We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard”
Review of Beansheaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beansheaf
Ranked #26 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

When we 1st arrived at the hotel the man in reception was very unwelcoming and quite rude when we asked for a taxi to be booked for us to take us into town! After not putting much effort into booking us a taxi we gave up! Once checked in the room was nice and pretty clean, it wasn't perfect but was more than adequate. It has all the usual amenities like tea coffee tv etc.
We tried to call for a drink at the hotel bar when we returned and it was close 10pm this was quite disappointing.
Check out was also bad at reception, there was no one there and after ringing the bell a man arrived 5 mins later on the telephone having a private conversation, not really what you would expect of a hotel!
Overall the hotel was nice and pleasant but the staff leave a lot to be desired and they are quite surly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hellz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Beansheaf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel itself is quite reasonable, rooms are fresh and clean, bedding crisp, tea and coffee facilities in room, tv, the usual really, the bathroom is clean apart from moulding around the shower head which always makes me feel a bit unclean, but overall for the price its quite nice.
Arrived at reception, no one there, but a quick buzz of the bell and someone is with you instantly. Check in quick and easy and then taken to the room. There is no lift. We did unpack then we went to bar for a drink, prices are about average. Large wine and a pint of beer was £9.00
We didnt try the food but i believe its quite good from other visitors.
This is not a busy place by night in the bar so you feel a bit weird sitting by yourself and so we went up to room and came down for a cigerette about 9.30 pm and the front doors were locked and that was on a Friday night. ????? so obviously they dont do much business in that area. Restaurant wasnt busy either. Maybe 3 couples in there, which is a shame, because its all quite nice. simple but nice. Outside in the garden area is very disappointing , could do with an over haul to say the least. Nice and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The reception we received was unwelcoming and rude. The guy on reception was most unhelpful. In addition the place looked shabby, could do with a fresh lick of paint and some customer service training

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank klc1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we stayed at the hotel on our way up to filey,rooms good food good also takes dogs in the rooms nice and clean everwhere,would we use again yes probably,any faults that it has it is next to busy road and you can hear the traffic,but it didnt keep us awake

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went for my mums 70th birthday tea. Not been since it had changed ownership and i was more than pleased. The food was delicious and not expensive. The staff were lovely and the restaurant and bar area was lovely and clean. My 6 year old daughter loved it too. Very child friendly. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiJulie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the Easter weekend, whilst my daughter partner and children stayed in a caravan at Flamingo land itself. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable, with satellite tv and wifi, and tea and coffee making facilities The full breakfast were fabulous and certainly set us up for the day. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reidbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We received a very warm welcome at The Beansheaf. The room was a nice size as we were staying there with our 5 year old daughter. The wifi is good and the complementary bottles of J2O are a nice touch. They were accommodating at breakfast as neither myself or my partner enjoy a full English and they were happy to provide us with bacon sandwiches as an alternative. Good overnight stop off on the way to places like Whitby if you want to break the journey.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Donnamahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
2.1 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
681 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
2.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
426 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 46 in Pickering
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Bull Inn
The Black Bull Inn
#25 of 46 in Pickering
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beansheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beansheaf

Address: Malton Road | Kirby Misperton, Pickering YO17 6UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £68 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beansheaf 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Beansheaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beansheaf Hotel Pickering
Beansheaf Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing