We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Service in a Beautiful Setting”
Review of Old Manse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Manse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We found the Old Manse through Groupon and booked for ourselves and also as a gift for my parents.

My parents NEVER go on holiday, my Dad is reknowned for moaning and my Mum thinks it's too much hassle. I must admit I was dreading them going in case they didn't enjoy it!

Much to our relief, they returned with a calm air about them, singing Val's praises and telling us they had a wonderful time.

We stayed the following weekend and I can honestly say that Val and her staff are wonderful. We arrived at lunchtime with the intention of foregoing afternoon tea which was included for later that day. Val offered to make it early for us and we sat in the beautiful garden and thoroughly enjoyed it! Breakfast too was wonderful. My Mum isn't keen on full English breakfast and is still telling everyone about the lovely continental alternatives available. She was still full from breakfast when they came home at tea time!

My parents also had an evening meal and said this was fantastic, too.

Val is an absolute professional and a really lovely lady. The fact that my parents are now converted to weekends away (only at the Old Manse mind you!) says it all.

Thanks to Val and staff for looking after us, and we all look forward to seeing you again soon. And thank you for giving my parents something to look forward to doing when they retire next year!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollydaydream75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for your lovely review we do appreciate it. I hope we will all meet again.
Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

myself and my husband have had a lovely stay with val and her team everything was spot on from the moment we arrived. afternoon tea was a delight and so was breakfast. we had a lovely comfortable room and would definitely stay here again. we also had the pleasure of meeting vals daughter and son in law liz and phil.we had a lovely stay and would recommend the old manse to anyone. karen and Alan.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we were thrilled to receive it. Hope we will
meet you both again. Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just returned.What from a short break in this 10 roomed guest house in the centre of Pickering.Everything was great,we had Room3 a very comfortable room with four poster bed,Very clean with ensuite shower room,TV and hospitality tray.Val the owner could not do enough for us.Breakfast was exceptionally good with a very varied menu.Evening meal was available on request and lunch was available several days during the week.We did not partake but where told by other guests that the meals were excellant.Situation 5mins from centre of town and North Yorks Railway. Bus service to Scarborough across the road.Dog friendly....

Room Tip: Ask for room at back as it's Quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments - I am so pleased you had a good time.
I hope we meet again.
Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My Husband, our dog Meg and myself have just had 2 brilliant nights here on the groupon voucher which was a Christmas present from our son and his family. We would recommend The Old Manse to anyone. The room was really nice and comfortable, the afternoon tea when we arrived was absolutely scrumptious and breakfast was perfect. Val and her staff were lovely, we will definately be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your lovely review we enjoyed meeting you both - and Meg hope
we will meet again. Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Returned home today after a two night stay at this lovely hotel. Friendly staff, good food, home from home. Excellent value for money, thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you very much or your lovely comments - we enjoyed meeting you both asnd hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned today from a lovely weekend at this hotel. The rooms were spotless and provided all the necessary toiletries. The afternoon tea was well received and was lovely. The breakfasts were fantastic with everything you could possibly want and Val even made my hubby his favourite brekkie. We decided to eat at the hotel on both evenings and the menu was different each day and wow, the food was simply the best!! There was plenty of delicious food served hot on hot plates with warm bread. The food itself was delicious and more than expected...a pure delight. If you stay there, make sure you have an evening meal or you will be missing out on a real treat as Val is a superb chef. Nice touch having a secure car park too. Thanks again Val and we will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you so much for you lovely comments. I enjoyed meeting you both.
and hope we will meet again. Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights whith a 6 month old baby & found all the staff at the hotel extremely helpful. A really friendly family run hotel who made our stay really pleasant!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHL121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments - we very much enjoyed meeting you all
and hope to meet again.

Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
541 reviews
11.7 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
570 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: 19 Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £90 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Manse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Old Manse Hotel Your "home from home" in a fine Edwardian hotel based in Pickering, North Yorkshire A warm, friendly welcome awaits you at the Old Manse Hotel, where we offer first class hotel accommodation in Pickering, the gateway to the North Yorkshire Moors National Park. Located in a building that dates back to Edwardian times and has many original features, our 10 bedrooms are decorated in a pleasant, rustic style and all are en-suite. Rooms come complete with colour TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. All rooms have wireless broadband access. I look forward to welcoming you to our home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing