We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potter Hill Fish and Chip shop in decline!”

Potter Hill Fish Shop
Ranked #24 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Cuisines: British
Description: Traditional Fish & Chips & more... 2014 Winner of The Potato Councils Choice Chips Award for North Yorkshire and Ryedale Mercury Fish and Chip Shop of The Year 2012!
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional Fish & Chips & more... 2014 Winner of The Potato Councils Choice Chips Award for North Yorkshire and Ryedale Mercury Fish and Chip Shop of The Year 2012!
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Potter Hill Fish and Chip shop in decline!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We always found this fish and chip shop to be excellent. Tonight my husband went to buy fish and chips for both of us and they were poor. The chips were undercooked and soggy. The fish although nice and White was cooked too quickly, the batter was soggy inside, slipping off the fish He asked them to put plenty of salt and vinegar on them, and there was none on,and he asked for bits on and we didn't,t get any.Altogether they were a soggy and greasy mess and after the first mouthful we're put in the bin. Really disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Elaine,
Firstly, sorry for the slow reply.
As you might know, we have just recently taken over the business and working out how to log-in to Trip Advisor was a technological challenge we failed to meet for a couple of weeks.
Obviously, we are very grateful to you for taking the time to post this and grateful that you have highlighted what was obviously a very poor experience.
We remember that night, my son's birthday no less.
It did, briefly, get a little frantic and perhaps your meal was regrettable victim to the scrum.
However, that is not an excuse, nor even a good reason.
So, while we can't undo what has been done, we can say please give us another chance.
If you and your husband want to drop around and say hello I'll very happily comp you a whole new meal and might even throw in some of our hand-made battered onion rings, the boy says they are a nightmare to fry, but they are totally worth it.
So, if you're willing, drop in, speak to my wife Janis or ask for me, Paul and we'll try to make it up to you.
Honestly, we do believe this was an unacceptable outlier rather than an indication of some inevitable decline.
Once again, sorry you had a bad meal, come on down and let us make you a good one.
Until then, have a day
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    23
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great, as always!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

So nice to come back to this little chippie after many years to find it still brilliant, and in my opinion, the best. Keep up the good work! Andrew & Sam

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for this review, sorry it took so long to reply.
Hope to see you again soon.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fulfilled all expectations”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Pickering seems well served by good Fish and Chip shops. Because of location decided on Potter Hill.Excellent choice. Efficient, friendly service, superb fish - large and succulent in light crispy batter.Outstandingly good value. Impossible to fault.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
This review is also impossible to fault.
Thank you
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Prefecture, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Traditional Fish & Chips how it should be done and the taste is truly awesome.. After a 3 hour journey, we we're ready for a bite and boy did we choose the right place, I haven't enjoyed f&c like this in years. The fish was so fresh and thick, it was like a steak, the chips melted in the mouth, thoroughly enjoyed by all, keep up the good work, as we will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ako22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
A wonderful review from someone from my home town, what could be better.
If only you had not given me a Tina Turner earworm doing it.
I'm going to be singing that song for days now...
'Better than all the rest, etc' ...
The price we pay, eh.
thank you
paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“50 year search ends in Pickering back street”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I have spent the last 50 years searching for the perfect fish and chips and finally found them in Pickering!! Never mind the Crow or whatever it is called in Whitby, this is in a different league. Crisp chips, cooked perfectly, crispy pieces of batter and the most divine fish I have tasted in 50 years. Absolutely superb. Thank you for fulfilling my dream - I'll be back!!!

Helpful?
Thank Timthetrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Potter Hill Fish Shop, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We like to think of it as a quite and quaint little corner, rather than a back street.
But we appreciate the comment, that is for sure.
Say hello when you come through again and we'll tell you all about what's looking golden and cripsy.
Hint: Handmade Onion rings are amazing!
Thanks again.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potter Hill Fish Shop also viewed

 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Potter Hill Fish Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing