We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to the Blacksmiths”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blacksmiths Hartoft
Certificate of Excellence
Burwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Back to the Blacksmiths”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

3 years ago we had one night at the Blacksmiths as a stop over on the way back home from the Outer Hebrides. We promised then that we would return and we finally did. We booked and then had to rearrange our stay for different nights. This was handled very efficiently in one short phone call. We were greeted enthusiastically and all the usual formalities were soon completed.

Dinner was fabulous: the food was delicious and served very well by a young, friendly and courteous staff. The night was comfortable and breakfast again was delicious served by a new staff of equally young and enthusiastic staff.

We fell into a routine which was both efficient and relaxed. The hotel is set in a beautiful area with lovely views. The only slight disappointment was that we couldn't find any short rural walks other than along the roads.

We spent our days in the North York Moors in beautiful scenery perfectly complemented by the Blacksmiths. A lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Apparently lower number rooms have showers as well as baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    63
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
28
169
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We visited early evening yesterday and had the roast of the day and sirloin steak, washed down by an excellent bottle of Malbec. The roast was good value and quality, the steak was excellent and competitively priced as was the wine. The ambiance was pleasant and restaurant spotless. Service was prompt and courteous and serving staff all had a smile. We are here for a week and will certainly return.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I agree with milkey we stayed for three nights and the staff may be young but a great team maybe they were a bit ditsy but very friendly and happy which made up for a few things that you expect to be better. The location for us was excellent a perfect place to explore the North Yorkshire Moors and the inn is a lovely place to come back to after a hard day enjoying the sights. The breakfast was hot and plenty of choice to start the day off on the right track. We tried the restaurant on the first night and it was excellent so we loved eating at the inn just a shame a bit flat needs some nice music to help the atmosphere. The only downside was our bedroom really quite bad green carpet in the bathroom and a ghastly green suite .You had to close the curtain if you went to the loo otherwise people outside would easily see your bum, not nice! The furniture was cheap and had a bit cut out to fit in the room . However bed very comfy and clean pay a bit more for a better room otherwise I would have given this an excellent rating but would love to come back another time staying in a better room

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor on the corner so had to close windows as people smoking underneath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tail2Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed three nights with some friends.
Superb location right on the Yorkshire Moors.
Hotel clean and comfortable: staff friendly and very helpful.
Food was of a very high standard and plentiful.
Lovely bar with good local beers.
Cannot understand criticism of the staff, they could not have been more helpful.
Handy location for Pickering and Whitby and Scarborough were within an easy drive.
One little grumble.....a decent shower would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: We took the cheapest rooms, perhaps the shower facilities in the more expensive rooms were better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I only stayed one night and came in the evening , but felt a bit awkward at the greeting as if I was a late comer ( 1830 ) .... Food was good , but the waitress did not seem to be trained. Had to wait for drinks and things kept being forgotten . The staff had a a certain smugness about them which spoilt the overall ambience. On the whole , I was grateful for comfort, food and a clean bed, but was still rather irritated by the ' hail fellow , well met " over familiarity .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foffle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay at the Inn. We were delighted to stay in one of the superior rooms with views over the moorland. The room was tastefully decorated, very spacious and extremely clean, the bedding was crisp and fresh and the ensuite very good. The breakfast was very good as was the choice of evening meal menu - we ate there for 2 evenings and thoroughly enjoyed the well cooked food. All the staff were very pleasant and very efficient. The Inn is ideally situated for wonderful walks in nearby Rosedale Abbey and the scenery is stunning. Would recommend a stay at the Inn to everyone and hope to return.

Room Tip: Superior room very comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful Bank Holiday weekend at the Blacksmiths Country Inn. An exquisite 'get away from it all' Hotel situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty..pefectly located to access some of North Yorkshires finest scenery. The grounds and the hotel itself are immaculately kept. We had the garden rooms with patio which were quite simply idyllic, impeccably clean, fresh and decorated to a very high standard. The breakfasts and evening meals, and the dining areas were first class, the staff were extremely accommodating and gave wonderful first class service. The sticky toffee pudding is a must, the best we have ever had! A special mention must go to Patrick, who welcomed us upon arrival and looked after us throughout our stay, he is an asset to the Hotel. And also Howard the owner who is a wonderful Host. We will definitely return time and time again to this blissful Hotel, a true gem of a find and one we will highly recommend to everyone we meet. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: For nature lovers, the garden rooms are a must. You'll be spoilt by the many different birds an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TraceyG432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
6.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
696 reviews
2.5 mi away
Milburn Arms Hotel
Milburn Arms Hotel
#23 of 49 in Pickering
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmiths Hartoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmiths Hartoft

Property: The Blacksmiths Hartoft
Address: Hartoft End, Pickering YO18 8EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blacksmiths Country Hotel Pickering
Country Inn Pickering
Pickering Country Inn
The Blacksmiths Hartoft Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing