We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Blacksmiths Country Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blacksmiths Hartoft
Certificate of Excellence
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Blacksmiths Country Inn”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This was the second time that i stayed at the Blacksmiths and I was not disappointed. The staff & management were marvellous.
My wife and I were there three nights as part of a friends 65th Birthday.
The hotel is clean and the bed room was very comfortable
We dined in evey night the choice of food from the resturant was great, we were in a party of forty from all over the British Isles & Ireland and not one complaint.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 on the ground floor. Nice big room with a door into the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAYMOND B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    63
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
28
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed on Friday 10th with my wife and friends - lovely warm welcome, where we were shown to our rooms and enjoyed a chat with the host. Lovely old fashioned bar, with good real ales. They were flexible with our dining arrangement on the Friday evening, due to the unknown arrival time of our friends - couldn't have been more helpful. Room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was excellent and again, the staff extremely helpful. If you have read other bad reviews, all I can say is our stay was excellent and the staff are working extremely hard to give good service. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Last August, we spent 3 nights at Blacksmith's Inn. The location is spectacular, right in the middle of North York Moors Park, the timing was right (if you can, it's worth visiting when the heather is in bloom in late summer/early fall), management and staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and spacious (we booked the garden rooms which have a sitting area right outside. There is both a pub and a good restaurant, which didn't try to be too fancy. In the area, there are great hikes and it can serve as the perfect base for exploring the moors or the Whitby coastline (the coastal walk to Robin Hood's Bay which takes half a day is stunning). No complaints at all.

Room Tip: The garden rooms facing the back of the property are well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripatetic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

12.10.12(3 nights over a weekend).This was our second time staying at the blacksmiths,we have been waiting to come back since last year,this time we were able to stay for 3 nights in one of the garden rooms(18),which was a little more exspensive but well worth every penny,large,beautiful, spotlessly clean,very relaxing room with smashing view of the garden.From checkin to checkout,all the staff were very warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for any one of them.The food was excellant,from the full english breakfast to the sunday roast.Having the coal fires lit was also a bonus making it very homely.For us it would only be picky to find any faults,love this place and didnt want to leave.Cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room (21) was beautifully situated,tastefully decorated and suitable large and comfortable.
All the staff were pleasant and very accomodating (special mention for the owner,bar manager,head waiter and waitresses all of whom helped to make our weekend memorable)
Food was excellent

Peter Hattersley

Room Tip: Remote,very quiet woodland area between Pickering and Rosedale. Car required but I recommend you spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The Blacksmiths Arms Country Inn did not come up to the expectations of their excellent website, the reality is a little disappointing. Rooms are quite basic and our room, No 10, was the access to the Emergency Exit for the other guests! The en-suite did not have a shower, only a shower attachment presumably to allow you to wash and rinse your hair. The guide in the room states that light meals and snacks can be ordered and consumed in the Blacksmiths Bar when the restaurant is open. Sadly for us, this was not so. We were informed by the staff that if we wanted a light meal we would have to choose a starter or something from the children's menu. We did not bother and informed the manager the following morning who said he would talk to staff because as residents we should have been able to order from both restaurant and bar menu's. Either the guide book wants amending or the staff told what the hotel policy is on meals in the bar. Our dinner in the restaurant on our second night was excellent, as were the breakfasts.

Room Tip: Room 10 is the access for other guests to the Emergency Exit. The en-suite only has a bath, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay in North Yorkshire. We visited the Blacksmiths Country Inn twice during our stay. On the first occasion, we enjoyed a light lunch sitting outside in the sunshine, enjoying the wonderful location. The chips were heavenly. On our second visit it was raining and we called in for a cosy bar meal. The food & service were excellent. The meals were beautifully presented and very tasty. We love this part of the country and visit regularly, we will definitely return the next time we are nearby,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyjcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
6.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
6.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Milburn Arms Hotel
Milburn Arms Hotel
#23 of 49 in Pickering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
7.3 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmiths Hartoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmiths Hartoft

Property: The Blacksmiths Hartoft
Address: Hartoft End, Pickering YO18 8EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blacksmiths Country Hotel Pickering
Country Inn Pickering
Pickering Country Inn
The Blacksmiths Hartoft Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing