We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”
Review of Eden House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden House B&B
Ranked #9 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at Eden House just before Christmas and it was just as fabulous as the first time. Emma and Andy are extremely hospitable and very knowledgable about the local area with plenty of recommendations for things to do in and around Pickering. I stayed in the twin room which was warm and cosy. I am 6 foot tall and the single bed was a good length for me. The bedroom and ensuite were spotless! I went for the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for breakfast which were beautifully cooked and very tasty! The homemade bread was divine! I would also recommend a trip to Figaros Italian restaurant (just a 5 minute walk from Eden House). Great service and amazing food !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kate2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hello Kate and thank you very much for your Review. It was great to welcome you back to Eden House for your 2nd stay with us, and we are delighted that you found everything to your liking. It is good to know that our twin room single beds are a good size and comfortable for taller people. Our breads and pastries are provided by our local artisan home bakery, Roots & Fruits, and all organic too. Thanks again for your review and we hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Regards. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

A fantastic B&B in this lovely North Yorkshire town. The owner, Emma, was very welcoming and helpful, suggesting a super Italian restaurant for our evening meal. Our room and bathroom were spotless and beautifully decorated and the full English breakfast was delicious. Prices are very reasonable and the B&B is in a great location. Can't wait to visit again in the summer and take advantage of the beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hello Suzie and thank you for your review following your recent stay at Eden House. It gives us great pleasure to know that our guests are enjoying their stay and that everything is to the highest possible standards we can achieve. We pride ourselves on our delicious Yorkshire breakfast, and source everything locally wherever possible. We look forward to you returning, when hopefully you will be able to sample some of the lovely fruit and berries from our garden which are on the breakfast menu when in season. Thanks again for the review and we very much hope to see you again. Best wishes. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A lovely location and couldn't have been more comfortable and well catered for. The rooms were spotless,food delicious,and the garden was a delight and a surprise, will have to vist in the warmer months when it is in full bloom.Emma and Andy have the balance just right;a warm welcome, modern facilities in a traditional setting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello Mary and thank you very much for the review for your recent stay at Eden House. It is great to get feedback and to know that you had a comfortable and relaxing time while staying with us. Our lovely walled garden is a real bonus and we love it when guests can enjoy the garden to it's full. It is quite magnificent when it is in full bloom in the summer, so we do hope that you will manage to return to see it in all its glory. Not to mention the Rhubarb which appears on the breakfast menu as compote!! Best wishes. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A most friendly welcome to this delightful B&B, a minutes walk from the centre of Pickering. The owner is charming, with extensive local knowledge and can provide lots of information of what to do and where.
The breakfasts are legendary, with home made compots, jams and artisan breads available and, of course, the full English breakfast using the best Yorkshire grub, produced locally! The beds were comfy and the pillows were amazing - best nights sleep in ages. Will return next year.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello Kate and thank you for your review from your visit in December. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the beds to be very comfortable. It is always great to know that our guests are getting an excellent nights sleep. We will very much look forward to welcoming you back this year. Best wishes. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Eden House has become my favourite B&B in North Yorkshire. So much so that I decided to organise a pre-Christmas girls night away. Emma and Andy were as helpful as ever, with lots of tips on where to shop and eat and Emma's breakfast was truly delicious once again, with home-made rhubarb compote, fresh fruits and home-made jams included on the menu. The "red room" has a new king sized bed which was super comfy. This is a lovely big room. The room and en-suite shower room were spotlessly clean. Toiletries are of a high quality as are the teas, coffees and biscuits provided on the hospitality tray. We had pre-dinner drinks and nibbles in the guest lounge which is a real boon. Eden House really does feel like a home from home and I will be back - again ...............

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your review. It was great to have to stay with us again, this time with your small group of friends. Pickering and the surrounding area has a lot to offer our visiting guest and we are only too happy to share our local knowledge, recommend places to visit and eat and drink, and we also have plenty of information in relation to walking and cycling in the area too. My Rhubarb compote is a firm favourite with guests and you will be pleased to know that it is starting to shoot through the ground already, so will be back on the menu soon. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Eden House again in the not too distant future. Best wishes. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Would highly recommend this little gem just what we needed for a night away from it all we had a lovely welcome on our arrival with a pot of tea and lovely homemade cake our room overlooking the garden was lovely fresh and clean . Breakfast was great could not fault anything nothing was too much trouble will definatley return thanks for a lovely stay Lesley and Steve

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hello Lesley & Steve. Thank you for the review you posted following your stay at Eden House. We are so pleased that you found Eden House to be just what you needed for your last minute relaxing get away. Our "Brown" Room, over-looking the garden, is certainly peaceful and we are so pleased that you found it relaxing and comfortable. All our breakfast produce is sourced locally, and some from our own garden. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to Eden House in the future. Kind regards. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A lovely B and B in Pickering. Room was spacious, great decor with a lovely king sized bed and good sized ensuite. Very clean and tea and coffee making facilities fantastic with a choice of teas. Breakfast was great, lots of choice, locally sourced meat and homemade fruit compotes (very much appreciated and lovely flavours!). Poached eggs are highly recommended, the best I've ever tasted! Very welcoming atmosphere a real home from home, and the owners are lovely. If you're coming to Pickering, Eden house is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippaandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#7 of 46 in Pickering
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lowther House
Lowther House
#8 of 46 in Pickering
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House B&B

Address: 120 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £55 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House B&B, Pickering is a Grade II listed cottage Bed & Breakfast, offering traditional, cosy, country cottage comfort, with that hint of luxury and elegance. We are proud members of Welcome to Yorkshire, and have been accepted as members to Deliciously Yorkshire A home from home for your holiday, short stay or business trip to the North York Moors National Park, and East Coast. Situated just a few minutes stroll from the Centre of Pickering, and the North York Moors Steam Railway, we are ideally situated to explore all that the North York Moors National Park and surrounding coastal areas have to offer. We can provide storage for bicycles, have cleaning and drying facilities for cycling and walking equipment, and can provide packed lunches by prior arrangement. We have a separate Guest Lounge with log burnign stove, and a large guest car park at the rear of the cottage, with ample, secure parking for all our guests. We pride ourselves on offering high quality Pickering Bed & Breakfast facilities with a personal service, attention to detail and hint of luxury for your stay. Open year round. We have 3 generously proportioned en-suite rooms, all with newly refurbished en-suite facilities. A large deluxe King-size room with shower en-suite, a deluxe double room, over-looking our garden with a bath and power shower, & a deluxe Twin room (which can also be made up as a Super King-Size for stays of more than one night) with shower en-suite. Check our web site for full details of all facilities and any seasonal special offers ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden House B&B Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing