We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rains Farm Holidays
Ranked #16 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Lorraine certainly deserves her AA award. We received a very warm welcome complete with tea and biscuits.The property was pristine, the breakfasts to die for,we had a lovely bedroom, chocolates at bedtime, a comprehensive hospitality tray with an endless supply of milk in the fridge in the lounge. The countryside was very peaceful and beautiful and there was so much to do. We spent a day in Dalby Forest and on the moors followed by a day on the North York Moors Railway.We would love to go back again as this B&B is second to none.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen2006-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay here but also that Helen's first visit to Yorkshire was such a success. I hope that you and Tony will return soon and the laughter can continue! My very best wishes to you both, Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved our stay. Beautiful place and so peaceful. We loved all the wildlife and birds around the farm. Good luck to Lorraine who is a finalist in the AA Friendliest B&B award next month, you deserve it! Well done.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraiseraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here. I am happy to be able to shout from the roof tops that I won! I am the officially the AA's Friendliest B&B 2012 for the whole of the UK! This is the top award that the AA gives at their Bed and Breakfast Hospitality awards ceremony in London. It is like winning an Oscar or a gold medal in the Olympics! Well it feels like that to me! They inspect over 3,500 properties in all of Britain and it is just wonderful to be recognized in this way for just enjoying my work and wanting to make guests happy. I am very proud, not only for me but for Yorkshire! I look forward to giving all my guests a warm Yorkshire welcome. I like to think that Rains Farm is a laughter factory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARLISLE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Another brilliant week at Raines Farm. Even late in the year there is loads to do. This time we visited the Yorkshire air museum at York..........will go there again. As allways Raines Farm is such a great place to stay. Warm welcome, clean accomodation, peace and quiet. Look forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICKYSIMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Just returned from a 5 day trip, the four of us staying at 'Rains Farm B&B'.
We were met with a very warm welcome from Lorraine on our arrival, a lovely lady. The hospitality we received throughout our stay was second to none, from both Lorraine and her Mum, Jean.
We were served a delicious breakfast each morning, freshly cooked to order from a wide choice of options.
With guests having their own entrance to the house, own lounge to use and good sized lovely bedrooms with ensuite, toiletries, hairdryer, refreshment tray etc, it was like home from home with a very easy, happy atmosphere, in a beautiful, peaceful setting.
Rains Farm also makes a great place to stay to explore the local area, being within easy reach of the Moors, the Coast and the lovely Honeypot Villages all close by.
We look forward to staying here again on our next visit!
Thanks Lorraine & Jean for making our stay most enjoyable!
Catherine & Family x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suncat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thank you for coming to stay with us here at Rains Farm and we really do appreciate you taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We will look forward to seeing you all again sometime in the future. Thank you once again.
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We have traveled in the UK on holiday many times over the years and have stayed at innumerable B&B's, but our stay at Rains Farm ranks as one of the best ever. We were greeted by Lorraine on arrival and she made sure our stay was memorable. Our 4 day stay was one of the most relaxing we have experienced. It is by far the most peaceful place we have stayed and it is difficult to find words to describe the surroundings. Breakfast was superb and a great way to begin every day. We are already talking about a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJeffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
Thank you so much for your very positive review. We enjoyed having you stay here at Rains Farm and please tell all your fellow citizens about our place and hospitality! We want all your friends to come and we will look forward to seeing you both again too.
P.S Are you sure that's me on the photo, I was convinced I looked like Cindy Crawford, who is that impostor???!!!
Warmest wishes
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Situated roughly halfway between York and the coastal towns of Scarborough and Whitby, Rains Farm is ideal for exploring the Yorkshire moors and coast. The farm itself is a bit off the beaten track, but this does not detract at all, rather it's the perfect way to start and end your day especially when the area surrounding the farm is packed full of wildlife and the cottages themselves have every possible comfort needed - Jean and Lorraine really have put a lot of thought into decorating the cottages and have to be commended on this. There are some lovely pubs in the neighbouring villages if you don't feel like eating at home, all within an easy drive (or walk, if you're feeling energetic!).

This farm is perfect for couples and families who want a holiday with a difference. There is so much to see and do, and the hosts are wonderful people who make you feel very welcome indeed. This place really is a hidden gem.

Highly recommended and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: From what I saw, they're all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninabelina, Owner at Rains Farm Holidays, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
Thank you to the last couple of reviewers, I really do appreciate people taking the time to write a review and it is so thrilling to learn that other people enjoy Rains Farm as much as enjoy living here.
Thank you
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We recently stayed at Rains Farm to celebrate our anniversay, what a delight this turned out to be. Rains Farm is beautifully kept and the breakfasts are yummy! The surrounding countyside is breath taking. Brandy Snap Bistro recommended by Lorraine for our special meal was an excellent choice.
The whole weekend was brilliant. The farmhouse is full of character as is the hostess Lorraine who has a wonderful sense of humour and made our stay extra special.
We only had one little niggle and that was our stay was far too short.
Their self catering cottages look amazing too and I will definately be returning to stay in one.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
5.9 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
222 reviews
8.4 mi away
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#6 of 46 in Pickering
135 reviews
9.3 mi away
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 46 in Pickering
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chestnut Cottage B&B
Chestnut Cottage B&B
#81 of 183 in Scarborough
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rains Farm Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rains Farm Holidays

Property: Rains Farm Holidays
Address: Allerston, Pickering YO18 7PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rains Farm Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rains Farm offers a choice of holiday accommodation in either one of our wonderful self catering holiday cottages or delightful en suite bed and breakfast rooms in the main farmhouse or Dove suite which is annexed to the main farmhouse. Cottages range from 1 bedroom up to 3 bedrooms and the B&B are either double or twin bedded rooms plus Dove suite with it's own lounge and kitchen. We can offer ground floor in either cottages or B&B if stairs are a problem for guests. All accommodation has been inspected by the AA and awarded a 4 star rating with a special breakfast award PLUS Lorraine won the national award of being the 'AA's friendliest B&B for the whole of the UK 2012/2013' This recognises the warm happy atmosphere, delicious tasty Yorkshire breakfasts and the high standards of service you can expect whilst staying at Rains Farm. All cottages have floor to ceiling lounge windows with wonderful panoramic views. An oasis for the local wildlife, birds and guests! Come relax and unwind in our own little piece of heaven. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rains Farm Holidays Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing