We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”

Potter Hill Fish Shop
Ranked #27 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout
Description: Traditional Fish & Chips & more... 2014 Winner of The Potato Councils Choice Chips Award for North Yorkshire and Ryedale Mercury Fish and Chip Shop of The Year 2012!
Chania Prefecture, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Traditional Fish & Chips how it should be done and the taste is truly awesome.. After a 3 hour journey, we we're ready for a bite and boy did we choose the right place, I haven't enjoyed f&c like this in years. The fish was so fresh and thick, it was like a steak, the chips melted in the mouth, thoroughly enjoyed by all, keep up the good work, as we will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ako22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
A wonderful review from someone from my home town, what could be better.
If only you had not given me a Tina Turner earworm doing it.
I'm going to be singing that song for days now...
'Better than all the rest, etc' ...
The price we pay, eh.
thank you
paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    22
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“50 year search ends in Pickering back street”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I have spent the last 50 years searching for the perfect fish and chips and finally found them in Pickering!! Never mind the Crow or whatever it is called in Whitby, this is in a different league. Crisp chips, cooked perfectly, crispy pieces of batter and the most divine fish I have tasted in 50 years. Absolutely superb. Thank you for fulfilling my dream - I'll be back!!!

Helpful?
Thank Timthetrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We like to think of it as a quite and quaint little corner, rather than a back street.
But we appreciate the comment, that is for sure.
Say hello when you come through again and we'll tell you all about what's looking golden and cripsy.
Hint: Handmade Onion rings are amazing!
Thanks again.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips in the area”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Having visited Pickering on holiday for years, this is the first time we have had their fish and chips. They were beautiful, the best ones we have had in years, wish we had tried them years ago

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InspectorDreyfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The fish and chips were very nice, fresh and very tasty. Located in the heart of Pickeing and easy to find from the main road out of Pickering. By far the best Fish and Chips in Pickering.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best in Town”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The best fish and chips and friendly service in the Town. Only the fish shops in Whitby can match it for quality and value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potter Hill Fish Shop also viewed

 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Potter Hill Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing