We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Horse Farm Inn
Ranked #14 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
co. durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

spent 1 night there, lovely place, people and area. the owners and staff are all very friendly.

excellent food,
room decorated and furnished well

would recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    43
    8
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
128
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

just come back from an overnight stay. the management and staff were all really lovely people and could not do enough for you. we had our lunch outside overlooking the valley. the views are stunning. Our room was quite large and spotlessly clean.
The log fire was lit in the evening and the food at dinner was superb.
A thoroughly enjoyable night away and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bev1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just spent one night here and received the warmest of welcomes. Our room had stunning views over Rosevale and was really tastefully decorated and furnished, as indeed is the rest of the inn. The evening meal was more than genorous and we spent a lovely evening by the log fire in the bar. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to enjoy the beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just returned from a superb nights stay.We honestly didnt expect it to be of such a high standard but still retaining its country charm with a lovely welcoming open fire and a view second to none!.Our room was large and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed.The food was excellent with very generous portions and all of the staff couldnt have been more helpful and friendly.We look forard to returning

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We arrived on 04/02/2012 just prior to the 5 inches of snow that fell that afternoon making it magical. We were delighted with the welcome we received from Christine, Jim and the staff and felt that nothing was too much trouble. The room (although not overlooking the valley) was excellent and very warm. We spent the afternoon on the comfy leather sofa in front of the roaring log fire in the bar before taking a walk in the snow. Our evening meal was tasty, hot and the service was excellent. We were there to celebrate our 29th Wedding anniversary and everything about the stay, including the snow, was perfect. We were almost wishing that we were snowed in for another night but the farmer had been out with the snow plough to allow access to the milk tanker! Better service than you get on main roads!! 10 out of 10

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlykim33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Arrived just before about 5 inches of snow were dumped on Rosedale on Saturday. The view from the car park is wonderful as it is, but with the extra dressing of snow, it becomes magical.

3 cask beers were available. My partner and I chose the very palatable Great Newsome Pricky Back Otchan. We had pheasant, done in two different ways ( roasted and casseroled in white wine) for the evening meal - absolutely delicious and so filling, even with my huge appetite.

Room was spacious and very warm - an extra heater had been provided to combat any possible issues with the cold.

Sunday morning, we ventured down into the village and found that the access and main roads were clear.Result!

We will definitely return, if only to sample the delicious food. Thanks go to Chris, Jim and the staff for making our short stay so pleasant.

Oh and the log fire!! Every pub should have one!

Room Tip: We were in room 11, which although at the rear of the hotel, has a very pleasant view down the valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Flaherty
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed for weekend visiting family. We could not have been made more welcome. We stayed in room 8 which was of a high standard with brillant views over the moors. Food was excellent with huge portions, nothing was too much trouble for Christine, Jim and staff. Wonderfull relaxing place to stay in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
648 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
13.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
210 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
129 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm Inn

Property: White Horse Farm Inn
Address: Red House Gill Lane, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — White Horse Farm Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Farm Inn is a 16th Century Country Inn, set on a hillside with panoramic views over the village of Rosedale Abbey, surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors. The bar and restaurant are full of old world charm and character featuring a roaring log fire. The bar offers a wide selection of traditional hand pulled ales, fine wines, and malt whiskies. Traditional Yorkshire Fayre is served daily, both in the cosy bar and the stylish restaurant. The extensive menu specialises in local game, fish, and organic meats. All meals are cooked to order using only the finest ingredients. We also have a wide variety of vegetarian options and are able to cater for any special dietary needs upon request. Located in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, a trip to Historic York will only take one hour by car and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is a mere 19 miles away. The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing