We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bramwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
fargegirl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best ever”
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Booked into one of the cottages for a weeks stay. Didn’t receive the friendliest of welcomes and never felt especially welcome during our stay, although John was the friendlier of the two.

Parking is very tight and there are spaces for just 7 cars, despite having 8 guest rooms and 2 cottages, brochure information doesn’t emphasise how difficult parking can be and although they mention free parking at the front of the property it is very difficult to get a space.

The cottage was ok, but it felt as if only the absolute minimum had been provided to secure a four star rating, there were none of the extra nice thoughtful little touches that we have had in other places. The cottages was clean but dusty, towels were very thin and tiny, the double bed was also on the small side, possibly only a 4 foot bed although I didn’t measure it and the pillows had no life in them whatsoever!

There was a guest information guide which advised on various things including the no smoking rules (smoking is banned everywhere including the garden, we are very anti smoking but felt that not even allowing smoking in a small outside area was a bit over the top) and the Bramwood environmental policy (we do care about the environment but felt as if we were being preached to).

The cottages feel as if they are being run as a business, which of course they are but that’s not how you want to be made to feel when on holiday, overall I felt the owners were fussy and didn’t trust their guests to behave themselves.

It was a good base for exploring the area, but we never felt truly at home there and wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Feeling Unwelcome
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fargegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    20
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
179
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights, with my wife, in July/August 2007.

Everything about our stay was first class from the welcome to check-out.

Bramwood is located a short walk from the town and in a street which is very quiet at night.

Our room was clean, light and airy and, as a light sleeper, I had the best night's sleep I have had for years.

Breakfast is served in a bright room on the garden and sunny side of the property. Fruit, cereal etc. and a most excellent cooked breakfast.

If you like North Yorks, the moors, walking or are a fan of the North York Moors Railway (starts in Pickering) and are looking for a very good bed and breakfast, look no further than Bramwood.

  • Liked — Lovely property in a great location
  • Disliked — Honestly can't think of anything!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoomSpY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Booked here for a couple of nights bed & breakfast for my wife, my daughter & myself, after finding details on the internet & emailing half a dozen B&B's in the area looking for a family room for 3, this was the only one that could offer what we wanted.

Reception when we arrived was OK, parking a little tight, only have parking for 7 cars yet they rent out 8 rooms & 2 cottages, although there is free parking at the front of the property if you can get a space.

Room was clean BUT dusty , rather plain & looking a little worn around the edges, was rather cluttered with 2 beds in it but perfectly serviceable. Pillows could have done with abit more life!There was tea & coffee facilities but they werent replenished for the second night therefore we ran out of milk & decaffinated coffee. They also supplied 1 small bottle of water, nice touch but not much good for 3 people, extra bottles were available BUT at a cost of 40p each!!??!!

You have to choose your breakfast selection on booking in, therefore you just put down everything as you dont know what you will want the morning after, & that is what you will get everyday unless you tell them otherwise the afternoon before, BUT the cooked breakfast is excellent, all local produce & you can definately tell.

Marilyn comes across a bit like a school mistress & didn't say much but John seemed friendly enough & was an excellent cook!

Overall was an OK place to stay, the breakfast making up for the room & the lack of atmosphere.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Pillows & lack of space
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Bramwood Guest House is a comfortable and welcoming place in the delightful market town of Pickering, which feels like a "normal" (not too touristy) English town despite its location on the edge of North Yorkshire Moors National Park. We had two rooms, both nicely decorated with comfortable beds. (Room photos on the website don't quite do the place justice.) John and Marilyn, the hosts, serve an excellent English breakfast in the big, sunny kitchen or dining room. There are lots of brochures and guidebooks available for tourists and hikers, and the hosts have good local dining suggestions.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
127 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramwood Guest House

Property: Bramwood Guest House
Address: 19 Hall Garth, Pickering YO18 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Town House situated on a quiet side road just a minutes stroll to the centre of Pickering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramwood Guest House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing