We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”

White Horse Farm Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Horse Farm Inn
Ranked #11 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just come back from 4 nights at the White Horse, had a lovely time. Very friendly and welcoming. Fantastic cooked breakfast. Large meals in the restuarant, ended up skipping a starter so we could have one of their lovely desserts!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolacatterall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    45
    9
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
131
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Patrington, East Yorkshire.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We (me and my girlfriend) stayed here for one night during the extremely 'snowy' month of Feburary 2012. The views were fantastic and that log fire was a slice of paradise after a long walk in the snow covered fields. The bar was plenty stocked, as was the menu. The rooms had a modern feel to them whilst still keeping the old charm you would expect to find in a country inn. The breakfast in the morning was amazing, and the staff gladly accomadated for my vegetarian girlfriend (she was offered any, and all, combinations of eggs, bread, tomatoes, beans etc.) The views from the rooms are fantastic, but try to get a forward facing room if you can. The location of the Inn is fantastic and we will BE booking again!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the vally, the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Wonderful location, great food at very reasonable prices, cosy & clean room and a lovely warm Yorkshire welcome. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This time our visit was not purely for walking purposes as in the past but, was exclusively as a social event for family although,those of us who do walk, managed an eight mile wander on Easter Saturday with snow still on the tops!!
The White Horse has become one of our favourite haunts in the region and here are some reasons why.......If you are walkers there are many routes from this location......If you are not, you can still experience wonderful views.......The accommodation is well appointed......The bar is convivial,well stocked and welcoming......The food is excellent and, priced at a level, which for quality shames top restaurants..... Last, but by no means least, mine hosts Jim and Christine do a magnificent job but, as Jim will tell you," You are only as good as your staff in this business" and believe me the staff cannot do enough to enhance your stay!
In short, if there is a better place to stay for the money in the region then we would love to know about it.Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Room four has a double and single bed but also is like two rooms rolled into one,ideal for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRMAGPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 while doing the Coast to Coast hike as we could not get in at Blakey. Christine was very kind and sent a retired barrister to collect our packs from the Lion Inn. We hiked in off the C2C tired and thirsty but again no problem as the bar was in full swing with some very friendly locals who were fascinated by Canada. The room was absolutely incredible with amazing views of the dale. We would have stayed longer if we had not been due in Glaisdale the next night. The food was great as was the beer and Christine drove us herself up to the Lion to restart the hike, what a woman and typical of someone from Silsden! I wish the group owning this hotel all the best as it's an absolute independent gem.

Room Tip: Dale view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew4038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I spent 6 wonderful days here in mid March. We stayed many times many years' ago and seen the White Horse Farm go through many excellent owners/managers - followed by a couple of disasters that almost killed the place. But... It's back with a vengeance. Christine and Jim are perfect hosts. The rooms have been tastefully refurbished/updated and the pub has returned to it's quirky charm. The locals are back (artists, farmers, potters, ex racing drivers - you name it - in fact some of them are part of the ownership consortium.

Great to be welcomed back by old friends from so long ago, but everyone is made to feel warmly welcome here.

Keep the Black Sheep Bitter on, Jim!

We cannot recommend more highly for long or short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with dale view - absolutely incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theyre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lovely Hotel for weekend in Yorkshire Moors National Park Area. The staff extremely friendly and helpful, the food excellent. This is more an "Inn" than a hotel but that should not put anybody off. Good selection of Real Ales as well as usual Bar facilities with log fire and good atmosphere. We had Room 3 which had wonderful views across the valley, a substantial en-suite bathroom and was clean and airy. If there was a criticism it would be that the en-suite needed a hook somewhere for a toilet bag/dressing gown. All in all First Class.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have wonderful views..some rooms on the back appear to have terrace seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.5 mi away
No photo provided
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
13.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
16.4 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm Inn

Property: White Horse Farm Inn
Address: Red House Gill Lane, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — White Horse Farm Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Farm Inn is a 16th Century Country Inn, set on a hillside with panoramic views over the village of Rosedale Abbey, surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors. The bar and restaurant are full of old world charm and character featuring a roaring log fire. The bar offers a wide selection of traditional hand pulled ales, fine wines, and malt whiskies. Traditional Yorkshire Fayre is served daily, both in the cosy bar and the stylish restaurant. The extensive menu specialises in local game, fish, and organic meats. All meals are cooked to order using only the finest ingredients. We also have a wide variety of vegetarian options and are able to cater for any special dietary needs upon request. Located in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, a trip to Historic York will only take one hour by car and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is a mere 19 miles away. The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing