We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, Fab Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Horse Farm Inn
Ranked #10 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked this through a deal and so were not sure what to expect. However on arrival the staff were really helpful and the room we had was lovely, looked as though it had recently been decorated and was very roomy with a really nice en suite. We were on the side of the hotel so didn't have the beautiful open views that were available from the front but still looked out over fields and countryside so very nice. We ate in the bar on our first night and although the food was ok it wasn't excellent, the bar area is comfortable and welcoming but could maybe do with slight up dating, but this didn't distract from the welcoming feel, especially by the large ope fire. All in all I would definitely go back and had a lovely two night stay.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room at the front as the views are superb
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for White Horse Farm Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night break in this inn situated above the beautiful village of Rosedale abbey. James is indeed an asset to the place; he is utterly friendly and a natural, could not have been more helpful. Our room ( standard, number 4) was fine, clean and welcoming; nice bathroom and a balcony which will be an asset in good weather. We ate in both nights, the menu is varied and the food good. Breakfast was generous and tasty. First impressions count and the windows at the front of the building let the place down a bit, they need a lift! Our stay was excellent value ( a living social deal) but even at the standard price, we would recommend the White Horse Farm inn as a great place to switch off and relax in beautiful surroundings. We visited Robin Hood's bay, Sandsend, pottered round the village and enjoyed visiting the local Glass studio 'Gillies Jones' and its very friendly owner; also had lunch at the Lion Inn at Blakey Ridge, on top of the moors and well worth the short drive away. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay a very pleasant one. I hope we will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabelle17_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Right from arrival in pouring rain we were greeted by Steve who was very professional and welcoming - and carried our bags to the exquisite room .... Superior it certainly was. Best views ever and massive bathroom with a walk in separate shower room. We dined in the hotel both nights we were there because the food was of restaurant standard - absolutely delicious. We walked for 10 miles on the Saturday after being advised by the very friendly hotel staffs and owner. On the Saturday night some regulars were celebrating a special birthday and the owners had arranged a real bonafide disco - Wizard Discos - which was an excellent touch - a disco in the middle of a dale. We have to make special mention of James because he is the most friendly person I have ever met . He is a credit to this hotel and it has been a pleasure to meet him. All in all whilst we had a 'livingsocial' deal - it turned out to be the best deal ever! We would love to and indeed intend to return. Love it - thank you to the owners and their staff.

Room Tip: We had a superior room and the views were breathtaking - even when it rained - so in the sun - even...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsHMrsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Myself and my husband have just stayed at this fantastic 16th century inn . Upon arrival ( in the pitch black) we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes by the genuinely lovely James . A roaring open fire and a beautiful room .Having arrived quite late we decided to eat at the establishment , a fabulous choice of home cooked food which I found more worthy of restaurant standard ,rather the pub grub I have experienced at other hotels.In the morning we awoke to the breathtaking view from our window and the smell of a cooked breakfast ( my idea of heaven ) .Served by the equally lovely Fiona , the staff are incredibly friendly and warm and cannot do enough for you . After a day in York we decided to eat in the restaurant again because of the quality of the meal the night before , we were not let down my compliments to the chef !! We then had a drink in the bar were a private party was being held by the locals . We were welcomed like old friends the land lady made sure strangers were introduced and everyone enjoyed there night ,she was very amenable and attentive .We will be back , we travel extensively and have been to many places ,I personally rate this as one of the best , if you want to get away from city life to a place were time has stood still the white horse inn and surrounding village is a must .

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room the views are spectacular
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just spent a weekend at the White Horse Farm Inn. I had booked 2 rooms and was travelling with my mum and dad and 3 children. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Family rooms were extremely spacious and well equipped and the bar area was lovely and cosy with a log fire burning. We booked a table in the restaurant for us all both nights and the food and service was superb. My kids are 13, 7 and 3 and were made extremely welcome by the staff who took a real shine to them. There is a notice that children are not allowed at the bar which was fair enough and not a problem. I would definitely return without a shadow of a doubt!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I quote from this establishments website; “The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value.” Negative reviews previously attributed to this place refer to the bad attitude of a lady who is assumed to be the owner and to this I wholeheartedly concur.

My wife and I arrived today at 12:45pm to an empty car park having been recommended to visit the pub by a friend who had recently bought a property in the village. The notice outside referred to the winter opening hours and clearly stated that after being closed on Monday & Tuesday the lunchtime opening for Wednesdays was Noon to 14:30pm. On walking through the door we were greeted by a well spoken gentleman who, when I sought confirmation that the pub was open, indicated apologetically that it was not. At the same time a lady appeared from a rear room who uttered the immortal words in a most abrupt manner “Well it looks as if we are now” and walked off. The gentleman who was clearly embarrassed attempted to diffuse the situation by inviting us in and explaining that he had been there since 10am and prepared the bar for opening but for some reason the lady had chosen not to open. I declined his offer to serve us as it was apparent we were not welcome, but more importantly, I had no intention of contributing to this lady’s coffers in any way, however small. The gentleman maintained an eloquent and apologetic approach but we left the premises and travelled to the nearby village of Hutton Le Hole where we enjoyed a splendid and welcoming lunch at the Crown Inn.

I note the previous alternative glowing reports of this establishment and accept that we may have caught the ‘owner with attitude’ on a bad day however when one is engaged in a business which deals with members of the general public the front of house approach reflects on that business and this is one that I will not be frequenting in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Candreac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Firstly we would like to thank the local farmer Dave who managed to recover our vehicle from the top of Chimney Bank! (Enjoy your pint)!!!
All the staff were exceptional, super food and nice, clean room. Christine, Jim and James were extremely helpful.
A quirky little place, with a roaring fire and plenty of food and drink to choose from.
We will be back but not in the snow...thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happycat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
10.0 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
84 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
743 reviews
16.4 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm Inn

Address: Red House Gill Lane, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £80 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Horse Farm Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Farm Inn is a 16th Century Country Inn, set on a hillside with panoramic views over the village of Rosedale Abbey, surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors. The bar and restaurant are full of old world charm and character featuring a roaring log fire. The bar offers a wide selection of traditional hand pulled ales, fine wines, and malt whiskies. Traditional Yorkshire Fayre is served daily, both in the cosy bar and the stylish restaurant. The extensive menu specialises in local game, fish, and organic meats. All meals are cooked to order using only the finest ingredients. We also have a wide variety of vegetarian options and are able to cater for any special dietary needs upon request. Located in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, a trip to Historic York will only take one hour by car and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is a mere 19 miles away. The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing