We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blacksmiths Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blacksmiths Hartoft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

In one word fantastic.
Beautiful stone house, wide very clean rooms. Free wifi, tea coffee & biscuits.
Very nice helpful staff.
Located in an area of outstanding beauty.
Restaurant with very good food.
Many wonderful trails nearby.
I am sure that I shall come back

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hasanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for The Blacksmiths Hartoft
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was in a lovely setting, although not the place to go if you hadn't got a car, or weren't very mobile. The room we were allocated was very spacious and clean, with all expected
amenities- except one! While there was a good sized television, we could not use it! The aeriel ,apparently, had been blown down the previous Saturday in a storm. Bear in mind, this was the following wednesday!! Whatever the situation with the repair person- we were paying for an amenity we were unable to use. The weather was not the hotels fault, but they could, and should, have discounted our bill!! The food was not very varied-chips with everything-and the breakfasts frankly could have had more choice. Bear in mind that the cost was £47.50 each per night. So although not overpriced, it was not cheap!

The hotel staff were very polite& otherwise attentive.

Room Tip: Although probably rooms around the back might not have as good a view, I would think they would be q...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Myself and my wife booked for a short mid week stay at the Blacksmiths at short notice . We were not disappointed. We didnt want alot just peace and quite good food and a few glasses of vino. We were not disappointed. Food top notch , wine top notch , meet and greet top notch .

Credit where credits due well done all. If there is a grip and it is a little one missed shower as our room didnt have one but did enjoy the bath. great place as a spring board to explore this wonderful part of the country .

Room Tip: Nice Balcony to sit and look over the countryside and garden
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pennypiece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently spent a week at The Blacksmiths, absolutely perfect situation to get away from it all.
Rooms spacious and clean, welcoming, friendly and professional staff, food absolutely great (Yorkshire portions) Excellent restaurant with a varied menu.
Definitely on my return visit list

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnriley584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here overnight when we were going to an outdoor concert nearby.
Beautiful location, well worth visiting this area,
Hotel is set in very nice gardens.
Rooms very clean and public areas comfortable and inviting.
All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful . They seemed to genuinely care that everything okay.
Other guests were also attending the concert and the owner stayed up until everyone had found their way safely back.
We only tried breakfast but that ticked all the right boxes too.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank HollyDayYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent at night at The Blacksmith Arms mid week after a trip around the North York Moors to Whitby, Goathland ( Heartbeat Country), Grosmont, Danby and Castleton. Arrived at the reception to a very warm welcome and quickly escorted to our first floor room. We were even given the choice of two rooms choosing Room 8 with dual aspect looking over the car park - very bright and airy with access to a balcony. Very comfortable bed with TV and en suite bathroom though unable to have a shower with shower head too low over the bath. Quickly unpacked and went to the bar for a drink where yet again a warm welcome awaited from the bar man.
We booked at table in the restaurant for that evening as it was mid week the hotel was quiet, though did not distract from the service provided throughout our stay - such a high quality. Very charming restaurant and we given a table which gave you your own personal space. Food was exceptional terrain and melon with summer fruit berries and champagne sorbet to start. Followed by pork wrapped in pancetta and stuffed with black pudding and apple plus gammon with egg and homemade chips - delicous. All washed down with bottle of chardonnay reasonably priced. Service provided throughout the meal was excellent the young lady giving you ample time to enjoy the high quality of food provided by the chef.
Breakfast is served from 8.00a.m. to 9.30a.m. and we were the first to arrive so we had a very leisurely start to the day. Grapefruit, cereals, prunes yoghurt and fruit juice were provided on central table for you to help yourself with waitress service to follow. A choice of full English breakfast, scrambled or poached eggs on toast, kippers or porridge along with coffee or tea. Obviously all cooked to order and delicious. A quick check out and we were on our way through the beautiful countryside to the market town of Helmsley via Lastingham and Hutton Le Hole.
Can certainly recommend The Blacksmith Arms located in the heart of Rosedale Valley ideal place for travelling around this area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked the blacksmiths for a weekend away with the wife.
Firstly the location is amazing, if you want to get away it is literally near NOTHING!
It's a drive to Pickering and other nice places like goathland so it's ideal location to chill out but then venture nearby and explore (drove to goathland then got the steam train to Whitby one day).

Secondly the hotel itself, beautiful building, gardens in the summer were awesome, rear garden room was massive and perfect.
There were just certain areas that need sprucing up - the dining room carpet was shabby, the room doors were cheap plywood style and the toilets for the pub / restaurant were like a tired old pub rather than a boutique type.

The food was amazing in the evening and at breakfast.

We booked for two nights but were having such a good time here we extended and stayed in our room for a third night!!

Like I say, minor complaints about certain shabby areas stop the blacksmiths from really shining as a proper luxury escape, if they get sorted out it will have no flaws at all. And will justify the room rates without question.

Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The rear ones at the back with garden patios
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoveryLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
6.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
677 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
13.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
84 reviews
2.4 mi away
Milburn Arms Hotel
Milburn Arms Hotel
#28 of 46 in Pickering
163 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmiths Hartoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmiths Hartoft

Address: Hartoft End, Pickering YO18 8EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blacksmiths Country Hotel Pickering
Country Inn Pickering
Pickering Country Inn
The Blacksmiths Hartoft Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing