We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden House B&B
Ranked #10 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 Star Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at Eden House a few years ago under different ownership and enjoyed the stay then but the level of service and comfort is even better since Emma and Andy have taken over. This is a real gem, from the moment we arrived to the time we left nothing was to much trouble and Room 1 that we stayed in was immaculate with a lovely view over their impressive garden where Andy grows produce to use in some of the breakfast selections.Their knowledge of the local pubs, restaurants and walks was a great help and the location is only a few mins away from the town centre. We would recommend Eden House to anyone looking to stay in Pickering as you will not get better service and comfort than what Emma and Andy offer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lobsterpot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent, return, visit to Eden House. Thank you for your comments. It's good to know that all the work we have done to the property in refurbishment since we bought it in December 2011 is to the highest quality and our Guest get enjoyment from the facilities. Room 1 certainly is a lovely room with the newly (2014) refurbished en-suite bathroom, which makes it quite luxurious. We're pleased we were able to help with suggestions for places to eat and visit in and around Pickering. There is so much to do and see in this area and we are so lucky that Pickering has a great selection of pubs, cafes, restaurant and shops, all within walking distance. Thanks again for the review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back to Eden House in the not too distant future. Best wishes. Emma & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
118
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned from a short (5 day) break at Eden House B&B. The first thing that impressed us when we arrived was the walk throughout the garden. Then to be greeted with a pot of tea (Yorkshire of course!) and a generous slice of home made cake! Emma made us most welcome. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts are all made with locally sourced ingredients even the toast is made with artisan bread! Even the grapefruit segments are peeled. Great attention to detail, lovely people, lovely setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandomanLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hello Pat & Paul. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It is so nice to know that Guests enjoy all our facilities, including the garden, which is looking rather spectacular at this time of year. We are delighted that you enjoyed the locally sourced breakfast ingredients, including the freshly segmented pink grapefruit. Thank you very much for your comments. It was great to meet you and we very much hope that you will return in the future. Best wishes to your both. Emma & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A very warm, friendly and welcoming b&b. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious. The full English is a great start to a day exploring the local area and the home made jams add a personal touch. I'd recommend this to anyone and everyone! Absolutely first class! I'll definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello George and thank you for taking the time to write a review following your 6 night stay at Eden House recently. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We get a lot of pleasure from knowing that what we offer to our guests at Eden House is being enjoyed to such a great extent. It wont be long before the Blackcurrants are appearing on the fruit bushes in the garden and a new batch of Blackcurrant jam will be bubbling on the stove. It's nice to know that all the local produce, including my jam! is enjoyed so much. It's great that you enjoyed your first visit to Pickering and very much hope that we will see you again in the future to do some more exploring the area. All the best to you both. Emma & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed overnight in April. Great location only five minutes from town centre. Very clean and comfortable. welcomed with tea and home made cake - really welcoming. Fantastic breakfast all local ingredients

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Mr & Mrs Dodd. Thanks for taking time to post a review following your stay in April. It's great to know that you enjoyed the facilities at Eden House and appreciated the Deliciously Yorkshire breakfast. We do our best to source only local and mostly Artisan produce for our breakfasts and it's great to know this makes a real difference. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Best wishes. Emma & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night over the Easter weekend 2014 and had a pleasant stay. The finishing touches in the room (mini Easter Eggs) was a nice touch. Our room was a good size, well decorated with all the things you would expect from a rated hotel. The B&B was well situated only a short walk from the town centre. An excellent base for walkers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Stuart. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your one night stay at Eden House over Easter and that you enjoyed our "Brown" Room facilities with all the added extras we provide in the rooms. Pickering certainly is a great place to visit and there is plenty of fantastic walking in the area. We hope that you will return in the future. Best wishes. Emma & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

From our very first meeting with Andy in the garden as we arrived and Emma's welcome inside with tea and cake in the comfortable guest sitting room, we were straight away made to feel completely at home at Eden House.
Emma was happy to recommend the best places to eat in the town, such as Figaro's Italian Restaurant (highly recommended), and Andy also suggested a local real ale pub (The Sun Inn) as a great place for a few pints afterwards, which indeed it was!
After a lovely evening out it was wonderful to come back and enjoy a glass of sherry or port in the sitting room before retiring to bed.
We had Room 3, a bright airy double room overlooking the garden which has recently been refurbished with a lovely en-suite bathroom complete with under-floor heating!
The breakfast was quite simply delicious! Emma's beautifully cooked full English (superb scrambled eggs!) was wonderful but the lovely crisp toast, yoghurt and homemade fruit compote made it all the more special.
The whole place is spotlessly clean and tidy and with Emma's attention to detail, our two night stay was simply spot on!
Pickering is the perfect base to explore North Yorkshire and Eden House is without doubt the perfect place to stay. We booked our next stay before we left and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a bright and airy double room overlooking the garden and having a beautiful en-suite bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandJudy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Jim & Judy. Thank you very much for the review you have taken the time to post following your recent stay at Eden House with your friends. It was great to meet you all and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay, that you decided to come back again in October. Pickering certainly is a great base for exploring the area and we have some fantastic walking on the door-step. We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying in our "Brown" Room over-looking the garden. At this time of year, the garden is particularly nice, and the newly refurbished en-suite does add that hint of luxury to the room. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Eden House for your walking weekend in October. Best wishes Emma & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a perfectly lovely place Eden House is! We have just got back from celebrating our engagement weekend there ( our first stay there & in Pickering) and, hopefully it will be one of many! From our- unscheduled- late arrival ( 3 accidents on M62)on Friday until our departure yesterday morning, Emma was the perfect hostess; making us feel so welcome and comfortable and recommending the best places to eat locally. She had reserved the king size room for our stay, but my fiance preferred the double room at the back, so we were duly moved, and it was delightfully tranquil, cosy and spotless! The bathroom was to die for as it has recently been refurbished- just beautiful! I can't fault this place; the cooked breakfast was delicious and hot; just the thing to set us up for a day's adventures. There was plenty of choice of cereals and fruit/ juices and I really enjoyed my homemade bread/ toast with equally delicious homemade jam. Both Emma & Andy were friendly & easy to talk to and a particularly lovely gesture was the champagne, chocolates & engagement card they left in our room. Thank you- we will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: the room at the back of the house is tranquil, with views of the pretty gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butterflies62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello and thank you for posting your review about your recent stay at Eden House. We were thrilled that you chose Eden House to stay at for such an important and lovely celebration as your Engagement. We are even more thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us and in Pickering. Our newly refurbished en-suite in our "Brown" Room certainly is luxurious and we are pleased that you enjoyed making use of the facilities. Pickering is a lovely historic market town and punches well above it's weight in terms of the access to local amenities, lovely traditional cosy pubs, fantastic choice of restaurants and cafes, we have our own award winning museum - Beck Isle and, of course, we are home to the North York Moors Steam Railway. There is certainly lots to do and see to interest everyone. We really do hope that you will come back to Pickering and we will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Eden House. Thanks again for your review. Best wishes, Emma & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#4 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#9 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House B&B

Property: Eden House B&B
Address: 120 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House B&B, Pickering is a Grade II listed cottage Bed & Breakfast, offering traditional, cosy, country cottage comfort, with that hint of luxury and elegance. We are a 4 Star Silver Visit England Quality Rated Bed & Breakfast accommodation. A home from home for your holiday, short stay or business trip to the North York Moors National Park, and East Coast. Situated just a few minutes stroll from the Centre of Pickering, and the North York Moors Steam Railway, we are ideally situated to explore all that the North York Moors National Park and surrounding coastal areas have to offer. Upon arrival, we offer fresh tea and coffee with homemade cake, which can be enjoyed relaxing in our Guest lounge in front of the log burning stove. We can provide storage for bicycles, have cleaning and drying facilities for cycling and walking equipment, and can provide packed lunches by prior arrangement. We have a large guest car park at the rear of the cottage, with ample, secure parking for all our guests. We pride ourselves on offering high quality Pickering Bed & Breakfast facilities with a personal service, attention to detail and hint of luxury for your stay. Open year round. We have 3 generously proportioned en-suite rooms, all with newly refurbished en-suite facilities. A large deluxe King-size room with shower en-suite, a deluxe double room, over-looking our garden with a bath and power shower, & a deluxe Twin room (which can also be made up as a Super King-Size for stays of more than one night) with shower en-suite. Check our web site for full details of all facilities and any seasonal special offers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eden House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House B&B Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing