We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bramwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
withernsea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely guesthouse”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have recently returned from my second trip to Bramwood this time taking my granddaughters with me. Helene and Richard made us all very welcome helping out by putting an extra bed in the room for us which still left ample space for us. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice the girls really enjoyed it. As before a warm and friendly atmosphere with a very pretty garden to relax in weather permitting as it was for us. I will be going back to stay whenever in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms are up a flight of stairs but all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digglydoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thanks for staying with us again this year and pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    20
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
179
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benidorm
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Bramwood from 8th to 10th August along with another couple. We arrived to a wonderful welcome from Richard which included a full tour and explanation of where to find everything, together with tea/coffee and home made cakes and scones in the lounge - just what we needed after braving the A64! They were delicious! Our rooms were both at the front and they were spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Both had en-suites with shower etc. Toiletries were also provided. Tea, coffee and biscuits were set out on a tray and there were glasses and a bottle of still water each day. After a lovely meal on the steam train that evening and a good night's sleep in the very comfy beds we proceeded the next morning to the breakfast room where a wonderful feast awaited us. We had pre-ordered our cooked food the night before, but in addition there were cereals, fruit juice and a bowl of delicious fresh fruit with yoghurt if you wished. We tucked in to all this then our cooked food was brought out by Helene. This was beautifully presented, very hot, on a hot plate (which I am very particular about and was well-impressed with!) There were plenty hot drinks available and lots of lovely toast with many different flavours of jams and marmalades, croissants. muffins etc. A veritable feast! All the food was top quality and sourced from local shops and all, without exception, was delicious. We were there for 2 nights and the breakfast was just as good the second day - we varied our choices of hot food the night before and it was all freshly prepared again. This guest house is well run, friendly, clean and cared for by two lovely people who deserve to have lots of guests all year round. We will certainly return when next in Pickering which is well worth a visit anyway to experience the steam trains and the lovely little shops and restaurants all around the town. There is a 13th century castle to explore as well if you feel adventurous. Whitby is only a few miles away, either by car, bus or steam train!
Recommended without reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath54Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

we asked for a large room which was lovely with a nice fireplace. Helene and Richard are great hosts. Crumpets in the room were much appreciated. Breakfast was lovely and they have a beautiful garden at the back which we didn't have a chance to use. We would certainly stay here again if we returned to Pickering which we absolutely loved.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank runninfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Bramwood around 6.30pm on Friday 1st August, after a long journey, to a very warm welcome from the owners Richard & Helene.
First impressions on parking up, which was ample, was what a beautiful place. Very well kept and maintained.
The Bramwood has excellent facilities, including free Wifi, and a beautiful guest lounge. Spacious breakfast room, which is just like sharing their kitchen, excellent breakfast, and a full choice, of cereals, fresh fruit, and cooked, all local produce. Fresh coffee, juice and toast.
The bedrooms are excellently clean and spacious. We had a double en-suite bedroom, (rm3) which was ideal. Peaceful. Tea and coffee facilities provided, with biscuits and chocolates, topped up daily.
Only 5 min walk into the town of Pickering. Which is lovely, with a wide choice of pubs, takeaways and restaurants..
We have booked for next years Traction Engine Rally, when we checked out this morning.
Richard and Helene have owned the Bramwood, for 3 years now, so any reviews before 2011 were about previous owners..
We would recommend anyone to stay at The Bramwood, it's a beautiful, friendly, warm place... 100%

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. So pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and thank you for booking again for next year, see you in August 2015! Regards Helene and Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stopped at the Bramwood so we could go on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, and it was ideal as there was free parking outside to the front. The room was fantastic and the breakfast was amazing and the hosts were nice and friendly, could not wish for a better stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of your stay at Bramwood. We hope to see you again when you are next in the area. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Spent five days at Bramwood. Helen, Richard and Will were the perfect hosts, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. This accounted for a 90yr old mother and her powered scooter that needed charging. (My fault there was no ground floor rooms as I hadn't read the info properly - but we managed). Breakfast was excellent. Certainly plan to go again. Richard was charming when told by elderly mother, "thought you'd be older" and they ended up having a laugh. Thank you for superb 5 days. Joyce, Jane and Malc xx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for posting a review of your stay at Bramwood. We are pleased that you all had an enjoyable week and everything turned out fine in the end! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you all and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were able to park in front of the place every day (diagonal parking – yay) so didn’t need to use the tight parking lot, which is scary for Americans in a rental car. Best fruit salad of the trip. No need to eat until dinnertime. Good free wifi. Richard was very helpful in describing area walks and sightseeing. He was a lifesaver when he told me to ignore the GPS instructions to Hadrian’s Wall and take the M1 instead. Saved us lots of aggravation (again for Americans driving on the left). We liked the room, although my husband is tall and bumped his head a couple of times. Quirky flush toilet but it got fixed and we got used to it. We had good meals at the Italian restaurant and at the Bay Horse Inn. Very quiet at night.
Room: Double, Room 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Bramwood. We certainly do have a great location, as you say only minutes into town but with the benefit of being on a side road with off road parking. Our breakfast is freshly prepared using only local products where available. In fact we have just received our first breakfast award (July2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
128 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramwood Guest House

Property: Bramwood Guest House
Address: 19 Hall Garth, Pickering YO18 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Town House situated on a quiet side road just a minutes stroll to the centre of Pickering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bramwood Guest House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing