We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectations!!!”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Morecambe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
STALYBRIDGE
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“exceeded expectations!!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

2 days in October, classic room, what a unique Hotel. Fantastic service and food a delight. Will return just hope they don't change anything, well apart from the weather. Restaurant looks out over the bay through the panoramic windows.
Not the cheapest hotel, look round for offers, but worth it for the experience.

Excellent Gluten free options and fish dishes.
Breakfast option included porridge with "scotch", very nice

Room Tip: we stayed in the "cheapest" which was excellent, so whatever you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear MARTIN J

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at The Midland and for your comments thereon.
I was particularly pleased to read that our gluten free menu met with your approval as it is our ultimate goal to provide the very best options possible for guests with specific dietary requirements. Indeed, please do not hesitate to get in contact prior to a future stay so that we can make every effort to exceed your expectations in this regard.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,613
    530
    135
    59
    39
See reviews for
339
1,494
58
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,021)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just arrived back from a truly relaxing stay at the Midland.
Such a wonderful, comfortable, place to stay. All the staff were warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We arrived early and they were most accommodating and booked us in.
The room and sea views were stunning. The bed was really comfortable. Shower excellent.
The food in the main restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was relaxed and filling. The Tapas, vegetable and meat boards, in the Rotunda Bar, were well complemented by the refreshing cocktails.
A big thank you to everyone, we feel truly refreshed. We are already planning our next visit.
Don't miss Eric Gill's Map of North West England on the wall of the Gill room.
Visit the Old Pier Bookshop, a treasure trove of secondhand books. Take a walk out onto the Stone Jetty and play the games, walk the maze and count the birds.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must...watching the tide come in and out is truly magical...especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear anni a

Many thanks for a great review of your recent stay at The Midland.
I was delighted to read that this was enjoyable, and indeed that you are already planning your next visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to this so that I can ensure your second visit is just as memorable!

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for 2 nights and it was fabulous. Such a change to any hotel we have ever been to. Art Deco throughout.
Staff excellent,especially Lesley in the restaurant, excellent service. Thank you.
Food excellent
Rooms excellent
Try the cheese and meat boards in the Rotunda Bar, they were brilliant
Had the steak and pork in the main restaurant both to die for.
All in all an excellent stay.
Can not wait to go again
This was a KGB deal so worth it

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank topgun1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear carlmcintyre

Thank you for an excellent review of you recent visit to The Midland.
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future - perhaps for an overnight stay?

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

There is little else to visit in Morecambe other than this beautifully restored art deco hotel..
Enjoyed our stay on a 2night deal with dinner.
Room was fine but could be tricky to negotiate with older people due to the nooks and crannies.
The meal we had was excellent with first class service..
Recommended..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodyOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear woodyOldham

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay .
I do hope to welcome you back to The Midland in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at e Midland. It was fantastic....beautiful room, friendly and helpful staff, excellent food. We didn't manage to try the spa but it looked lovely. We would definitely return. Thank you to everyone at The Midland.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room the views of the bay are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear mossy2000

Thank you for a great review of your weekend break at The Midland - I was delighted to read that this was thoroughly enjoyable and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greasby
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

didnt stay here but went in for coffee on a day out from lancaster were looked after by the staff coffee and hot chocolate ere very good but the views wow?? you can see why they spent so much money re-establishing the art deco would like to stay here to get the full experience maybe next time

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Having seen this hotel rising from the ashes of dereliction I was keen to stay here and had the chance as a guest at a wedding. It was a great experience. The hotel faces Morecambe Bay and with a sea view room that in itself is just wonderful with the setting sun invading the room. The staff were great and the service second to none. The room layout and fittings are a bit quirky but interesting.

A great place to stay! But do not take much luggage as storage space in the rooms is very limited.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tozilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandGM, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear tozilch

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of your recent stay at The Midland.
I was delighted to read that this, and indeed the wedding you attended, was enjoyable and I hope to welcome you back to The Midland very soon.

Best regards

Matt Stanaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morecambe
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Morecambe
Travelodge Morecambe
#3 of 10 in Morecambe
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lothersdale Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
The Morecambe Bay Hotel
#8 of 10 in Morecambe
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#2 of 10 in Morecambe
187 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 10 in Morecambe
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: Marine Road West, Morecambe LA4 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Morecambe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morecambe
#1 Family Hotel in Morecambe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morecambe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland is a beautiful Lancashire hotel that curves gracefully along the North West coast of Morecambe Bay. The Midland is an hotel with history and internationally renowned art deco building. Restored for the 21st century to become renowned as a modern day masterpiece and iconic architectural edifice that showcases the elegance of classic Art Deco design. Designed by Oliver Hill with interior decoration by Eric Gill, the hotel has a rich heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Morecambe
Midland Hotel Morecambe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing