We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really well looked after”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of No. 9 Luxury B&B

No. 9 Luxury B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No. 9 Luxury B&B
Ranked #45 of 49 Pickering B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really well looked after”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a friends wedding and felt really welcome. Elizabeth was always quick to respond to any queries.

The house was immaculate, very well presented and had off-road parking. The free wi-fi was invaluable and the optional extras were a lovely touch.
Aylwin and Elizabeth were lovely and friendly and looked after us well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinxbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Aylwin and Elizabeth managed to find a room for me at very short notice on a Friday evening in November when other arrangements fell through. No 9 is furnished and equipped to a very high standard, and the breakfast was excellent too. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I just had one regret about my stay at No.9... I would have loved to stay longer! This was a last minute booking and after very efficient email exchanges with the owner Ailwyn I managed to grab the last room available. I arrived just after lunch on Friday having arranged to drop my overnight bag off early. I was greeted by Elizabeth who was happy to check me in since my room was ready. I was offered refreshments but politely declined as I needed to head into Pickering. No.9 is a brisk 7-8 minutes (flat) walk from the town centre and is just on the outskirts of town in a quiet location along the Scarborough Road. It's a lovely modern property carefully looked after by the owners. My room was nicely furnished, modern and extremely comfortable, overlooking the front of the property. On the landing there is a fridge with refreshments and snacks operated on an honesty basis. An excellent idea - the funds are used to benefit local good causes. Breakfast was prepared by Ailwyn and was fantastic - all good quality produce and very well prepared. I had planned to have Fish & Chips in Whitby but unfortunately the size of the breakfast was such that I didn't manage to eat again until the evening!
In summary, no.9 ticks all the boxes and is a an excellent base from which to explore this wonderful part of Yorkshire. I plan to be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnofStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Very nice rooms, good breakfasts and friendly hosts. About as good a B&B as you will find. If you are a light sleeper, do consider that it is on the main road to Scarborough, which although not busy, does have quite a few cars on it so there is some road noise. Also remember that this is a B&B not a hotel, so doesn't have quite the same facilities, or expectations.

Other than than we had a great stay, with walks and bike rides in the moors, and a trip to Cropton Brewery. Whilst we wouldn't stay here again (due to the road noise), I have already recommended it to friends.

Also great is that there is a fridge in the hall with fresh milk in for tea. Little touches make all the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Perfect hosts, lovely rooms and excellent food made this an ideal short break for our first time in the area. Very friendly and welcoming, informative and helpful. Room spotless, comfy bed and lovely towels. Wide choice for breakfast, beautifully cooked, excellent coffee, Thankyou Jen & Nigel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen16c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellingmumanddad, Owner at No. 9 Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at No9 here in Pickering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

A lovely little B&B. Car parking off road in front of the house. Hosts very friendly but also very relaxed, you can come and go as you please. You will be met by tea and cake on arrival, a lovely gesture!
Rooms very comfortable with contemporary finish. King size beds and ensuits with both and shower.
Honesty wine fridge on the landing, you can help yourself to a snack, beer, wine or soft drink and make a donation to their chosen local charity - what a fantastic idea!
Breakfast is briliant, a choice of cereals or my favourite rhubarb or prunes with natural yogurt. Cooked breakfast looks lovely, I'm vegetarian so have scrambled eggs instead - cooked to perfection. Real leaf tea!
All in all an excellent B&B - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellingmumanddad, Owner at No. 9 Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Only to pleased that we were able, once again, to offer you both a comfortable base for your stay in our area.
Your kind and thoughtful comments are most welcome and much appreciated.
Best wishes
Aylwin & Elizabeth
no9pickering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

No 9 is a small B@B with only 3 letting room and about 10 mins walk from the centre of Pickering. Parking is off road with free wifi.

On arrival at No 9 we were met by Elizabeth who showed us our room and provided tea and a couple of rather large slices of homemade cake which were very tasty

The room was small but very comfortable and masses of towels were provided. Everything is extremely clean throughout.

Both Elizebeth and Aylwin were very friendly and breakfasts were extremely good with lots of choice. Chocolates were to be found on the pillows in the evening which was a nice little touch.

Unfortunately they do not take credit or debit cards so payment has to be cash or cheque.

The information in the room needed updating as there were leaflets referring to events in 2011 but that is a very minor matter and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending No 9 to anybody who wanted a home away from home stay in Pickering.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janus-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellingmumanddad, Owner at No. 9 Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your most helpful comments.
Note taken re credit card facility.
Unfortunately as a small business this would be hard to justify as the cost would impact adversely on our very competative room prices.
It`s great to hear that you found No9 to be like Home from Home and that you would not hesitate to recommend us.
Aylwin & Elizabeth
no9pickering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.7 mi away
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eleven Westgate
Eleven Westgate
#9 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivers Mill
Vivers Mill
#36 of 49 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
17 Burgate
17 Burgate
#19 of 49 in Pickering
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 9 Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 9 Luxury B&B

Property: No. 9 Luxury B&B
Address: 9 Thornton Road, Pickering YO18 7HZ, England (Formerly No. 9 Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
No. 9 Luxury B&B Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing