We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
A sunny day on the patio!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A sunny day on the patio!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
A sunny day on the patio!
Front of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
newadvent...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely cosy cottage. We stayed as 2 couples and the cottage was perfect. It was incredibly clean and very cosy. The wood-stove made the place really warm over a very cold few days. Beds were comfortable. Everything was there that we wanted. Having 2 car parking spaces was extremely useful too. The cottage was less than 5 minutes walk to the centre, where there are lots of lovely places to eat, the castle, church and the NYMR station. A perfect place for a short break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect peace.”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderfully quiet cottage beautifully appointed and lovingly cared for. Amazed at just how much thought has gone in to equipping the cottage - there is literally nothing you could possibly need for a comfortable easy stay.
The location is perfect for all Pickering’s facilities, all within ten minutes walk and lovely walks a bit further with the dog.
We hope to return at some point and will definitely recommend to family and friends looking for a peaceful, comfortable and rewarding break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to review my cottage. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back! Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise S
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb dog friendly 5* self catering cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week in Pickering with our dog Pip. This self catering cottage is immaculate throughout and in great location. A real home from home feel with welcoming tea and cake upon arrival. Excellent location, a quick walk into Pickering or up to the castle for morning dog walks. Also a great base from which to explore the wider area with off street parking and outside courtyard area a great asset. We will return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Dear Louise, thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed the cottage and visiting Pickering. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, very comfortable cottage in the heart of Pickering”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived we felt at home in this lovely cottage. It is very close to the centre of Pickering and just a couple of minutes walk down to the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. The cottage is well equipped; the bed linen and towels are very good quality and we appreciated all the little extras such as the cake on arrival, the basic toiletries and a good selection of cleaning products. It was also very quiet at night which was an unexpected bonus. Off road parking and the private location make this a perfect spot for a short break or a longer holiday. We hope to return before too long! Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Dear Anne,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela L
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cosy, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent base for walkers. Pickering woods walk was lovely. Pickering is lovely town with good amenities. Easy reach of Whitby, Filey and York. Used the train from Malden to York excellent service. 13 miles to Helmsley a lovely market town. This was our second visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Dear Pamela,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our cottage. I'm glad you had a good holiday and hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanlesz...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castlegate Coach House”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just spent a week here at this lovely pet friendly accommodation. This is our 4th visit and we will return again. Everything you need is here at the cottage. Perfect location for a walk into town, taking the Steam Train up to Whitby, walks around the Castle/woods and surrounding area and then also for visiting nearby places of interest. So much to see and do. We can highly recommend staying here. Thank you Lucy and Paul for their hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Dear Susan, Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit. Kind regards, Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing