We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcoming stay & good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Bull Inn

The Black Bull Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Bull Inn
Ranked #29 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most welcoming stay & good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I wanted a place where there was safe parking, good hand pulled beer ,good food and pleasant accommodation.
The Landlord & his wife are transforming the place with very good staff , excellent food at night & huge breakfasts.
The rooms are clean but there are plans to modernise. Yes I would readily stay there again when I next visit the North Yorkshire Moors Railway and the great scenery of the moors.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and talk to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockhavenBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    43
    11
    13
    17
See reviews for
50
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Fortunately my husband and I purchased a half price offer from our local radio for a 1 night stay, if we had paid full price we would have demanded a refund. On arrival we were shown to our accom, the room was drab, no valance or pillowcases on the bed. Cobwebs everywhere and generally unclean. However pillowcases were supplied once requested. The stench in the bathroom made you feel sick, bathroom was so dirty we didn't even use the shower. The cream used for the coffee in room was off. No light outside room so took us 15 mins to find the lock and to get into our room on the evening. Staff were pleasant enough, however staff smoking at the back nr the accom not attractive. I think they have a long way to go to earn the 3 stars they have! Stars must have been given for the food which was your average typical pub grub. Breakfast o.k. definitely won't be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We found this pub on our last night of staying in a cottage in Pickering. We had an excellent meal and were disappointed that we hadn't found it sooner. The staff were very efficient and attentive, and the food was excellent - we had chicken goujons and soup to start, with gammon and steak and ale pie for mains. Just a shame that we didn't have room to try the puds!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fionap1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

After having a bad experience at another campsite we were pleasantly surprised when we found this little gem of a place. We went to have lunch in the Black Bull pub when my husband notice that there was a campsite at the back of the pub and luckily they had a pitch for us for 3 nights. It is a friendly site with a little park for the kids, a games room and a mini golf. The toilets and showers were clean and well kept. And the grounds itself were well maintained. It was perfect for us after being some where not so nice. Could not fault it in Anyway. They even have warm rolls and croissants in the mornings for u if I order the night before. A very nice touch. The food in the Black bull was nice pub grub and there is plenty to do around this area. Pub not linked to the campsite.. We are looking to back at some point as 3 nights was not enough. Lovely surrounding area with loads to explore...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Carroll0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good site, but when we got there they had a recent down-pour so hard standing for caravan was water logged and as it wasn't very wide we found ourselves paddling about trying to put an awning up. After a couple of days it did eventually dry out. We booked in for a four nights but finished up staying for eight. Was a good base for touring Yorkshire and a nice walk into PICKERING. We found the food at the pub good and not too pricey. WOULD GO AGAIN........

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked online ad we were going to a concert in Dalby forest. We found the staff very friendly. The rooms are large basic but clean with tea and coffee facilities .Bed was comfy and clean linen.Lovely full English breakfast including cereal and fresh juice. Loved our stay and would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently and were shown to our room through a gate in the beer garden. Upon entering the room we realised it was only a basic set-up, two beds pushed together with a quilt on each one, and the place hadn't seen a paintbrush for donkeys! Only one bedside lamp, one chair, no table, no mirror apart from the A4 sized one in the en-suite. Scruffy and stained bedside drawers, a wonky ceiling light sporting some lovely cobwebs. The curtains did not have enough hooks on them so consequently sagged when closed, and above these were yet more cobwebs. The front door was not very secure and I had to prop the lonely chair against it during the night. It had a wardrobe built in, in a fashion, using MDF boards, but it did contain 2 and a half coat hangers as one had snapped. The en-suite was dirty too, there was grime/scum on the edge of the shower tray, which had hanging above it, a tatty shower curtain which was mouldy along the bottom. As for the shower.... well I can dribble faster ! The toilet seat moved quite easily when sat upon and the toilet roll was on a holder directly behind the occupant so you had to be a near contortionist to reach around for a few squares. The evening meals were so-so, which we shared with several resident flies! You are much better off going to 'Spencers' which is across the road by the golf course about 200 yards away. Breakfast was the normal 'full English' but what wasn't done in the microwave (you could here the dings) was just far too greasy. If the owners had spent less time smoking and texting in the beer garden they could have used their time more productively by doing some good old fashioned house-keeping ! The cooks also spent some time outside the rear kitchen door smoking and using their cell phones, this was the door where the fly screen chain was lying on the floor serving no purpose what-so-ever. Overall our stay was not very good and I'm sorry to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Try googling Travelodge !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.8 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beansheaf
Beansheaf
#26 of 49 in Pickering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Inn

Property: The Black Bull Inn
Address: Malton Road, Pickering YO18 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Black Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing