We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of White Swan

White Swan
Ranked #19 of 69 Restaurants in Pickering
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$74
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The kitchen at the White Swan is focused on doing very little to excellent local ingredients with very rarely more than three flavours on a plate. We make just about everything from scratch in cluding the ketchup and we charge more for it than we would need to if everything came out of a freezer via a microwave.If you are looking for prissy and plastic fine dining then don't expect that here. If you are looking for mountains of cheap food and you don't care where it came from then there are better places to get it.However if you love proper food then I also promise you service from people who are genuinely pleased to be working in our lovely Inn. The AA deems our food good enough for 2 rosettes - and that is without a single smear, smudge or froth in sight. At the other end of the scale, we don't do wrapped butter portions or packets of sauce either (or piped musak). If you want real food in a relaxed experience with great service and a happy atmosphere then come on down. If you want something else - then don't say I didn't warn you.Victor Buchanan - Owner
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

White Swan continues to produce high quality food in an attractive location, with friendly service.We had none of the problems that some other TA reviewers have mentioned.

We had a very enjoyable meal again and although I think the prices are a little high, the quality makes this, in my view, the best place in Pickering for fine dining.

However, there is a new rival in town (Willowgate Bistro), so White Swan must not rest in its laurels!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rm48il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    121
    50
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food, cheerful, helpful staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went with friends, who often visit, for a bar lunch, next to the log fire. The place is spotlessly clean, the staff very helpful and the food delicious. However, it is a little expensive for what it is. My only real grouse is that the sourdough melba toast provided with our scrumptious potted pork was only enough for a few mouthfuls. They very quickly bought us some more, when requested. This isn't unique to the White Swan, however. Many are the times when I've been served pate with only enough toast for roughly a quater of it. Conversely, the sticky toffee pudding was huge and we were glad we'd elected to share it. Win a few......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Peaceful war weekend”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I was one of a party of 10 who booked Sunday lunch during the Pickering War Weekend.We were glad we booked as it was extremely busy and no room left in the bars.The dining room was immaculate and the staff cheery and attentive.Some were dressed in appropriate 1940s outfits.
The drinks and food were served professionally after a short wait. Everyone enjoyed the Sunday lunches, the roast beef was particularly pink and delicious,together with duck fat roasted potatoes and lots of vegetables including my favourite,red cabbage.
A large cheeseboard was shared between 6 of us and was devoured.
All in all a lovely relaxing experience when all outside was bedlam.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Top Marks”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have never had time to visit this restaurant when we have visited Pickering but on this occasion we gave it a go , bare in mind I booked 6 weeks in advance and only just got in even though it wasn't the time we wanted.
The staff were friendly and hard working and the food was delicious.
I had courgette tagliatelle with warm goats cheese and Mussels with their warm bread.
Everything was presented well although the wine is a little expensive.
We had a very comfy seat near the fireplace and couldn't have wished for anything better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, Beer and service.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What more could you ask for, apart from comfortable arm chairs and a blazing log fire. Which, of course, were there!

We popped in for a quick pint and stayed for lunch. The chef was happy to make variations to the menu and the friendly service ensured that we would return. Which we did.

Nice friendly atmosphere, a selection of well kept ales and freshly prepared food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExiledScotNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Swan also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing