We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab and friendly”
Review of Eleven Westgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eleven Westgate
Ranked #8 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for two nights with our 2 teenage daughters. From start to finish the whole stay was lovely. Amanda and Mike greeted us on our arrival and served tea and homemade cake in the lounge, which was a lovely welcome.There was a guide book with information on the area, things to do and restaurants etc but Amanda also gave us lots of ideas, asking us daily what we wanted to do and helped book a restaurant for us on Friday evening.
The rooms are traditional and spacious ,very clean and airy, offering comfortable beds and lots of little extra touches.
There's tea and coffee making facilities including a kettle,cups and saucers with several coffees, teas or hot chocolate to choose from, bottled distilled water with pretty glasses, homemade biscuits in a lovely labelled tin, all of which are replenished daily.
Our room had an en-suite shower with some great products for you to use, fresh towels too. Breakfast was served daily, several choices but we opted for the full english which was fab
( thanks Mike).Toast, fresh coffee or tea and juice... a great start to the day. Then the rest of the day was ours to do as we wanted! All in all a really great experience, will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buckowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Many thanks for such a lovely review. We do like to help all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and make the most of exploring this wonderful area. We like to start with a great Yorkshire breakfast to set you up for the day - whatever you're getting up to. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Friendly, warm, comfortable, great photos, very full after delicious full English. Ideal for us as mountain bikers, both Mike and Amanda very knowledgeable about surrounding area, very accommodating for muddy bikes (securely locked away at night) and muddy riders. Highly recommended, you won't find better in the area, and a reasonable price too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Many thanks for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast hit the spot! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Have just experienced another welcoming and excellent stay at Eleven Westgate. Nothng is too much trouble, the place is spotless and the breakfasts are excellent. Amanda and Mike were friendly and helpful throughout during our three night stay. They both work very hard in making you feel at home. I cannot express highly enough.

Room Tip: Both rooms our friends and ourselves used were brilliant. They were situated at the back and middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Paul and thanks for your kind comments. We're so pleased we were able to help you feel welcome and 'at home' as that's our main aim - followed closely by keeping things tidy and offering great breakfasts of course! We hope to be able to welcome you all back in the future. Take care and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a find. We drove from Whitby for 2 nights stay at Eleven Westgate and we wished it could have been more . Location perfect . Owners very friendly . Food and room excellent. We bought plants to bring home from an enterprising young son. They are happy in my garden. Will visit again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Sue and thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Over the years we've seen many guests return after happening upon Eleven Westgate so hopefully we've converted you to the delights of the area! We're so pleased you enjoyed your time here and our son is really pleased that the plants are doing well. Let us know if you want to place an order for next year! :) Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at Eleven Westgate as part of our mountain bike course and could not recommend it more highly. The house is beautiful - impeccably clean, a welcoming and cosy lounge, and very comfy beds after a hard day's biking. Breakfast was fresh, hot and really tasty - thanks Amanda! Our hosts, Amanda and Mike, could not have been more helpful, from recommending places to eat, giving advice on the MTB trails and even helping to sort out biking stuff. Our bikes were securely locked away in the evening and there was a little drying room to sort out wet, muddy kit. Great mountain biking and lovely walks are to be had only 10 minutes away in Dalby Forest so this is a fabulous location to base yourself to enjoy the outdoors.... Thanks again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieR865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Jackie and many thanks for your lovely comments. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to make sure that breakfast sets our guests up for the day, especially if, like many, you're out walking or cycling all day! We hope the children enjoyed their stay with Grandparents and look forward to your next visit! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The house and rooms at Eleven Westgate are superb and very well looked after.

The hosts Amanda and Mike could not be friendlier or more helpful. I stayed for three nights with my wife and wondered where to eat and what to visit and our hosts offered really honest and useful advice.

Breakfast is freshly made with local produce and it's no wonder that they had won an award for the quality of breakfast just before our visit at the end of May.

Added to this Pickering is a great place to visit, close enough to the coast and with the moors and Dalby Forest a stone's throw away. For anyone into the outdoors it is great and Amanda and Mike will help get kit dried if you get wet. For those into Mountain Biking Mike is an excellent leader and instructor with great knowledge of local routes and can combine riding with your stay.

It really doesn't get better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaythepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and wonderful accolade! We know there are lots of lovely places to stay in Pickering so we always feel honoured when people choose Eleven Westgate and even more so when we get such lovely feedback! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and maybe we can persuade you to bring your bike next time! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We followed a hectic day and night in Leeds with a relaxing tranquil visit to Eleven Westgate. It really feels like coming home!

Fabulous hosts, perfectly cooked breakfasts and lovely comfy beds, who could want more? The place is spotlessly clean but retains a lovely cosy homely feel.

Thanks Mike and Amanda for accommodating us at short notice, and making us feel so welcome

We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike H, Owner at Eleven Westgate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us again and yet another wonderful review! When guests keep returning we know we must be doing something right. If we can offer a warm welcome, a comfy, homely stay with a good breakfast and our guests leave feeling relaxed and recharged then we've achieved what we set out to do. Take care and we hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
7.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
0.1 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#5 of 46 in Pickering
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#13 of 46 in Pickering
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleven Westgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleven Westgate

Address: Eden House | 11 Westgate, Pickering YO18 8BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: £67 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleven Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven Westgate is an elegant Victorian home retaining many of its original features, which have been carefully restored to provide light airy rooms with a relaxed homely feel. The deceptively large house has quality furnished rooms, all en-suite with lots of home comforts. There is a large lounge where you can relax in front of a log burner for cosy evenings in with loads of books and current magazines to read or put your feet up and watch Sky+HD or a DVD. We are close to the centre of Pickering where there are many great shops with loads of places to eat and drink, all just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eleven Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleven Westgate Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing