We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Robbed blind!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cropton Brewery

Cropton Brewery
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Robbed blind!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently spent two nights at the above venue (one of which was a red letter day) with brewery tour and beer tasting.
The brewery tour consisted of a 15 minute walk around the brewery lead by a creepy looking bearded man with bad breath, followed by a beer tasting session, but I was unaware that this consisted of whichever beer you decided to buy as nothing came with the tour!! I then had to put up a fight for my "free" gift pack which consisted of a single bottle of beer and a half pint glass! Taking everything into account this is the most expensive bottle of beer in history so will certainly be keeping it for a special occasion!
Stay clear of the bar on a Saturday night as it is full of hillbillies with their dogs in tow (or maybe their wives I'm not sure)
The plus side is the beer makes your farts stink making your stay extremely funny!

Putting all this aside, the room, the food and the surrounding areas are outstanding!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigsteve82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch and tour.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent a lovely afternoon at The New Inn. Two of our group had red letter gifts of lunch, tour and beer pack and the other three tagged along. Lunch was excellent, well cooked and presented and excellent value for money. The tour was interesting and the gift pack of three ales rounded it off nicely. We will be booking to stay over in the summer and spend a couple of days relaxing and drinking. Staff were friendly and made a rainy Saturday a lovely experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dellydotwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small niche brewery aiming to take over the world”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a brewery package at the Cropton Brewery otherwise known as The Great Yorkshire Brewery which consisted of a tour, sampling of the beers, a two course pub lunch and samples to take away. The tour was very professional with lots of amusing anecdotes and a very close up look at how the beers are made. The pub which sits on the same site - The New Inn hosts the event and the staff are very friendly and knowledgable about their products. If travelling from a distance it is possible to stay in the pub and enjoy a full Yorkshire breakfast. Rooms are small but well appointed with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and en suite shower and toilet. The whole event was good humoured, staff very friendly and food very nice with large portions. The pub and brewery are a few miles from Pickering set in beautiful countryside and in a very quiet location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
339 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“Brewery tour for campers.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This review is for the actual brewery tour. Confusingly Cropton brewery is also listed as a restaurant on Trip advisor, but the attached pub is called The New Inn.

We did combine both, that's the meal in the pub and the brewery tour . We also camped there. I will mention a little about each as they all tie in nicely.

We spent two nights there in a motorhome for a very reasonable £5 pppn and this included toilet facilities. For those that don't like camping they also do B and B.

On the first night we had a meal in the pub which was really nice, but see separate review for that.

Anyhow, back to the Brewery tour, The cost was £7.50 each (including a free pint) We were booked in for 5pm and met up in the bar of the pub.

There were about 10 people on our tour, but sometimes the groups are bigger. Our tour lasted an hour and a half but was only supposed to last an hour. I suspect a few pre tour drinks in the bar made us talkative. The guide was happy and knowledgeable and made the tour a pleasure.

It`s only a small brewery and to be honest there isn't a great deal to see, however I found the entire tour interesting and learnt many things. I was surprised to see that they pride themselves on Keg as well as Cask.

After the tour we all went back to the pub bar for a free pint. Armed with our new found knowledge we had a pint of red lager and a pint of Blackout (you must try this, its delicious and has a hint of chocolate).

The Brewery can be found behind the New Inn Pub at Cropton, which is about 4 miles from Pickering.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bestyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went here on 19th April for my wife's birthday could not fault it, brewery tour was funny , interesting , & informative, lunch was excellent, as was the Beer, we stayed over In a superb room , breakfast top class highly recommend this trip will go again, the staff were all fantastic, we were well looked after

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cropton Brewery also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cropton Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing