We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely.”
Review of Eden House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden House B&B
Ranked #9 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A cottage B & B with the most charming garden, off street parking and a great location being on the main street of Pickering, North Yorkshire. A friend and I stayed at Eden House on the night of a concert in Dalby Forest which is only a couple of miles away. Its only a short walk into the town of Pickering where you'll find many places to eat or buy your own food for a picnic, we did both and the lovely village of Thornton le Dale is only up the road.
The cottage is really cosy and airy and our room was on the front of the cottage overlooking Eastgate, one of the main tree lined roads through the town, providing a French feel to the view from our window.
The room was very comfortable and had everything you need. Breakfast was great, full Yorkshire (English) breakfast made from fresh local produce, and more choices, including fish. Some of the breakfast fruits were from the cottage garden. The hospitality was superb and Emma was really helpful. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello Angela. Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay, when you attended one of the concert events being held at Dalby Forest last weekend. Dalby Forest is a great location for special events, walking, cycling, Go Ape, picnic areas and they also have Segway! It's great that we have this just on our doorstep, which makes Pickering a great location for exploring. Thank you for your comments about Eden House, our home. We do our absolute best to ensure that we provide a cosy and homely feel, so that guests feel totally relaxed and at ease when they are staying with us. The off street parking at the back of the property certainly is a bonus, and we are delighted when guests can enjoy our beautiful walled garden. It's looking quite colourful at the moment and the rhubarb is still making a feature on the breakfast menu as rhubarb compote. Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Eden House in the future. Best wishes. Emma & Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay.
The house and garden are lovely and it is within walking distance of Pickering for shops and eating out in the evening but it is situated in a side street away rom the main town so is nice and quiet and there is a private parking area to the rear of the house.
The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely modern bathroom (Brown room) and we had plenty of space with a view over the garden.
Breakfast was great, good quality food with excellent service.
The hosts were extremely helpul and friendly going over and above to assist with queries etc

Room Tip: Brown room was great if you like a bath rather than shower, alhough it does also have a good shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hello Elaine and thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay at Eden House in early June for 4 nights. It's great to know that you found our location to be ideal for exploring the local area and North Yorkshire. Pickering Market Town does have a great selection of shops, cafes, museum, pubs and restaurants and all within a short walk as you say. We fully refurbished the en-suite in Room 1 (the brown room) for the 2014 season and we are glad that you found all the facilities to be of a high standard. It's always good to know that guests are enjoying our full Yorkshire breakfast which we source locally. Thanks again for your review and we hope that you will come and stay in Pickering again soon. Best wishes. Emma & Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had a 3 night stay at eden house and Emma & andy were very welcoming , the room was lovely and the bed very comfortable , Emma's breakfasts are delicious and nothing is too much trouble for her . The house is only a short walk from the town centre , there are lots of lovely places to visit around pickering , and staying at eden house made it very enjoyable ...... That is why as soon as we got back I have booked again !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello Anne and thank you for your review, following your 3 nights stay at the beginning of June. It's great to know that our new mattresses are very comfortable. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Pickering. It is a great location and there certainly are a wide variety of things to see and do in Pickering itself and the surrounding area (whatever the weather). It was great that the weather was good enough for you to get out exploring on your motorbike too. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much that you have booked to return in September for Paul's birthday celebrations, and we very much look forward to seeing you again then. Best wishes to you both. Emma and Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at Eden House for a surprise weekend for my husbands birthday/our wedding anniversary. We had a warm welcome from Emma and Andy and when we got to our room we had a lovely surprise of beer and chocolates which we thought was a lovely touch. The room was beautiful with the most comfiest bed I have ever slept in. It was absolutely spotless with big soft fluffy towels in the bathroom. When we went down for breakfast it was delicious especially the sausages. We will definitely stay again and Pickering itself was a beautiful town to stay in.
Maggie and John

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello Maggie and John and thank you for taking the time to write a review following your 2 night stay over bank holiday weekend in May. It's great to know that you found the bed in Room 3 - our King-Size bed - to be so comfortable. All our mattresses are new for 2014 season so it's great to know that guests are finding them very comfortable. We source all our breakfast produce locally wherever possible with the meat produce being supplied by a local butcher, so it's nice to know that you enjoyed the sausages so much. Pickering certainly is a great location, with plenty to see and do right on our doorstep and plenty of local amenities, pubs, shops, restaurants within walking distance. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Pickering and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes to you both. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This will make the third time we have stayed at Eden house in Pickering and once again it did not disappoint. The greeting by Emma was again cordial without being over the top which makes you feel comfortable from the start. The room we had (I think it's #2) has a great super king size bed that you can really roll around in without disturbing the lump next to you. (so my wife said). The breakfast is excellent and cooked by Emma with local produce that really tastes of what it is. Home made jam from their own garden is a treat. We stayed 2 nights and wished it could have been more. Will definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigusdickus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi, and thank you for taking time to write a review following your 2 night stay in May at Eden House. It is great to know that guests enjoy their stays at Eden House so much, that they come back to stay with us time and time again, and we are pleased that you have found everything to be so enjoyable each time. We certainly put a lot of effort into maintaining high standards, and refurbishing the bedrooms, bathrooms and property in general to keep the accommodation to the highest possible standards. We certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you and your wife back to Eden House for many years to come. Thank you again for your review. Regards, Emma and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Eden House for two nights on a road trip traveling South to North. We had a warm welcome with a pot of tea and a slice of cake and Emma was helpful and knowledgable regarding places to visit and local restaurants/pubs. The room was clean and well presented, tea coffee and biscuits provided. There were three rooms, we were staying in the twin, as the other rooms were booked. The beds were ok and had what felt to be a mattress topper on, but I tossed and turned through the night trying to get comfortable, this may just be because I am used to a double bed! Breakfast was excellent and set us up nicely for our day trips to Scarborough and Whitby. The gardens was so pretty and the walk through to the car park was a delight. We would most definitely stay at Eden House again if a double room was available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliandbigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi and thanks for taking the time to review your recent 2 night stay in our Twin room. It's so nice to know that guests get pleasure from our lovely walled garden. It looks so colourful at this time of year and we take a lot of pride in keeping it looking nice so that guests can fully appreciate it and, weather permitting, even sit and enjoy it. It's a shame you were unable to get the room of your choice as we've been fully booked most of May, but we would be delighted to welcome you back at Eden House in the future and hopefully in a double room of your choice. We hope the rest of your UK tour went well. Best wishes. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at Eden House a few years ago under different ownership and enjoyed the stay then but the level of service and comfort is even better since Emma and Andy have taken over. This is a real gem, from the moment we arrived to the time we left nothing was to much trouble and Room 1 that we stayed in was immaculate with a lovely view over their impressive garden where Andy grows produce to use in some of the breakfast selections.Their knowledge of the local pubs, restaurants and walks was a great help and the location is only a few mins away from the town centre. We would recommend Eden House to anyone looking to stay in Pickering as you will not get better service and comfort than what Emma and Andy offer.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lobsterpot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaDS120, Owner at Eden House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi and thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent, return, visit to Eden House. Thank you for your comments. It's good to know that all the work we have done to the property in refurbishment since we bought it in December 2011 is to the highest quality and our Guest get enjoyment from the facilities. Room 1 certainly is a lovely room with the newly (2014) refurbished en-suite bathroom, which makes it quite luxurious. We're pleased we were able to help with suggestions for places to eat and visit in and around Pickering. There is so much to do and see in this area and we are so lucky that Pickering has a great selection of pubs, cafes, restaurant and shops, all within walking distance. Thanks again for the review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope we will be able to welcome you back to Eden House in the not too distant future. Best wishes. Emma & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
0.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
17 Burgate
17 Burgate
#15 of 46 in Pickering
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House B&B

Address: 120 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £55 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden House B&B, Pickering is a Grade II listed cottage Bed & Breakfast, offering traditional, cosy, country cottage comfort, with that hint of luxury and elegance. We are proud members of Welcome to Yorkshire, and have been accepted as members to Deliciously Yorkshire A home from home for your holiday, short stay or business trip to the North York Moors National Park, and East Coast. Situated just a few minutes stroll from the Centre of Pickering, and the North York Moors Steam Railway, we are ideally situated to explore all that the North York Moors National Park and surrounding coastal areas have to offer. We can provide storage for bicycles, have cleaning and drying facilities for cycling and walking equipment, and can provide packed lunches by prior arrangement. We have a separate Guest Lounge with log burnign stove, and a large guest car park at the rear of the cottage, with ample, secure parking for all our guests. We pride ourselves on offering high quality Pickering Bed & Breakfast facilities with a personal service, attention to detail and hint of luxury for your stay. Open year round. We have 3 generously proportioned en-suite rooms, all with newly refurbished en-suite facilities. A large deluxe King-size room with shower en-suite, a deluxe double room, over-looking our garden with a bath and power shower, & a deluxe Twin room (which can also be made up as a Super King-Size for stays of more than one night) with shower en-suite. Check our web site for full details of all facilities and any seasonal special offers ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden House B&B Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing