We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a cleaner”

Spiers House Camping
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spiers House Camping
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs a cleaner”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This site is set in peaceful woodland and convenient for visiting the North Yorkshire moors.
The staff were friendly all though very few and far between.
The real let down is the facilities block which appears not to have been cleaned the whole bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vwt5camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a 3 night stay with our caravan, have been coming here for a number of years! We're always pleased with the site and staff, good base to explore the forest and also the east coast! Ideal site if you have dogs and children as plenty of space. Shower block dirty this time but can't blame the staff as the showers were firth due to other campers not mopping out or cleaning up after themselves. Same for the toilets, flushing really isn't a difficult concept to grasp however some people appear unable to do it! Some roads uneven with pot holes but you are in the forest and I personally would be very disappointed to see Tarmac! Disappointed to here a rumour that the camping and caravanning is going to make way for more lodges! Think it's a shame to put profit over accessibility for all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank twobytwo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked 2 nights from 23rd August but extended our stay just into the Bank Holiday weekend. The camp site was completely full so I was amazed that at night there wasn't a sound to be heard, except an owl. The 10pm to 8am quiet time was observed by all, including the dogs. There was no building work going on, despite the warning on Spiers House website. We were disappointed that a Ranger walk for the children did not take place (cancelled on the day) so we did our own walk in the woods on a well marked path. I am pleased we had our own toilet/washing facilities as the toilet and shower block was not at all clean. That is the only negative, and we plan to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was really disappointed with this site. The standard tent pitches were on quite a slope and surrounded by the new lodges, not by trees, so it wasn't the "camping in the forest" experience we'd hoped for. There were no designated pitches so people put their tents up in the flattest place they could find - over the weekend when it was busy it was a shambles. The wash block was grubby and the toilet paper wasn't replenished often enough. Few shower cubicles had a curtain and only one had a stool. The staff were friendly enough but I suspect that they'll soon let the standard tent pitches go in favour of the more profitable lodges.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 999Belinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booking a camping trip in conjunction with the Camping and Caravanning Club, we booked a grass pitch with electric. On arrival we found building work (which was just finishing), of which we'd been given no prior warning. The setting of the site, along with the surrounding walks, and activities provided by the rangers were fabulous. However, there was loud music emitting from one of the lodges way after 10pm, which spoiled the tranquility somewhat. Also, the shower and toilet facilities for campers were the dirtiest I've encountered at a campsite, with toilet roll not being replenished and sinks, toilets and showers not appearing to be cleaned during our stay. I notice from another review, that a shower door was hanging off during their stay. This has still not been resolved. Several other cubicles also appear to have been locked off for some reason. We'd love to visit this site again due to the lovely location, but feel standards for campers may have been allowed to slip due to the expansion of the cabin side of the business. This is a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and wished it could have been longer - yes there is building work ongoing at the moment but as we spent all day out on bikes and only returned at tea time this didn't unduly bother us - plus we were told at point of booking that the work was in progress so we knew roughly what to expect. The site is on a slope leading down away from the reception, shop and toilet block and whilst this wasn't an issue for us (motorhome) I would imagine that some of the slopes and angles of the pitches make it difficult to manoeuvre a car and caravan, especially if the weather has been poor. The site was by no means full (possibly due to people staying away due to the building work) and so we had quite a few pitches to choose from. You drive round and choose your own which is fine if plenty to choose from but may be a bit of a bind if the site is busy, especially after a long journey...We found the shop to be well stocked and the staff friendly and helpful. The shower facilities were clean and presentable. The best aspect of this site is its location in the Cropton Forest. There are miles of track leading from the site out into the surrounding forest - stunning scenery. My only niggle was some noisy residents in one of the lodges - including a girl with a very high pitched laugh who late on the Saturday night must have scared off most of the wildlife as far as Pickering she was so loud/drunk.....luckily for us we could shut our windows but I felt sorry for anyone who was staying in a tent! Other than that we had an amazing time and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed333H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This site is currently undergoing a big refurb to include new cabins on site.

This was known to us at the time of booking, so we were expecting some disruption. (8am through to 6/7pm with heras fencing and obvious building areas)

Otherwise the site was mostly empty and we only had neighbours for one of our two night stay.
The amenities were fine, with clean toilet blocks, washing up facilities and laundrette.

The shop stocked most essentials including a local Yorkshire lager on tap and a pizza oven which we made good use of.
They also had a mobile fish and chip van arrive on Tuesday and Friday but we didn't use it.

From the site we walked through the forest on one of many walks that was marked and easy going if not a bit warm in the heatwave temperatures.

Free wifi was available around the shop area. This was a bonus as we had no phone signal.

I would stay again as they are dog friendly, but I would wait until all the work has been finished.

One major negative was that the bins were emptied on the Wednesday and after, I presume a week of filling, the bins area was untidy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank some_room_somewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.7 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 1 in Cropton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
4.2 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spiers House Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiers House Camping

Property: Spiers House Camping
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Also Known As:
Spiers House Camping Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing