We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality B&B and value for money”
Review of Cawthorne House

Cawthorne House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cawthorne House
Ranked #23 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top quality B&B and value for money”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently. We were a party of 4 couples and everyone was of the same opinion regarding high quality of furnishings in each room. The breakfast selection was excellent with juices, fresh fruit bowl cereals and full English cooked breakfast. Fantastic sausages! The owners were also extremely helpful and next time we are in the vicinity we shall certainly book in again. Much better than some hotels and centrally positioned for lots of eating choices.
What more can I say! Only minor downside was rooms at front a little noisy as on a busy road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The host Jayne was very welcoming and made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Nothing was too much trouble. Have the full English breakfast. Second to none. The home made flapjack and shortbread yummy!
Would advise that if eating out in pickering to be aware that unless takeaway most pubs stop serving food at 9pm and restaurants close at 11pm

Room Tip: Kirkdale room at the rear over looks the lovely courtyard. Very quiet. It was an emaculate room well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by Jayne who made us feel very welcome . we felt like guests in her home instead of paying customers . what a welcome change . Breakfast set us up for the day which is what a full English breakfast should do . We found her lovely dog Betty a lovely addition as well as we had lost our own dog a short while ago . We would be returning to Cawthorne in the future Jackie and Gary Holmes

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

a very enjoyable week end made more so by Jayne and the entire family . If you need to relax and a wonder around the town its ideal . We will be going back again . A delicious breakfast , and very high standard rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisP1479BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I booked Cawthorne House as a treat for my 9 year old daughter as it was her birthday and we were visiting GoApe junior tree top adventure in nearby Dalby forest. We arrived at the house and were pleasantly welcomed with a card and present for my daughter and offering of hot or cold drinks. The room was very comfortable and an ideal size for the two of us. We asked for recommendations for supper and followed up on this by having a lovely meal in a nearby Italian restaurant? Cawthorne House is very tastefully decorated, clean tidy and very welcoming more like a stop over with frinds rather than a stay in a strangers home. Breakfast was lovely and more than sufficient to set us up for a day exploring. On departure we were given cupcakes for my daughter and siblings that went down a down. A great stay in a great house in a great location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cb70run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Another very enjoyable visit to this lovely & homely guest house for a 2 night stay for a birthday treat. Jayne, & Betty the dog, made us extremely welcome, with tea, fresh shortbread & cake on arrival. The delicious breakfasts were up to Jayne's usual high standards with a wide choice, & the room was again very comfortable with little additional touches you don't find in larger hotels. We have stayed here on a number of occasions & cannot fault it in any way. Jayne & Steve had seen my birthday cards in our room, & on our return from a day out, had bought me a card & 2 bottles of beer - what a kind thought & much appreciated!
Jayne is cycling through Tanzania & Zanzibar in November for a children's charity - The Genesis Research Trust, organised by Professor Robert Winston, & is selling crafts, cards & biscuits etc to help raise money for the charity, so if you do stay here, be sure to buy a little something - Good Luck Jayne.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area & will certainly be back.

Room Tip: View the rooms on the website to enable you to pick the one which suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneBarrow, Owner at Cawthorne House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much Steve and Glen for, once more, taking the time to post a review - and such a glowing one at that!!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. (And by the way we DID get out for a bike ride on Sunday - 15 miles covered...just got to build up to 60 now!!! )
Once again, many thanks, Jayne :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were visiting friends close by. Cawthorne house is a grade 2 listed building. The owners were most welcoming to myself , husband and two children aged 10 and 8.The room came with on suite and was huge. The standard of fixtures and fittings were extremely high, the house is beautiful. The owners were most welcoming we just wished we could have stayed longer. Cannot wait to visit again had fantastic time.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joannesale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.5 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#8 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eden House B&B
Eden House B&B
#9 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lowther House
Lowther House
#11 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
17 Burgate
17 Burgate
#17 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cawthorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cawthorne House

Property: Cawthorne House
Address: 42 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jayne and Steve would like to welcome you to their home, Cawthorne House, a recently renovated and luxuriously appointed Victorian Grade II listed building, situated within walking distance of the town centre of Pickering. All 5 rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, hospitality trays and are individually furnished to the highest standards. We accredited by the UK Tourist Board and are 4star Silver award winners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cawthorne House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing