely Pub/Restaurant with excellent, freshly cooked food. The Landlady Tina is very friendly and makes you feel very welcome. Her sidekick 'Twig' her gorgeous dog is just as friendly. We were seated directly opposite garden doors fully open that led onto an outside seating & eating area. Well behaved dogs are made very welcome. Our food was served piping hot and freshly cooked. It was absolutely delicious. So delicious that during our week's stay in Pickering, we visited twice for dinner. We highly recommend this venue. Thanks Tina & Twig. We will be back! Rochelle & Keith, Nottinghamshire

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocheW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I totally disagree with the last posting we went into the Black Bull Inn after travelling for 8 hours on the 1st May (from the North of Scotland) the guy behind the bar was really nice to us and our dogs he was more than helpful he gave us lots of advice and was really nice. The guy behind the bar made us very welcolme and we really appreciated his help. As far as the food is concerned it is not his fault about what goes on in the kitchen. Re last posting if children are tired do not take them into a pub where it could be very busy, just because you have children with you it does not mean you jump the queue. The guy was really nice to us (I have had children too but would never have taken them into a busy pub) and then expect to be served immediately

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank harryman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The first thing I need to say is that I don't normally post reviews about pubs. However, I do visit a lot and experience quite a few bar meals. This was the worst I've had for at least a year. We waited over an hour for the food to turn up with tired children. The pub is right next to caravan and lodge holiday parks and therefore has a bit of a monopoly. The worst thing was the attitude of the guy behind the bar who was not at all sympathetic - he implied it was our fault for complaining after an hour of waiting. When the food arrived it was average at best and the chicken was so dried up it was inedible. To be fair, after we had managed to get past the really rude bloke behind the bat the manager was quite fair and gave us some money off the meal. To be honest, of the bloke behind the bar had been at all apologetic we woud have left things alone and put it down to the pub having a busy night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank anilwipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews