We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bramwood Guest House
Ranked #3 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights, with my wife, in July/August 2007.

Everything about our stay was first class from the welcome to check-out.

Bramwood is located a short walk from the town and in a street which is very quiet at night.

Our room was clean, light and airy and, as a light sleeper, I had the best night's sleep I have had for years.

Breakfast is served in a bright room on the garden and sunny side of the property. Fruit, cereal etc. and a most excellent cooked breakfast.

If you like North Yorks, the moors, walking or are a fan of the North York Moors Railway (starts in Pickering) and are looking for a very good bed and breakfast, look no further than Bramwood.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoomSpY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 328 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2007

Booked here for a couple of nights bed & breakfast for my wife, my daughter & myself, after finding details on the internet & emailing half a dozen B&B's in the area looking for a family room for 3, this was the only one that could offer what we wanted.

Reception when we arrived was OK, parking a little tight, only have parking for 7 cars yet they rent out 8 rooms & 2 cottages, although there is free parking at the front of the property if you can get a space.

Room was clean BUT dusty , rather plain & looking a little worn around the edges, was rather cluttered with 2 beds in it but perfectly serviceable. Pillows could have done with abit more life!There was tea & coffee facilities but they werent replenished for the second night therefore we ran out of milk & decaffinated coffee. They also supplied 1 small bottle of water, nice touch but not much good for 3 people, extra bottles were available BUT at a cost of 40p each!!??!!

You have to choose your breakfast selection on booking in, therefore you just put down everything as you dont know what you will want the morning after, & that is what you will get everyday unless you tell them otherwise the afternoon before, BUT the cooked breakfast is excellent, all local produce & you can definately tell.

Marilyn comes across a bit like a school mistress & didn't say much but John seemed friendly enough & was an excellent cook!

Overall was an OK place to stay, the breakfast making up for the room & the lack of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Bramwood Guest House is a comfortable and welcoming place in the delightful market town of Pickering, which feels like a "normal" (not too touristy) English town despite its location on the edge of North Yorkshire Moors National Park. We had two rooms, both nicely decorated with comfortable beds. (Room photos on the website don't quite do the place justice.) John and Marilyn, the hosts, serve an excellent English breakfast in the big, sunny kitchen or dining room. There are lots of brochures and guidebooks available for tourists and hikers, and the hosts have good local dining suggestions.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helene H, Owner at Bramwood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank Madein365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
432 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#13 of 46 in Pickering
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramwood Guest House

Address: 19 Hall Garth, Pickering YO18 7AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £63 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Town House situated on a quiet side road just a minutes stroll to the centre of Pickering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bramwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bramwood Guest House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing