We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Old Manse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Manse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from spending 3 lovely nights at the Old Manse, on our arrival we had a lovely warm welcome from Val nothing was too much trouble for her. We had a lovely view from our bedroom window, the bedroom was spotless with towels changed daily, the breakfast was 1st class. We had evening dinner on one night it was absolutely delicious all home cooked food! If you are ever visiting Pickering we would highly recommend the Old Manse you truly won't be disappointed. Thank you so much Val for our enjoyable stay with you, we will be returning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellaparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review - I was thrilled to read it.
I am glad you had a lovely time it was lovely meeting you both and Max. Hope we will meet again.
Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here in April and thoroughly recommend it, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the owner allowed the car to be parked the following day while we caught the steam train to Whitby, the B&B is perfectly placed for the station 2-3 minute walk. We had the garden room and great weather to allow us to sit in the garden, have a wine or 7 and fall back in the door. Breakfast was the perfect hangover cure, plenty of it and well presented with plenty of their famous coffee.
we are definitely going back, the sooner the better

Room Tip: We had the garden room, great spot if the weather is right, sit right outside your door and listen t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howard1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review it was wonderful to read.
I glad you had such a good time we look forward to welcoming you back and promise to have lots
of coffee on. Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can't really say my stay at the Old Manse Hotel was particularly enjoyable, in fact it was terrible. Me and my partner wanted a get away to the countryside, and as we had visited Pickering before and enjoyed our stay, we decided we would book to visit again. When looking for accommodation the Old Manse seemed perfect- cheap, perfect location, meals available, so we went ahead and booked a room for two. However the stay was unpleasant, having found dog hairs in both meals we had there, and having a room that smelt very strong of cigarettes, we were also woke up early by a large dog barking and just really didn't feel to welcome. The only positive about thing about our stay was the location, as we love Pickering and did have a nice get away visiting the local attractions, but I'm not going to lie our choice of accommodation did affect our enjoyment of the weekend. Will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ja_bdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello
You stayed in October 2013 and you have only decided to give a review in May 2014 I have just looked over the 2013 bookings and am unable to trace you? If you had such a terrible time surely you would have complained at the time. We do not have smoking in the Old Manse, and should such
a matter like a smokey room arise we would have stripped the room of everything bedding everything
and the next guest would have not have been able to detect any smoke.
Perhaps you would like to identify yourself so we can trace you on our records.
I would be very interested to know why it took so long.
Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Old Manse Hotel, more of an Inn, is conveniently located with especially friendly and warm hospitality (we felt fussed over in a nice way). Our room (spotlessly clean) was well sized and appointed, and had high ceilings, which with two large windows, had a light and airy feeling. The breakfast and dinner alone are worth the stay -- delicious meals made from fresh local ingredients.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review it was so lovely to read,
I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope the rest of your holiday is good.
Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have recently returned from another very enjoyable short break at the Old Manse. We have stayed there many times over the last 15 years or so and I have never written a review. I thought that it was about time that I wrote one! Given the fact that we return there year on year is a bit of a clue as to how good it is. We always receive a warm welcome from Valerie and are offered a coffee with biscuits on arrival. The lounge / dining room is nice with a log fire in the autumn / winter and the bedrooms are spacious. Breakfasts are excellent and there is the option of a very nice 4 course evening meal. Pickering is a lovely town and the Old Manse is only a few minutes’ walk from the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway. Whitby is a half hour drive away. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Manse as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We like room 3 which has a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review it is always lovely to see you both and catch up with all the
news. It was wonderful to receive it. Hopefully we will continue to see each other for years to come.
My love to you both. Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

were to start we booked our 1 night stay as part of a special offer and after reading reviews and looking at photos we thought it would be a good place to stay
on arrival we were met by the owner and showed were to park and given our room key she told us on booking it would be a small double which we were ok with as photos looked great the lady said she had give a us a bigger room over looking the garden so we thought that would be great was i wrong the room was very tied and still very small and if i had paid full rate i would have very upset after unpacking i thought for 1 night it would be ok on our way out i notice a few rooms unlocked so had a look in omg these rooms were a great size and nicely finished and packs of biscuits on hospitality tray so we felt like second class guests so we just went and enjoyed on time in pickering
breakfast was good and the young girls serving were very good
check out we were asked if we enjoyed our stay i said it was fine and the lady replied just fine and said i did not want to get in to it but she insisted i did
so i told her we did not like the room and the reply was it was well worth what you paid for it we like most people have stayed in hotels b&b on special offers and had the same standard room as full paying guests so i was shocked to here her say it was well worth the money then lady went on to say the hotel was full and we could not have had another room but i no for a fact there was empty rooms and when i told her this she went back in the hotel and slammed the door
so if you pay full price you will have a nice room and if you visit on a offer do not expect the best

Room Tip: not room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELLY3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi There I am sorry that you felt you were second class that was not the case at all - when your wife made the booking I told her the room was small and in fact we did move you to another room
over looking the garden we were in fact not intending to take any offers over the bank holiday
but we ended up taking two rooms - The room you saw was the four poster which was empty
has someone had pulled the shower off we had managed to get a new shower fitted but the
tiles were wet this was the reason I did not relet it that day.

I did go back in but did not slam the door there was no point in continuing the conversation.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had 2 nights here at end of March.Our room had a four poster bed and was very spacious and clean.We were very greatfull that we could check in early after a very warm greeting from Valerie.Breakfast was mainly good.Full English was a good size.Spoke to Valerie when we left about an issue on the 1st morning and all cleared up.Will use again as very quiet surroundings and very friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank paulamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieAnne19, Owner at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hello Thank you so much for your lovely review. I enjoyed meeting you both
hope you had a good time in Whitby.
Hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
0.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
702 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
554 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
1,711 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: 19 Middleton Road, Pickering YO18 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pickering
Price Range: £84 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Manse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Old Manse Hotel Your "home from home" in a fine Edwardian hotel based in Pickering, North Yorkshire A warm, friendly welcome awaits you at the Old Manse Hotel, where we offer first class hotel accommodation in Pickering, the gateway to the North Yorkshire Moors National Park. Located in a building that dates back to Edwardian times and has many original features, our 10 bedrooms are decorated in a pleasant, rustic style and all are en-suite. Rooms come complete with colour TV, radio, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone and hairdryer. All rooms have wireless broadband access. I look forward to welcoming you to our home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Manse Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing