We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed”
Review of Old Manse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Manse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We used the hotel as a base to scout for a house to buy. The staff are very friendly, the breakfast excellent and it is handily located. The long climb to the top floor was a shock to the system!;-)
Nowadays it is a bonus to have tea / coffee supplied in the bedroom - thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cass0ude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review hope you are lucky house hunting. Take care
Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    44
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
33
132
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying here on Thursday Night. It was Lovely, we were met by a Lovely Lady who couldn't do enough for us.
The room was very nice (Room 7) right at the top of the house with a great view over the rear garden. Great bed and great Tea and Coffee in the Room.
After a good nights sleep in a fantastic bed we had a Truly Fantastic breakfast and once again everything was Lovely. Thank you for a great stay and we look forward to staying with you again next time we're in Pickering.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thank you it was great to read your lovely review - hope we meet again.
Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We called in late Fri lunch without booking,as we had heard good reviews. We were made very welcome and waited in a lovely lounge with open fire untill our table was ready.The staff are all very friendly and efficient. However the real WOW FACTOR came in the food. The menu is simple,but the depth of flavour in all of our three courses left us both making Mmmm noises throughout. DELICIOUS! . My only problem with writing this well deserved review is,will I be able to get a table in future?

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, it was great meeting you both and hope to see you again soon...and we will always have a table for you. xx
kind regards
Valerie xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I visited The Manse in late-February and had the very best introduction to North Yorkshire hospitality that I could have hoped for. Valerie and her team made me very welcome when I arrived after a lengthy journey, and I felt at home right away. The Hotel is spotless, warm (on a wintery February evening), perfect for a good night's sleep, and the breakfast was lovely. The breakfast room/restaurant is a highlight: a sun-filled conservatory which overlooks a very attractive garden. Overall, a lovely stay!

Room Tip: I had a spacious twin-room which as well as large front windows, had an east-facing side window givi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TO200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review - we were thrilled to read it.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We took two of our elderly neighbours to lunch at the old manse. The food was delicious ,all local products ,the service was perfect and we were not rushed and were allowed to choose our own pace. This isexceptional service on leaving we were met by the owner and she asked if we had enjoyed our meal ,the rating says it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really do appreciate
it. I glad you enjoyed the food I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

A group of 20 had Christmas lunch here today. All the staff were extremely friendly and obliging. We were given use of a ground floor bedroom for coats and extra bathroom facilities.The food was delicious with a choice of starters which included a trio of prawns, prawn cocktail, king prawns tail on with chilli sauce and breaded spicy prawns with a mint dip. The pate was also well received. 3 roasts were available all served with yorkshire puddings and a salmon en croute ( I chose this as a light option!!) which would have fed two and a small child. The vegetables were plentiful and included the best roast parsnips I've had in ages - really crispy outside and soft and tasty within. The sweets were innovative and not too heavy - I tasted a friend's chocolate pudding filled with black cherry sauce and there was also a trio of sweets available if you were undecided. The whole experience was so well received we are booking for next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorcas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write, I was thrilled to read your lovely
review. A very happy Christmas to you all.

Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirriemuir
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Better late than never,,,we had a lovely stay at Valeries in the summer,as usual it was first class,best breakfast and very nice room. A nice room but would have prefered more of the windows to open and maybe the gardener could start work a bit later 0:) We will be back again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review - I was thrilled to receive it.
Will try and get the gardner to start a bit later - and lets provide you with a room with more windows. Take care and Happy Christmas Kind regards Valerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
1.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#3 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#16 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Property: Old Manse Hotel
Address: Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Manse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing