We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Horse Farm Inn
Ranked #13 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had dinner here Saturday 19th July 2014 and it was exceptional. There was 7 of us including a 3 year old and the food was outstanding and the service couldn't have been better.

The atmosphere was of a the friendliest of pubs and the standard of food was like a top end restaurant. A great mix in my eyes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    44
    8
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
129
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Called in on spec for evening meal, had choice of either restaurant or bar area, extensive menu, pleasant staff.
I ordered the battered fish whilst my wife had a steak pie with lots of fresh vegetables. Both meals were well presented and of good quantity.
We had a choice of sweets to finish and my wife had a delicious lemon ice cream cake, I, meanwhile, made do with homemade apple pie and cream.
All very tasty and of very good value.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Northstander399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barton on humber
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the superior room, it was lovely, spacious room with huge bathroom with 2 showers!
Nice and clean, couldn't find a fault with the cleanliness. Lovely view from the window, looking down onto the dales.
Food was lovely too, could eat in the restaurant or the bar. Perhaps not the cheapest food, but all the food we had was definitely homemade! The breakfast was lovely too, all good quality food.
Friendly staff, felt most welcoming.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tracy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eferding, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After a long exhausting walk through the Glaisdale Rigg this tradtional Inn is like an oases! The warm welcome of the landlords, the kindness of the employees combined with the comfortable bedrooms, modern bathrooms and the fantastic food gives this place a special charme and charcter. At the bar they offer a fine slection of tradional ales from the arear and also the friends of a good glas of wine will be more than satisfied. The breakfast was ofcourse traditional English but somehow finer than the once we had in other places before. If you are somewhere near, try and prove yourself!

Room Tip: Our room Nr. 9 had three beds (one single and a doublebed) with a modern bathroom and modern infrast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_Edlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
233 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

During a recent stay in Yorkshire, I ate dinner here twice. On one evening, I had fish pie; it was very tasty and contained a generous amount of fish. My other equally enjoyable dinner consisted of local sausages served on a bed of mashed potatoes. The service was efficient and friendly; the food was well-presented and of high quality. It's definitely worth a try if you're in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripmomLedgewood_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We came with a group of friends in March for a few days walking. Rosedale provided us with some of the best walks we have ever done and the hotel is ideally situated with amazing views. The staff were friendly & helpful and the food was good especially the breakfasts.
The beers are also excellent, very well kept!

Room Tip: Good views all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bernadettereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely Inn for one night over the bank holiday weekend after being recommended it by a friend. After taking the road across the top of the moors, with its breathtaking views, we arrived at the Inn, which was exactly like the photos! We were greeted by a very welcoming gentleman who showed us to our room and advised that, as requested, a table had been booked for us in the restaurant. The room was clean and comfy, with all of the amenities we required, it was at the front of the inn looking down the valley. The view from our room was picturesque, and one that I spent a lot of time looking at!

After settling into our room we ventured down to the bar, they were very busy with it being a bank holiday but it didn't take us long to get served. All the staff, punters and dogs were exceptionally friendly. We found some seats on a very comfy sofa opposite the log burning fire and engaged in a good conversation with some locals. After a short while our table was ready and we were escorted through to the restaurant.

The restaurant was lovely, with original features, and seemed very popular! As it was a sunday we opted for the roast dinner. Unfortunately they had sold out of the lamb (must have been tasty!) but our very friendly waiter recommended the beef. Im glad I followed his advice as it was cooked perfectly and was very tender and tasty :-)

After finishing our meals we headed to bed (very tired from a long day of walking). Although our room was above the bar, we didn't hear any noise all night, which was good, and the bed was comfy too.

We were up before breakfast (served between 8.30 - 9.30) so decided to go for a short walk into Rosedale first. We encountered some very friendly and inquisitive wildlife on the way! By the time we walked back up the hill to the Inn we were ready for breakfast. There was a wide variety of choice and in my partners words "best breakfast ever!" The eggs were fresh and none of it was greasy. There were 2 very empty plates at our table!

After breakfast we checked out to head onto another adventurous day. We are planning on visiting again very soon and would highly recommend a stay to anyone who is looking at staying in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.3 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milburn Arms Hotel
Milburn Arms Hotel
#23 of 49 in Pickering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Farm Inn

Property: White Horse Farm Inn
Address: Red House Gill Lane, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — White Horse Farm Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse Farm Inn is a 16th Century Country Inn, set on a hillside with panoramic views over the village of Rosedale Abbey, surrounded by the North Yorkshire Moors. The bar and restaurant are full of old world charm and character featuring a roaring log fire. The bar offers a wide selection of traditional hand pulled ales, fine wines, and malt whiskies. Traditional Yorkshire Fayre is served daily, both in the cosy bar and the stylish restaurant. The extensive menu specialises in local game, fish, and organic meats. All meals are cooked to order using only the finest ingredients. We also have a wide variety of vegetarian options and are able to cater for any special dietary needs upon request. Located in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors, a trip to Historic York will only take one hour by car and Yorkshires Heritage Coast is a mere 19 miles away. The White Horse Farm Inn guarantees you a warm welcome, a great atmosphere and excellent value. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Horse Farm Inn Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing